← Projects
CACanadaSeveral public bodies of one government

Ucore commercial rare earth processing facility, Kingston

Kingston, Ontario

prj-ca-ucore-kingston

What does the record establish?

Samarium and gadolinium have no material record of their own and fall under the grouped rare-earth-elements material.

Financial standing

3 directly linked instruments. Recorded financial states: Decided. A commitment, a payment and a project cost remain separate.

Inspect instruments and terms

Legal and policy context

1 parent policy records; 0 project designations. Designation confers standing, not finance. Material and stage overlaps with controls do not establish a restriction on this project.

Read the policy records

Industrial evidence

No source-reviewed project milestone is published in this corpus. Financing records may still contain attributed activity reports; this gap does not establish inactivity.

See evidence gaps

Financial evidence and chronology

Each instrument keeps its own financial history. These dates describe financial states, not construction or production. Amounts are the current recorded terms, not historical amounts at every date below.

Instrument not specified · Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontarioup to $10 million through the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario · Decided · Commitment
Recipient
Ucore Rare Metals Inc.Ucore Rare Metals Inc.
Legal authority as stated
Not stated in this financial record
  1. · Decided

    Part of a "conditionally approved investment".

    Natural Resources Canada

No additional structured terms are recorded. See the full instrument for its evidence and qualifications.

Lifecycle review on 2 October 2026: the 26 August 2026 MD&A states there was no definitive agreement for either Canadian component as of that filing. Reviewed later sources did not establish execution or disbursement of this funding, so the original conditional decision is retained. The proposed Canadian commercial facility is distinct from the operating Kingston commercialization/demonstration facility, its earlier CMRDD contribution agreement, the US-funded development program and the Louisiana commercial facility.

Full financial instrument, conditions and field-level evidence
Grant · Natural Resources Canadaup to $26.3 million through Natural Resources Canada · Decided · Commitment
Provider organizations
Natural Resources Canada
Recipient
Ucore Rare Metals Inc.Ucore Rare Metals Inc.
Legal authority as stated
Not stated in this financial record
  1. · Decided

    Part of a "conditionally approved investment".

    Natural Resources Canada

No additional structured terms are recorded. See the full instrument for its evidence and qualifications.

Lifecycle review on 2 October 2026: the 26 August 2026 MD&A states there was no definitive agreement for either Canadian component as of that filing. Reviewed later sources did not establish execution or disbursement of this funding, so the original conditional decision is retained. The proposed Canadian commercial facility is distinct from the operating Kingston commercialization/demonstration facility, its earlier CMRDD contribution agreement, the US-funded development program and the Louisiana commercial facility.

Full financial instrument, conditions and field-level evidence
Instrument not specified · Government of Canadaa conditionally approved investment of up to $36.3 million from the Government of Canada · Decided · Commitment
Provider organizations
Government of Canada
Recipient
Ucore Rare Metals Inc.Ucore Rare Metals Inc.
Legal authority as stated
Not stated in this financial record
  1. · Decided

    "conditionally approved"; recorded as decided and not yet binding, like the OSC conditional loan commitments.

    Natural Resources Canada

No additional structured terms are recorded. See the full instrument for its evidence and qualifications.

The package total; its NRCan and FedDev Ontario parts remain recorded as parts of it. NRCan is identified as a non-repayable contribution; the package instrument is not fully specified. Lifecycle review on 2 October 2026: the 26 August 2026 MD&A states there was no definitive agreement for either Canadian component as of that filing. Reviewed later sources did not establish execution or disbursement of this funding, so the original conditional decision is retained. The proposed Canadian commercial facility is distinct from the operating Kingston commercialization/demonstration facility, its earlier CMRDD contribution agreement, the US-funded development program and the Louisiana commercial facility.

Full financial instrument, conditions and field-level evidence

Capital stack

One layer per value role. Only committed public money, and joint-vehicle money apart from it, is summed, per currency; everything else is listed. There is no total across layers.

Public commitments

3 rows · summed per currency

Committed to a recipient by a government or public enterprise, at the status each row states. A contracted, partially disbursed or disbursed row is binding because an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately by status. A contracted row need not mean funds are obligated or paid, and a partially disbursed row is not fully paid. Summed per currency and per instrument, never across either; a part is never added to its package.

CAD

Instrument not specified1 row

Listed, not summed: the sources name no instrument the tracker's vocabulary covers.

1 counted · 2 parts not added again

Source-reviewed industrial observations

No source-reviewed project milestone is published for this undertaking. Any financing-row activity reports below remain attributed observations, not independently reviewed project milestones. Missing evidence does not establish inactivity.

Policy context

These records directly parent the project's finance or designation entries. Their presence does not establish a causal effect on industrial activity.

Control clauses on the same materials and stages

Clauses whose covered items share a material and a supply-chain stage with this project, with their legal status on 3 Nov 2026. An overlap of items, not a finding that the project is affected.

Record

Sponsors
Ucore Rare Metals Inc.Company
Location
Kingston, OntarioCA
Stages
Separation, Refining
Materials
Rare earth elements (grouped)Tracked materials only
Programmes
None recorded
Latest financing-row activity report
Announced31 Oct 2025Ucore Rare Metals Inc.

What remains unknown

Gaps describe the available SMPT record. They do not establish that an activity did not occur.

  • No project-native source-reviewed industrial milestone is published. Attributed activity in financing histories remains a separate evidence class; no exact milestone date or facility-wide conclusion is inferred.
  • Historical amount review is incomplete. Current amounts cannot be read as a time series of earlier commitments.
  • Structural links and shared materials do not demonstrate that a government measure caused an industrial outcome.

Evidence

Every project fact names the source that states it.

  1. Backgrounder: Canada unlocks 26 new investments and partnerships with 9 allied countries to secure critical minerals supply chains

    Natural Resources Canada

    Fields supported
    Name · Sponsors · Materials · Location
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Ucore paragraph
    View source dossier →
  2. Backgrounder: Canada unlocks 26 new investments and partnerships with 9 allied countries to secure critical minerals supply chains

    Natural Resources Canada

    Fields supported
    Supply-chain stages
    Evidence level
    Ambiguous
    Location in document
    Ucore paragraph
    Qualification
    "refining two important rare earth elements — samarium and gadolinium" with its RapidSX separation and processing technology: coded as separation and refining.
    View source dossier →

For citations, open a parent policy record for BibTeX, RIS and CSL formats. Cite original documents for claims about government action.

Project registry JSON with sources · Full dataset and download guide