← Capital
—No tracked governmentProvider not stated

MP Materials Corp.

10X Facility; Samarium Project; Mountain Pass Facility Improvements (HREE refining and hydrochloric acid facilities); Independence Facility capacity expansion

Recipient's own fundsInstrument not specifiedPrivateDecided

fin-us-dod-mp-2025-company-cash

Reading this record

What the evidence says — and does not say

What kind of figure?
Recipient's own fundsThe recipient's own contribution.
What has happened legally?
DecidedThe provider has decided to invest, lend or award, including a conditional commitment.
Has money been paid?
Follow the payment evidenceThis status does not itself establish a cash payment. In particular, a signed contract does not necessarily establish an obligation of funds.
What does it link to?
Project attributionThe record names multiple associated projects, but its financial amount is shared and unallocated. No portion can be assigned to any individual project's capital stack.

This value role is not included in SMPT's public-recipient commitment totals. A ceiling, indication, private contribution or project cost is not an additional government award. A financial record alone never independently verifies construction, commissioning or production. Read SMPT's counting and evidence rules.

Amount

up toUSD600 million

As stated “The Company has also agreed to use up to $600,000,000 of its existing cash to fund the above projects.”

USD 600,000,000 · Up to · Currency read from the issuing government

This figure is a recipient's own funds, not money committed to a recipient. It is never added to commitments or to other roles.

Record

Provider
Not stated
Legal authority
Not stated
Programme
None named
Recipient
MP Materials Corp.MP Materials Corp.Company
Project
10X Facility; Samarium Project; Mountain Pass Facility Improvements (HREE refining and hydrochloric acid facilities); Independence Facility capacity expansionShared / unallocated financing. These project links do not allocate the amount to any individual project or enter its capital stack.10X FacilityMountain Pass heavy rare earth separation expansion (Samarium Project)Independence Facility capacity expansionMountain Pass hydrochloric acid facilities development and recommissioning
Facility
Not stated
Location
Not stated
Stages
Refining, Component manufacturingSeveral stages, split not stated

Status

Financial and physical progress are separate histories. The last entry is current.

Financial

  1. Decidedcurrent

    An undertaking in the Transaction Agreement.

    MP Materials Corp. / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR)

Implementation

No source states the physical status of a project for this row.

Stated outcomes

Who says it matters: a company target is not a government commitment.

Annual capacityStated by the recipient

3,000 tons of magnets annually

“expand capacity at the Company's "Independence" magnet facility ... to a projected 3,000 tons of magnets annually”

A projection in the company's filing; a reasonable-best-efforts undertaking, not a government target.

MP Materials Corp. / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR)

Notes

The recipient's own contribution, recorded so it is never counted as public support. The Transaction Agreement states that up to $600 million of existing cash supports the 10X Facility, Samarium Project and Facility Improvements, with no allocation among those uses. associatedProjectIds records those non-allocative links; the amount is not attributed to any project stack.

Evidence

Every populated field names the source that states it, how directly, and where.

  1. MP Materials Corp., Form 8-K (Transaction Agreement with the Department of Defense)

    MP Materials Corp. / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR)

    Fields supported
    Instrument · Value role · Capital source · Amount · Recipient · Project · Supply-chain stages · Materials · Status · Outcomes
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Item 1.01, Transaction Agreement
    View source dossier →