Australian Government
fin-au-cmsr-2026-reserve
Reading this record
What the evidence says — and does not say
- What kind of figure?
- Program envelopeThe ceiling of a programme, fund or facility that awards are drawn from.
- What has happened legally?
- AnnouncedPublicly announced; no decision or agreement is stated.
- Has money been paid?
- Follow the payment evidenceThis status does not itself establish a cash payment. In particular, a signed contract does not necessarily establish an obligation of funds.
- What does it link to?
- Project attributionNo direct registered project association is coded for this row. A project or facility may still be named in source text; absence of a link is not proof of inactivity.
This value role is not included in SMPT's public-recipient commitment totals. A ceiling, indication, private contribution or project cost is not an additional government award. A financial record alone never independently verifies construction, commissioning or production. Read SMPT's counting and evidence rules.
Amount
As stated “$1.2 billion Critical Minerals Strategic Reserve”
AUD 1,200,000,000 · Exact · Currency read from the issuing government
This figure is a program envelope, not money committed to a recipient. It is never added to commitments or to other roles.
Place in the money chain
A figure is never counted together with a figure it is part of or drawn from.
Rows that are part of or drawn from this one
↳ part of this row
Australian Government
AUD185 millionCritical Minerals Strategic Reserve — initial minerals
↳ part of this row
Australian Government (Department of Industry, Science and Resources, with Export Finance Australia)
AUD1 billionCritical Minerals Strategic Reserve — initial minerals
Record
- Provider
- Australian GovernmentAustralian GovernmentGovernment body
- Legal authority
- Not stated
- Programme
- Critical Minerals Strategic Reserve
- Recipient
- Not stated
- Project
- Not stated
- Facility
- Not stated
- Location
- Not stated
- Stages
- Not statedNot stated
- Materials
- AntimonyGalliumRare earth elements (grouped)Tracked materials only
Status
Financial and physical progress are separate histories. The last entry is current.
Financial
- Announcedcurrent
New details of an already announced Reserve; the release says enabling legislation for Export Finance Australia will be brought forward in 2026.
Implementation
No source states the physical status of a project for this row.
Notes
The parent of two stated components, A$1 billion for transactions and A$185 million for stockpiling and implementation costs. The components sum to A$1.185 billion against the A$1.2 billion headline; the release does not explain the gap and none is inferred. Materials are the Reserve's stated first focus.
Evidence
Every populated field names the source that states it, how directly, and where.
Delivering Australia's critical minerals supply
Department of Industry, Science and Resources (Australia)
- Fields supported
- Instrument · Value role · Capital source · Amount · Provider · Materials · Status · Programme
- Evidence level
- Explicit
- Location in document
- Opening paragraph; paragraphs on first minerals and operation
- Qualification
- Operates "by securing rights to minerals produced in Australia and on-selling those rights", with a separate allocation for selective stockpiling.
| Source | Fields supported | Evidence level | Location |
|---|---|---|---|
| Delivering Australia's critical minerals supply Department of Industry, Science and Resources (Australia) · Source dossier |
| Explicit Operates "by securing rights to minerals produced in Australia and on-selling those rights", with a separate allocation for selective stockpiling. | Opening paragraph; paragraphs on first minerals and operation |
