← Projects
CACanada

Wicheeda Rare Earth Elements Project

Vancouver, British Columbia

prj-ca-wicheeda

What does the record establish?

The backgrounder gives the entry's location as Vancouver; the funded transmission line and road serve the mine site.

Financial standing

1 directly linked instruments. Recorded financial states: Decided. A commitment, a payment and a project cost remain separate.

Inspect instruments and terms

Legal and policy context

1 parent policy records; 0 project designations. Designation confers standing, not finance. Material and stage overlaps with controls do not establish a restriction on this project.

Read the policy records

Industrial evidence

No source-reviewed project milestone is published in this corpus. Financing records may still contain attributed activity reports; this gap does not establish inactivity.

See evidence gaps

Financial evidence and chronology

Each instrument keeps its own financial history. These dates describe financial states, not construction or production. Amounts are the current recorded terms, not historical amounts at every date below.

Instrument not specified · Natural Resources Canada (First and Last Mile Fund)Funding amount: $1,878,250 · Decided · Commitment
Provider organizations
Natural Resources Canada
Recipient
Defense Metals Corp.Defense Metals Corp.
Legal authority as stated
Not stated in this financial record
  1. · Decided

    "conditionally approved, pending final due diligence".

    Natural Resources Canada

No additional structured terms are recorded. See the full instrument for its evidence and qualifications.

A 60-km transmission line to the mine site and the design of road upgrades; the fund subsumed the Critical Minerals Infrastructure Fund. Lifecycle review on 2 October 2026: the July issuer update still describes the infrastructure funding as conditional. Reviewed primary sources did not establish execution or payment of this specific award. Feasibility describes the linked mine, not verified delivery of the funded infrastructure work. The August invitation concerning a separate processing-feasibility application is not a funding commitment and is not substituted for this award.

Full financial instrument, conditions and field-level evidence

Capital stack

One layer per value role. Only committed public money, and joint-vehicle money apart from it, is summed, per currency; everything else is listed. There is no total across layers.

Public commitments

1 row · summed per currency

Committed to a recipient by a government or public enterprise, at the status each row states. A contracted, partially disbursed or disbursed row is binding because an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately by status. A contracted row need not mean funds are obligated or paid, and a partially disbursed row is not fully paid. Summed per currency and per instrument, never across either; a part is never added to its package.

CAD

Instrument not specified1 row

Listed, not summed: the sources name no instrument the tracker's vocabulary covers.

1 counted

Source-reviewed industrial observations

No source-reviewed project milestone is published for this undertaking. Any financing-row activity reports below remain attributed observations, not independently reviewed project milestones. Missing evidence does not establish inactivity.

Policy context

These records directly parent the project's finance or designation entries. Their presence does not establish a causal effect on industrial activity.

Control clauses on the same materials and stages

Clauses whose covered items share a material and a supply-chain stage with this project, with their legal status on 3 Nov 2026. An overlap of items, not a finding that the project is affected.

Record

Sponsors
Defense Metals Corp.Company
Location
Vancouver, British ColumbiaCA
Stages
Mining
Materials
Rare earth elements (grouped)Tracked materials only
Programmes
None recorded
Latest financing-row activity report
Feasibility13 Jul 2026Defense Metals Corp.

What remains unknown

Gaps describe the available SMPT record. They do not establish that an activity did not occur.

  • No project-native source-reviewed industrial milestone is published. Attributed activity in financing histories remains a separate evidence class; no exact milestone date or facility-wide conclusion is inferred.
  • Historical amount review is incomplete. Current amounts cannot be read as a time series of earlier commitments.
  • Structural links and shared materials do not demonstrate that a government measure caused an industrial outcome.

Evidence

Every project fact names the source that states it.

  1. Backgrounder: Government of Canada invests to unlock Canada’s critical minerals advantage

    Natural Resources Canada

    Fields supported
    Name · Sponsors · Materials · Location · Supply-chain stages
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    First and Last Mile Fund: Wicheeda entry
    View source dossier →

For citations, open a parent policy record for BibTeX, RIS and CSL formats. Cite original documents for claims about government action.

Project registry JSON with sources · Full dataset and download guide