← Projects
CACanadaSeveral public bodies of one government

Kingston Centre of Excellence for Rare Earth Recycling

Kingston, Ontario

prj-ca-cyclic-kingston-centre-of-excellence

What does the record establish?

The Centre of Excellence is separate from the earlier Kingston Demonstration Plant recorded as prj-ca-cyclic-kingston-demonstration-plant. The June 2025 company announcement describes the commercial-scale Hub and R&D facility; the January 2026 CGF source says that Hub was then under construction.

Financial standing

3 directly linked instruments. Recorded financial states: Contracted; Decided. A commitment, a payment and a project cost remain separate.

Inspect instruments and terms

Legal and policy context

3 parent policy records; 0 project designations. Designation confers standing, not finance. Material and stage overlaps with controls do not establish a restriction on this project.

Read the policy records

Industrial evidence

No source-reviewed project milestone is published in this corpus. Financing records may still contain attributed activity reports; this gap does not establish inactivity.

See evidence gaps

Financial evidence and chronology

Each instrument keeps its own financial history. These dates describe financial states, not construction or production. Amounts are the current recorded terms, not historical amounts at every date below.

Equity · Canada Growth FundUS$25 million · Contracted · Commitment
Provider organizations
Canada Growth Fund
Recipient
Cyclic Materials Inc.Cyclic Materials Incorporated
Legal authority as stated
Not stated in this financial record
  1. · Contracted

    The CGF release says it "has invested" US$25 million and describes the transaction as part of a Series C preferred-equity round. Recorded as a binding equity transaction, not as disbursed cash because no payment timing is stated.

    Canada Growth Fund

No additional structured terms are recorded. See the full instrument for its evidence and qualifications.

CGF says the US$25 million supports expansion of the Kingston Centre of Excellence, Canadian R&D, execution of the first Hub and broader commercialization. The row links the named Kingston project because the source directly supports it, but the amount is not treated as exclusively allocated to construction or any single stage.

Full financial instrument, conditions and field-level evidence
Instrument not specified · Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario$5,000,000.00 · Contracted · Commitment
Recipient
Cyclic Materials Inc.Cyclic Materials Incorporated
Legal authority as stated
Not stated in this financial record
  1. · Contracted

    The federal disclosure provides an agreement number, agreement value and agreement period beginning 1 September 2025.

    Government of Canada Open Government Portal

No additional structured terms are recorded. See the full instrument for its evidence and qualifications.

The Government of Canada disclosure records Agreement 1019177 under FedDev Ontario's Business Scale-up and Productivity program. The agreement runs through 30 September 2028. Because the disclosure says only "Contribution", the tracker does not assume grant/non-repayable treatment.

Full financial instrument, conditions and field-level evidence
Grant · Natural Resources Canada (Global Partnerships Initiative)up to $9.1 million · Decided · Commitment
Provider organizations
Natural Resources Canada
Recipient
Cyclic Materials Inc.Cyclic Materials Incorporated
Legal authority as stated
Not stated in this financial record
  1. · Decided

    The backgrounder calls the investment "conditionally approved". It is therefore recorded as decided, not contracted.

    Natural Resources Canada

No additional structured terms are recorded. See the full instrument for its evidence and qualifications.

A current GPI programme page now lists Cyclic among funded projects, but it does not publish an executed agreement date for this award. The financial lifecycle therefore remains at the March 2 conditionally approved/decided stage rather than being promoted to contracted.

Full financial instrument, conditions and field-level evidence

Capital stack

One layer per value role. Only committed public money, and joint-vehicle money apart from it, is summed, per currency; everything else is listed. There is no total across layers.

Public commitments

3 rows · summed per currency

Committed to a recipient by a government or public enterprise, at the status each row states. A contracted, partially disbursed or disbursed row is binding because an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately by status. A contracted row need not mean funds are obligated or paid, and a partially disbursed row is not fully paid. Summed per currency and per instrument, never across either; a part is never added to its package.

CAD

Grant1 row

Not yet binding

Up to
9.1 million

Instrument not specified1 row

Listed, not summed: the sources name no instrument the tracker's vocabulary covers.

2 counted

USD

Equity1 row

Binding

Stated exactly
25 million

1 counted

Source-reviewed industrial observations

No source-reviewed project milestone is published for this undertaking. Any financing-row activity reports below remain attributed observations, not independently reviewed project milestones. Missing evidence does not establish inactivity.

Policy context

These records directly parent the project's finance or designation entries. Their presence does not establish a causal effect on industrial activity.

Control clauses on the same materials and stages

Clauses whose covered items share a material and a supply-chain stage with this project, with their legal status on 3 Nov 2026. An overlap of items, not a finding that the project is affected.

Record

Location
Kingston, OntarioCA
Stages
Separation, Processing, Recycling, Research and development
Materials
Rare earth elements (grouped)Tracked materials only
Programmes
None recorded
Latest financing-row activity report
Construction20 Jan 2026Canada Growth Fund

What remains unknown

Gaps describe the available SMPT record. They do not establish that an activity did not occur.

  • No project-native source-reviewed industrial milestone is published. Attributed activity in financing histories remains a separate evidence class; no exact milestone date or facility-wide conclusion is inferred.
  • Historical amount review is incomplete. Current amounts cannot be read as a time series of earlier commitments.
  • Structural links and shared materials do not demonstrate that a government measure caused an industrial outcome.

Evidence

Every project fact names the source that states it.

  1. Cyclic Materials Announces USD $25M Investment to Establish Centre of Excellence for Rare Earth Recycling in Kingston, Ontario

    Cyclic Materials

    Fields supported
    Name · Sponsors · Location · Supply-chain stages · Materials
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Announcement body; A Strategic Facility Serving a Circular Future
    Qualification
    Cyclic describes a Kingston Centre of Excellence combining its first commercial rare-earth recovery Hub with R&D. The facility processes magnet-rich end-of-life feedstock into recycled mixed rare-earth oxide.
    View source dossier →
  2. Global Partnerships Initiative

    Natural Resources Canada

    Fields supported
    Supply-chain stages · Materials
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    GPI funded projects — Contribution funding — Cyclic Materials Inc.
    Qualification
    NRCan says the project advances rare-earth processing, separation and metallization technologies using end-of-life materials; recycling, processing and separation are represented directly in the tracker taxonomy.
    View source dossier →

For citations, open a parent policy record for BibTeX, RIS and CSL formats. Cite original documents for claims about government action.

Project registry JSON with sources · Full dataset and download guide