MP Materials Corp.
fin-us-dod-mp-2025-additional-preferred-option
Reading this record
What the evidence says — and does not say
- What kind of figure?
- Funding optionA ceiling a party may call on at its own election under an executed agreement. Listed, never summed: an executed option is not committed money. An exercise is recorded as its own commitment drawn from the option, with its own payment status.
- What has happened legally?
- ContractedA binding agreement has been executed. Not a payment, and not necessarily an obligation of funds: an agreement can leave that to a later step.
- Has money been paid?
- Follow the payment evidenceFor an option, this financial status describes the agreement granting the option, not exercise or payment. Check the option ladder and any separate drawn commitment.
- What does it link to?
- Project attributionNo direct registered project association is coded for this row. A project or facility may still be named in source text; absence of a link is not proof of inactivity.
This value role is not included in SMPT's public-recipient commitment totals. A ceiling, indication, private contribution or project cost is not an additional government award. A financial record alone never independently verifies construction, commissioning or production. Read SMPT's counting and evidence rules.
Amount
As stated “a commitment for up to $350 million in additional funding in the form of additional Series A Preferred Stock”
USD 350,000,000 · Up to · Currency read from the issuing government
A funding option: a ceiling the recipient may call on under an executed agreement. An executed option is not committed money, so this figure is never added to any total. An exercise would be recorded as its own commitment drawn from this row, with its own payment status.
Agreement executed — recorded
9 Jul 2025 · MP Materials Corp. / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR)
Option exercised — not recorded
None recorded in the corpus
Money disbursed — not recorded
None recorded in the corpus
Record
- Provider
- US Department of DefenseU.S. Department of DefenseGovernment body
- Legal authority
- Not stated
- Programme
- None named
- Recipient
- MP Materials Corp.MP Materials Corp.Company
- Project
- Not stated
- Facility
- Not stated
- Location
- Not stated
- Stages
- Not statedNot stated
- Materials
- Rare earth elements (grouped)Rare-earth permanent magnets (NdFeB)Tracked materials only
Status
Financial and physical progress are separate histories. The last entry is current.
Financial · the agreement granting the option
- Contractedcurrent
The Transaction Agreement that grants the Company this right was executed on the Effective Date. An executed option is not an exercise: no source in the corpus records one, or any payment under it.
MP Materials Corp. / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR)
Implementation
No source states the physical status of a project for this row.
Terms
Operative terms as the source words them.
| Term | Figure | As stated |
|---|---|---|
| Other term | up to USD 350,000,000 | “the Company’s alternatives including having a right to fund up to the full $350,000,000 of such additional proceeds by selling to DoD additional shares of Series A Preferred Stock on the same terms as the initial purchase or otherwise electing to obtain $350,000,000 under the terms and conditions of the committed financing provided by JPMorgan and Goldman Sachs”The option and its alternative. The filing does not say which the Company chose.MP Materials Corp. / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) |
| Duration | 45 days after the Closing Date | “the Company shall select and fund from available alternatives on or prior to the date that is 45 days after the Closing Date, additional financing with net proceeds of at least $350,000,000 (the “Funding Allocation”)”The election window. The corpus records neither the Closing Date nor the election.MP Materials Corp. / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) |
Notes
A funding option, not committed money: the Company could fund up to the full $350 million of its Funding Allocation by selling additional preferred stock to DoD, or elect to obtain it under the JPMorgan / Goldman Sachs committed financing instead, within 45 days of the Closing Date. MP's Form 10-K for 2025 reports 400,000 Series A shares issued in 2025 and outstanding at 31 December 2025, the number issued at closing, and its 10-Q for the quarter to 30 June 2026 still reports 400,000; the bank Commitment Letter expired undrawn on 26 August 2025. Neither filing mentions the Funding Allocation or states that the option was exercised or lapsed, so no exercise and no lapse is recorded; the row is listed apart and never summed. An exercise would be recorded as its own commitment drawn from this row.
Evidence
Every populated field names the source that states it, how directly, and where.
MP Materials Corp., Form 8-K (Transaction Agreement with the Department of Defense)
MP Materials Corp. / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR)
- Fields supported
- Instrument · Value role · Capital source · Amount · Provider · Recipient · Materials · Status · Terms
- Evidence level
- Explicit
- Location in document
- Introductory paragraph; Item 1.01, Transaction Agreement (Funding Allocation)
| Source | Fields supported | Evidence level | Location |
|---|---|---|---|
| MP Materials Corp., Form 8-K (Transaction Agreement with the Department of Defense) MP Materials Corp. / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) · Source dossier |
| Explicit | Introductory paragraph; Item 1.01, Transaction Agreement (Funding Allocation) |
