Rare earth elements (grouped)

稀土元素REE

Records coded to Rare earth elements (grouped), from Final List of Critical Minerals 2018 (18 May 2018) to the latest event on 9 Oct 2026. Shared stage codes are not findings.

Record as of . Counts are records of one kind at a time and are never added together.

This dossier lists the rows that name the rare-earth group as a whole. A row that names only one element is on that element's dossier, and a row can name both.

Events
39by event date
Control clauses
25status on 3 Nov 2026
Capital rows
29a count of rows, not of money12 of them are parts of a package
Designations
13standing, not money
Projects
26registry records13 with no designation
Funding options
1listed apart from capital rows
Envelopes, appropriations and lending authorities
1listed apart from capital rows
Recipient's own funds
1listed apart from capital rows
Programmes
8named by these rows
Organizations
35named by these rows
Sources
82cited by these records

Supply chain, stage by stage

Rare earth elements (grouped)'s row of the lattice: what the record places at each stage. Counts are records per stage, never money; a record coded to several stages is counted at each, so the stages have no total. The last column holds records that name Rare earth elements (grouped) and record no stage, so the lattice cannot place them.

  • Exploration2 commitmentsCA JP
  • Mining4 commitmentsCA JP US6 clausesCN4 designationsEU
  • Separation5 commitmentsCA US9 clausesCN1 designationEU
  • Processing6 commitmentsAU CA US3 clausesCN US4 designationsEU
  • Refining7 commitmentsAU CA JP US6 clausesCN2 designationsJP
  • Component manufacturing4 commitmentsUS6 clausesCN
  • Recycling4 commitmentsCA4 clausesCN4 designationsEU
  • Research and development1 commitmentCA
  • Cross-cutting1 clauseCN
  • No stage recorded5 commitmentsAU JP US14 clausesCN US

Records by stage

Exploration

Capital rows

Control clauses

None

Designationsstanding, not money

None

Mining

Capital rows

  • CAD 1.87825 million

    As stated: Funding amount: $1,878,250

    Instrument not specified. Decided, status date 3 Mar 2026.

  • up to CAD 47.668 million

    As stated: up to 47.668 million Canadian dollars (approximately 5.5 billion yen)

    Equity. Partially disbursed, status date 23 Jul 2026.

  • up to USD 277 million

    As stated: direct funding awards (the “Direct Funding”) with a maximum award amount of $277.0 million in the aggregate

    Instrument not specified. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.

    • Part: Instrument not specified, up to USD 15 million; not added again Open row
    • Part: Instrument not specified, up to USD 132 million; not added again Open row
    • Part: Instrument not specified, up to USD 20 million; not added again Open row
  • up to USD 1.3 billion

    As stated: to guarantee the repayment by USAR and its affiliates of advances in an aggregate principal amount of $1.3 billion (“FFB Advances” and, together with the Direct Funding, the “Awards”) made by the Federal Financing Bank

    Loan guarantee. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.

    • Part: Loan guarantee, up to USD 75 million; not added again Open row
    • Part: Loan guarantee, up to USD 550 million; not added again Open row
    • Part: Loan guarantee, up to USD 100 million; not added again Open row

Control clauses

  • MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 56

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • MOFCOM Announcement No. 62 (2025)

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (technology) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

Show all 6
  • MOFCOM Announcement No. 62 (2025)

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (technology) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • MOFCOM Announcement No. 61 (2025)

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • 国令第785号 (State Council Decree No. 785)

    In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 1 Oct 2024

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • 国令第785号 (State Council Decree No. 785)

    In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 1 Oct 2024

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

Designationsstanding, not money

Show all 4
  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: LKAB (Luossavaara-Kiirunavaara AB)

    Names: Rare earth elements (grouped)

    Project registry

    Locations: Sweden

    Sponsors: LKAB (Luossavaara-Kiirunavaara AB)

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Sokli Oy

    Names: Rare earth elements (grouped)

    Project registry

    Locations: Finland

    Sponsors: Sokli Oy

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 4 Jun 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Mkango Resources Ltd.

    Names: Rare earth elements (grouped)

    Project registry

    Locations: Malawi

    Sponsors: Mkango Resources Ltd.

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 4 Jun 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Frontier Rare Earths Limited

    Names: Rare earth elements (grouped)

    Also names: manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project record also names: manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: South Africa

    Sponsors: Frontier Rare Earths Limited

Separation

Capital rows

Control clauses

  • MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 56

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (equipment) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

Show all 9
  • MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 56

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 57

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • MOFCOM Announcement No. 62 (2025)

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (technology) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • MOFCOM Announcement No. 62 (2025)

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (technology) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 18

    In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 4 Apr 2025

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • MOFCOM Announcement No. 61 (2025)

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • 国令第785号 (State Council Decree No. 785)

    In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 1 Oct 2024

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • 国令第785号 (State Council Decree No. 785)

    In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 1 Oct 2024

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

Designationsstanding, not money

Show all 1
  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Mkango Resources Ltd.

    Names: Rare earth elements (grouped)

    Project registry

    Locations: Poland

    Sponsors: Mkango Resources Ltd.

Processing

Capital rows

Control clauses

Show all 3
  • MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 56

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (equipment) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 56

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • Executive Order 14272; 90 FR 16437 (FR Doc. 2025-06836)

    Investigation concluded on 3 Nov 2026Investigation concluded, status date 24 Oct 2025

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

Designationsstanding, not money

Show all 4
  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: CAREMAG SAS

    Names: Rare earth elements (grouped)

    Also names: boron (metallurgy grade), not a tracked material

    Project record also names: boron (metallurgy grade), not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: France

    Sponsors: CAREMAG SAS

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Mkango Resources Ltd.

    Names: Rare earth elements (grouped)

    Project registry

    Locations: Poland

    Sponsors: Mkango Resources Ltd.

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: LKAB (Luossavaara-Kiirunavaara AB)

    Names: Rare earth elements (grouped)

    Project registry

    Locations: Sweden

    Sponsors: LKAB (Luossavaara-Kiirunavaara AB)

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: NPM Silmet OÜ

    Names: Rare earth elements (grouped)

    Project registry

    Locations: Estonia

    Sponsors: NPM Silmet OÜ

Refining

Capital rows

Show all 7

Control clauses

Show all 6
  • MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 56

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (equipment) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 57

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • MOFCOM Announcement No. 62 (2025)

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (technology) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • MOFCOM Announcement No. 62 (2025)

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (technology) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 18

    In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 4 Apr 2025

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • MOFCOM Announcement No. 61 (2025)

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

Designationsstanding, not money

Show all 2
  • As stated: 日本国内に、製錬設備を新設することで、レアアースの生産を増強する。

    Certified supply-assurance plans for critical minerals (Economic Security Promotion Act) (Japan). Recognized, status date 29 Jul 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Santoku Corporation

    Names: Rare earth elements (grouped)

    Project registry

    Locations: 日本国内

    Sponsors: Santoku Corporation

  • As stated: 日本国内に、製錬設備を新設することで、レアアースの生産を増強する。

    Certified supply-assurance plans for critical minerals (Economic Security Promotion Act) (Japan). Recognized, status date 19 May 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Shin-Etsu Chemical Co., Ltd.

    Names: Rare earth elements (grouped)

    Project registry

    Locations: 日本国内

    Sponsors: Shin-Etsu Chemical Co., Ltd.

Component manufacturing

Capital rows

  • up to USD 277 million

    As stated: direct funding awards (the “Direct Funding”) with a maximum award amount of $277.0 million in the aggregate

    Instrument not specified. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.

    • Part: Instrument not specified, up to USD 15 million; not added again Open row
    • Part: Instrument not specified, up to USD 132 million; not added again Open row
    • Part: Instrument not specified, up to USD 20 million; not added again Open row
  • up to USD 1.3 billion

    As stated: to guarantee the repayment by USAR and its affiliates of advances in an aggregate principal amount of $1.3 billion (“FFB Advances” and, together with the Direct Funding, the “Awards”) made by the Federal Financing Bank

    Loan guarantee. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.

    • Part: Loan guarantee, up to USD 75 million; not added again Open row
    • Part: Loan guarantee, up to USD 550 million; not added again Open row
    • Part: Loan guarantee, up to USD 100 million; not added again Open row
  • USD 400 million

    As stated: $400 million equity investment

    Equity. Disbursed, date not stated.

  • USD 700 million

    As stated: a joint $700 million conditional loan commitment

    Loan. Decided, status date 21 Nov 2025.

    • Part: Loan, USD 80 million; not added again Open row
    • Part: Loan, USD 620 million; not added again Open row

Control clauses

  • MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 56

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (equipment) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 57

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

Show all 6
  • MOFCOM Announcement No. 62 (2025)

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (technology) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • MOFCOM Announcement No. 62 (2025)

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (technology) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 18

    In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 4 Apr 2025

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • MOFCOM Announcement No. 61 (2025)

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

Designationsstanding, not money

None

Recycling

Capital rows

Control clauses

  • MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 56

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (equipment) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • MOFCOM Announcement No. 62 (2025)

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (technology) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

Show all 4
  • MOFCOM Announcement No. 62 (2025)

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (technology) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • MOFCOM Announcement No. 61 (2025)

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

Designationsstanding, not money

Show all 4
  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Rhodia Operations

    Names: Rare earth elements (grouped)

    Project registry

    Locations: France

    Sponsors: Rhodia Operations

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: HyProMag GmbH

    Names: Rare earth elements (grouped)

    Project registry

    Locations: Germany

    Sponsors: HyProMag GmbH

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Itelyum Regeneration SpA

    Names: Rare earth elements (grouped)

    Project registry

    Locations: Italy

    Sponsors: Itelyum Regeneration SpA

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: MagREEsource

    Names: Rare earth elements (grouped)

    Project registry

    Locations: France

    Sponsors: MagREEsource

Research and development

Capital rows

Control clauses

None

Designationsstanding, not money

None

Cross-cutting

Capital rows

None

Control clauses

  • 国令第785号 (State Council Decree No. 785)

    In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 1 Oct 2024

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

Designationsstanding, not money

None

No stage recorded

These name Rare earth elements (grouped) but record no stage, so the lattice cannot place them.

Capital rows

Control clauses

Show all 14

A designation is a government's recognition of a project under a named scheme. It records standing, not money, and covers only the stages and materials the designation names. A project is the registry record of the site or venture. Shared stage codes are not a finding.

Registry projects with no designation naming Rare earth elements (grouped)

Not placed by stage: a project's own stage list is not a designation, and the lattice places only designations.

Capital and controls

Each capital row is shown at its own amount, in its own currency, exactly as the record states it. Nothing here adds up, splits or converts an amount, so a row that names several materials shows its whole amount and a part sits inside its package without being added again.

Capital rows (32 naming Rare earth elements (grouped); 21 shown at top level, 11 inside a package)

Public commitments (28)

Committed to a recipient by a government or public enterprise, at the status each row states. A contracted, partially disbursed or disbursed row is binding because an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately by status. A contracted row need not mean funds are obligated or paid, and a partially disbursed row is not fully paid.

  • Provider: Natural Resources CanadaRecipient: Cyclic Materials Incorporated, Green Graphite Technologies Inc.

    about CAD 8.4 million

    As stated: almost $8.4 million in investments

    Instrument not specified. Announced, status date 4 Sep 2024.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names 4 materials; the amount is not divided.

    • Part: Instrument not specified, CAD 4.893125 million; not added again

      Provider: Natural Resources CanadaRecipient: Cyclic Materials Incorporated

      CAD 4.893125 million

      As stated: Amount funded: $4,893,125

      Instrument not specified. Contracted, status date 17 Jul 2024.

      Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

      Scope: names 3 materials; the amount is not divided.

  • Provider: Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern OntarioRecipient: Cyclic Materials Incorporated

    CAD 5 million

    As stated: $5,000,000.00

    Instrument not specified. Contracted, status date 1 Sep 2025.

    Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

    Scope: names Rare earth elements (grouped) only.

  • Provider: Government of CanadaRecipient: Ucore Rare Metals Inc.

    up to CAD 36.3 million

    As stated: a conditionally approved investment of up to $36.3 million from the Government of Canada

    Instrument not specified. Decided, status date 31 Oct 2025.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names Rare earth elements (grouped) only.

    • Part: Instrument not specified, up to CAD 10 million; not added again

      Provider: Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern OntarioRecipient: Ucore Rare Metals Inc.

      up to CAD 10 million

      As stated: up to $10 million through the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario

      Instrument not specified. Decided, status date 31 Oct 2025.

      Not yet binding.

      Scope: names Rare earth elements (grouped) only.

    • Part: Grant, up to CAD 26.3 million; not added again

      Provider: Natural Resources CanadaRecipient: Ucore Rare Metals Inc.

      up to CAD 26.3 million

      As stated: up to $26.3 million through Natural Resources Canada

      Grant. Decided, status date 31 Oct 2025.

      Not yet binding.

      Scope: names Rare earth elements (grouped) only.

  • Provider: Natural Resources CanadaRecipient: Cyclic Materials Incorporated

    up to CAD 9.1 million

    As stated: up to $9.1 million

    Grant. Decided, status date 2 Mar 2026.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names Rare earth elements (grouped) only.

  • Provider: Natural Resources CanadaRecipient: New Brunswick Geological Survey

    CAD 232,600

    As stated: Funding amount: $232,600

    Instrument not specified. Announced, status date 3 Mar 2026.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names 2 materials; the amount is not divided.

  • Provider: Natural Resources CanadaRecipient: Defense Metals Corp.

    CAD 1.87825 million

    As stated: Funding amount: $1,878,250

    Instrument not specified. Decided, status date 3 Mar 2026.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names Rare earth elements (grouped) only.

  • Provider: Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC)Recipient: TJ Namibia Rare Earths Corporation

    up to CAD 47.668 million

    As stated: up to 47.668 million Canadian dollars (approximately 5.5 billion yen)

    Equity. Partially disbursed, status date 23 Jul 2026.

    Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

    Scope: names 3 materials; the amount is not divided.

  • Provider: Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC)Recipient: Santoku Corporation

    about JPY 800 million

    As stated: ※助成額は約8億円

    Grant. Decided, date not stated.

    Not yet binding. Authority as stated: 経済安全保障推進法 (Economic Security Promotion Act).

    Scope: names Rare earth elements (grouped) only.

  • Provider: Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC)Recipient: Shin-Etsu Chemical Co., Ltd.

    about JPY 17.5 billion

    As stated: ※助成額は約175億円

    Grant. Decided, date not stated.

    Not yet binding. Authority as stated: 経済安全保障推進法 (Economic Security Promotion Act).

    Scope: names Rare earth elements (grouped) only.

  • Provider: Australian GovernmentRecipient: Arafura Rare Earths Limited

    USD 100 million

    As stated: a USD$100 million equity investment in the project

    Equity. Contracted, status date 1 Apr 2026.

    Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

    Scope: names Rare earth elements (grouped) only.

  • Provider: Canada Growth FundRecipient: Cyclic Materials Incorporated

    USD 25 million

    As stated: US$25 million

    Equity. Contracted, status date 20 Jan 2026.

    Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

    Scope: names Rare earth elements (grouped) only.

  • Provider: U.S. Department of CommerceRecipient: USA Rare Earth, Inc.

    up to USD 277 million

    As stated: direct funding awards (the “Direct Funding”) with a maximum award amount of $277.0 million in the aggregate

    Instrument not specified. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.

    Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately. Authority as stated: CHIPS Act of 2022.

    Scope: names 5 materials; the amount is not divided.

    • Part: Instrument not specified, up to USD 15 million; not added again

      Provider: U.S. Department of CommerceRecipient: USA Rare Earth, Inc.

      up to USD 15 million

      As stated: (e) $15.0 million for the construction of a new strip casting and metal making facility

      Instrument not specified. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.

      Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

      Scope: names Rare earth elements (grouped) only.

    • Part: Instrument not specified, up to USD 132 million; not added again

      Provider: U.S. Department of CommerceRecipient: USA Rare Earth, Inc.

      up to USD 132 million

      As stated: (a) $132.0 million for the construction of a rare earth mining and processing facility in Sierra Blanca, Texas

      Instrument not specified. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.

      Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

      Scope: names 4 materials; the amount is not divided.

    • Part: Instrument not specified, up to USD 20 million; not added again

      Provider: U.S. Department of CommerceRecipient: USA Rare Earth, Inc.

      up to USD 20 million

      As stated: (c) $20.0 million for the expansion and modernization of the existing strip casting and metal making facility located in Stillwater, Oklahoma

      Instrument not specified. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.

      Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

      Scope: names Rare earth elements (grouped) only.

  • Provider: U.S. Department of CommerceRecipient: USA Rare Earth, Inc.

    up to USD 1.3 billion

    As stated: to guarantee the repayment by USAR and its affiliates of advances in an aggregate principal amount of $1.3 billion (“FFB Advances” and, together with the Direct Funding, the “Awards”) made by the Federal Financing Bank

    Loan guarantee. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.

    Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately. Authority as stated: CHIPS Act of 2022.

    Scope: names 5 materials; the amount is not divided.

    • Part: Loan guarantee, up to USD 75 million; not added again

      Provider: U.S. Department of CommerceRecipient: USA Rare Earth, Inc.

      up to USD 75 million

      As stated: (e) $75.0 million for the Metal Project 2

      Loan guarantee. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.

      Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

      Scope: names Rare earth elements (grouped) only.

    • Part: Loan guarantee, up to USD 550 million; not added again

      Provider: U.S. Department of CommerceRecipient: USA Rare Earth, Inc.

      up to USD 550 million

      As stated: (a) $550.0 million for the Round Top Mine Project

      Loan guarantee. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.

      Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

      Scope: names 4 materials; the amount is not divided.

    • Part: Loan guarantee, up to USD 100 million; not added again

      Provider: U.S. Department of CommerceRecipient: USA Rare Earth, Inc.

      up to USD 100 million

      As stated: (c) $100.0 million for the Stillwater Metal Project

      Loan guarantee. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.

      Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

      Scope: names Rare earth elements (grouped) only.

  • Provider: U.S. Department of DefenseRecipient: MP Materials Corp.

    USD 400 million

    As stated: $400 million equity investment

    Equity. Disbursed, date not stated.

    Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately. Authority as stated: Defense Production Act Title III, 50 U.S.C. § 4531 et seq., "as well as other authorities".

    Scope: names 2 materials; the amount is not divided.

  • Provider: Office of Strategic Capital (OSC)Recipient: MP Materials Corp.

    USD 150 million

    As stated: a loan to the Company in the aggregate principal amount of $150,000,000 (the "Samarium Project Loan")

    Loan. Disbursed, date not stated.

    Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately. Authority as stated: One Big Beautiful Bill Act (source of OSC's credit subsidy funding).

    Scope: names Rare earth elements (grouped) only.

  • Provider: Office of Strategic Capital (OSC)Recipient: ReElement Technologies, Vulcan Elements

    USD 700 million

    As stated: a joint $700 million conditional loan commitment

    Loan. Decided, status date 21 Nov 2025.

    Not yet binding. Authority as stated: One Big Beautiful Bill Act (OSC lending authority).

    Scope: names 2 materials; the amount is not divided.

    • Part: Loan, USD 80 million; not added again

      Provider: Office of Strategic Capital (OSC)Recipient: ReElement Technologies

      USD 80 million

      As stated: one to ReElement for $80 million

      Loan. Decided, status date 21 Nov 2025.

      Not yet binding.

      Scope: names 2 materials; the amount is not divided.

    • Part: Loan, USD 620 million; not added again

      Provider: Office of Strategic Capital (OSC)Recipient: Vulcan Elements

      USD 620 million

      As stated: one to Vulcan for $620 million

      Loan. Decided, status date 21 Nov 2025.

      Not yet binding.

      Scope: names 2 materials; the amount is not divided.

  • Provider: Australian GovernmentRecipient: Constitutional corporations with registered CMPTI processing activities

    No amount stated

    Tax credit. Authorized, status date 14 Feb 2025.

    Not yet binding. Authority as stated: Future Made in Australia (Production Tax Credits and Other Measures) Act 2025 (Act No. 9 of 2025), Schedule 2, inserting Division 419 into the Income Tax Assessment Act 1997.

    Scope: names 13 materials; the amount is not divided.

Joint-vehicle commitments (1)

Committed by a vehicle that public and private parties set up together. The public share is not stated.

  • Provider: Japan Australia Rare Earth (JARE)Recipient: Lynas Rare Earths Limited

    AUD 200 million

    As stated: an additional AUD 200million worth investment in the equity of Lynas Rare Earths Limited

    Equity. Disbursed, date not stated.

    Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

    Scope: names 3 materials; the amount is not divided.

Funding options (1)

A ceiling a party may call on under an executed agreement. An option is not committed money until it is exercised.

  • Provider: U.S. Department of DefenseRecipient: MP Materials Corp.

    up to USD 350 million

    As stated: a commitment for up to $350 million in additional funding in the form of additional Series A Preferred Stock

    Equity. Contracted, status date 9 Jul 2025.

    Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

    Scope: names 2 materials; the amount is not divided.

Envelopes, appropriations and lending authorities (1)

Ceilings that awards are drawn from. An award is never a division of its envelope.

  • Provider: Australian Government

    AUD 1.2 billion

    As stated: $1.2 billion Critical Minerals Strategic Reserve

    Several instruments, split not stated. Announced, status date 12 Jan 2026.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names 3 materials; the amount is not divided.

Recipient's own funds (1)

The recipient's own contribution. Never public support.

  • Recipient: MP Materials Corp.

    up to USD 600 million

    As stated: The Company has also agreed to use up to $600,000,000 of its existing cash to fund the above projects.

    Instrument not specified. Decided, status date 9 Jul 2025.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names 2 materials; the amount is not divided.

Control clauses (25, status on 3 Nov 2026)

Explore capital rows naming Rare earth elements (grouped) and control clauses naming Rare earth elements (grouped): all rows naming Rare earth elements (grouped), parts and options listed separately.

Timeline

One dot for each event, placed at its event date as coded. Capital-row and clause status dates are not plotted: a status with no date has no honest position, and an event date is never used in its place.

Event date (as coded)Gold rule: as of 3 Nov 2026

Dates stated after the as-of: 10 Nov 2026 (control clause ctl-cn-56-2025-customs-declaration); 10 Nov 2026 (control clause ctl-cn-56-2025-equipment-licensing); 10 Nov 2026 (control clause ctl-cn-56-2025-raw-materials-licensing); 10 Nov 2026 (control clause ctl-cn-57-2025-customs-declaration); 10 Nov 2026 (control clause ctl-cn-57-2025-export-licensing); 10 Nov 2026 (control clause ctl-cn-62-2025-knowledge-catch-all); 10 Nov 2026 (control clause ctl-cn-62-2025-overseas-support-ban); 10 Nov 2026 (control clause ctl-cn-62-2025-production-line-technology-licensing); 10 Nov 2026 (control clause ctl-cn-62-2025-technology-licensing); 10 Nov 2026 (control clause ctl-cn-ree-2025-10-advanced-chip-ai-review); 10 Nov 2026 (control clause ctl-cn-ree-2025-10-de-minimis-licensing); 10 Nov 2026 (control clause ctl-cn-ree-2025-10-foreign-direct-product-licensing); 10 Nov 2026 (control clause ctl-cn-ree-2025-10-military-listed-end-users); 10 Nov 2026 (control clause ctl-cn-ree-2025-10-origin-reexport-licensing); 10 Nov 2026 (control clause ctl-cn-ree-2025-10-prohibited-end-uses).

Newest events

Events (39)

Policy status across actors

Where each actor's coded measures on this material currently stand.

CNChinaActiveSuspendedIn force
USUnited StatesActiveIn forceSuperseded
EUEuropean UnionUnclearActiveIn force
AUAustraliaActiveIn force
JPJapanActive
CACanadaActiveIn force
GBUnited KingdomIn forceSuperseded

Editorial notes (not coded records)

Written summaries kept from the earlier page, not coded records. A summary appears only if it passed review against the records above; the downstream-use list is exempt from that review and has not been checked against a source.

Typical downstream uses

  • Permanent magnets
  • Defense systems
  • EV drivetrains
  • Wind turbines
  • Electronics