CACanadaGrant programme

Critical Minerals Research, Development and Demonstration (CMRDD) program

prg-ca-cmrdd

Trace the evidence

Follow this scheme to each independently recorded financial or designation row, named bodies, project references, and the documents cited by that exact row. Connections are navigational registry references, not a claim that capital was disbursed, a company obtained funding, or physical work occurred. Records under a child scheme appear in parent views as the same underlying IDs, never as additional commitments.

6

Financial rows

0

Designations

5

Distinct linked projects

7

Distinct citing sources

Programme identity

Source-named administrator: Natural Resources Canada

2 directly citing documents · show precise citation roles
  1. Government of Canada Supporting Critical Minerals Processing in KingstonNatural Resources Canada · 2024-09-04Field evidence: administrators · Field evidence: name · Field evidence: parent
  2. Critical Minerals Research, Development and Demonstration ProgramNatural Resources Canada · Publication date not statedField evidence: kind

Financial record pathways

All value roles are included, including ceilings, prospective commitments, options, and ended records. No numbers are added here; legal standing belongs to each underlying instrument.

  1. Instrument not specified · Reported financial standing: Contracted

    Amount funded: $4,893,125

    Named provider organizations
    Natural Resources Canada
    Named recipient organizations
    Cyclic Materials Incorporated

    Directly linked project: Kingston Demonstration Plant (a row reference; assess its value role and status before treating it as backing)

    3 directly citing documents · show precise citation roles
    1. Grant and contribution record — Kingston Demonstration Plant-Extended OperationsGovernment of Canada Open Government Portal / Natural Resources Canada · Publication date not statedField evidence: status · Financial status report
    2. Government of Canada Supporting Critical Minerals Processing in KingstonNatural Resources Canada · 2024-09-04Field evidence: capital_source · Field evidence: instrument · Field evidence: materials · Field evidence: programme · Field evidence: project · Field evidence: provider · Field evidence: recipient · Field evidence: relationships · Field evidence: stages · Field evidence: status · Field evidence: value_role · Instrument relationship
    3. Critical Minerals Research, Development and Demonstration ProgramNatural Resources Canada · Publication date not statedField evidence: amount · Field evidence: status · Issuer implementation-status observation
  2. Instrument not specified · Reported financial standing: Contracted

    NRCan is providing $3.5 million to GGT for this initiative

    Named provider organizations
    Natural Resources Canada
    Named recipient organizations
    Green Graphite Technologies Inc.

    Directly linked project: Recycling of Graphite from Secondary Sources for Use in Lithium-Ion Batteries (a row reference; assess its value role and status before treating it as backing)

    2 directly citing documents · show precise citation roles
    1. Grant and contribution record — Recycling of Graphite from Secondary Sources for Use in Lithium-Ion BatteriesGovernment of Canada Open Government Portal / Natural Resources Canada · Publication date not statedField evidence: status · Financial status report
    2. Government of Canada Supporting Critical Minerals Processing in KingstonNatural Resources Canada · 2024-09-04Field evidence: amount · Field evidence: capital_source · Field evidence: instrument · Field evidence: materials · Field evidence: programme · Field evidence: project · Field evidence: provider · Field evidence: recipient · Field evidence: relationships · Field evidence: stages · Field evidence: status · Field evidence: value_role · Instrument relationship
  3. Instrument not specified · Reported financial standing: Announced

    almost $8.4 million in investments

    Named provider organizations
    Natural Resources Canada
    1 directly citing document · show precise citation roles
    1. Government of Canada Supporting Critical Minerals Processing in KingstonNatural Resources Canada · 2024-09-04Field evidence: amount · Field evidence: capital_source · Field evidence: instrument · Field evidence: materials · Field evidence: programme · Field evidence: provider · Field evidence: recipient · Field evidence: relationships · Field evidence: stages · Field evidence: status · Field evidence: value_role · Financial status report · Instrument relationship
  4. Instrument not specified · Reported financial standing: Contracted

    $4,500,000 investment

    Named provider organizations
    Natural Resources Canada
    Named recipient organizations
    NORAM Electrolysis Systems Inc.

    Directly linked project: Electrolysis for Lithium Production and Recycling (a row reference; assess its value role and status before treating it as backing)

    2 directly citing documents · show precise citation roles
    1. Grants and Contributions — ELECTROLYSIS FOR LITHIUM PRODUCTION AND RECYCLINGGovernment of Canada Open Government · Publication date not statedField evidence: amount · Field evidence: programme · Field evidence: project · Field evidence: recipient · Field evidence: status · Financial status report
    2. Government of Canada Invests Over $9 Million to Enable Made-in-Canada Lithium Battery Supply Chain in British ColumbiaNatural Resources Canada · 2024-07-11Field evidence: amount · Field evidence: capital_source · Field evidence: facility · Field evidence: instrument · Field evidence: materials · Field evidence: programme · Field evidence: project · Field evidence: provider · Field evidence: recipient · Field evidence: stages · Field evidence: status · Field evidence: value_role · Issuer implementation-status observation
  5. Instrument not specified · Reported financial standing: Announced

    $4,937,500 investment

    Named provider organizations
    Natural Resources Canada
    Named recipient organizations
    Saltworks Technologies Inc.

    Directly linked project: Lithium Brine Concentration and Conversion Demonstration (a row reference; assess its value role and status before treating it as backing)

    1 directly citing document · show precise citation roles
    1. Government of Canada Invests Over $9 Million to Enable Made-in-Canada Lithium Battery Supply Chain in British ColumbiaNatural Resources Canada · 2024-07-11Field evidence: amount · Field evidence: capital_source · Field evidence: instrument · Field evidence: materials · Field evidence: programme · Field evidence: project · Field evidence: provider · Field evidence: recipient · Field evidence: stages · Field evidence: status · Field evidence: value_role · Financial status report · Issuer implementation-status observation
  6. Instrument not specified · Reported financial standing: Decided

    Amount funded: $3,039,344

    Named provider organizations
    Natural Resources Canada
    Named recipient organizations
    Telescope Innovations Corp.

    Directly linked project: A Route to Establish a Canadian Lithium Sulphide Supply Chain for Solid-State Batteries (a row reference; assess its value role and status before treating it as backing)

    2 directly citing documents · show precise citation roles
    1. Critical Minerals Research, Development and Demonstration ProgramNatural Resources Canada · Publication date not statedField evidence: amount · Field evidence: location · Field evidence: materials · Field evidence: programme · Field evidence: project · Field evidence: recipient · Field evidence: stages
    2. Backgrounder: Canada unlocks 26 new investments and partnerships with 9 allied countries to secure critical minerals supply chainsNatural Resources Canada · 2025-10-31Field evidence: capital_source · Field evidence: instrument · Field evidence: materials · Field evidence: programme · Field evidence: project · Field evidence: provider · Field evidence: recipient · Field evidence: stages · Field evidence: status · Field evidence: value_role · Financial status report

Project designation pathways

Designation confers recorded recognition or standing, not money or evidence of actual production.

No project designations registered under this scheme.

Source links identify explicit citations to the displayed programme, financial row or designation, not proof that a source independently validates every claim about its project or recipients. For financial allocations, see each instrument's record and the existing capital-stack counting rules.

Awards recorded under the programme

Committed public money the corpus records under this programme or one beneath it, summed per currency; a part is not added to its package. What the corpus records, not the programme's spend.

CAD

Instrument not specified4 rows

Listed, not summed: the sources name no instrument the tracker's vocabulary covers.

4 counted · 2 parts not added again

Record

Kind
Grant programme
Administered by
Natural Resources CanadaGovernment body
Legal authority
Not stated

Evidence

  1. Government of Canada Supporting Critical Minerals Processing in Kingston

    Natural Resources Canada

    Fields supported
    Name · Administering bodies · Parent programme
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Quick facts
    Qualification
    "Funding for these projects comes from NRCan’s Critical Minerals Research, Development and Demonstration Program (CMRDD). The CMRDD is part of the Canadian Critical Minerals Strategy"
    View source dossier →
  2. Critical Minerals Research, Development and Demonstration Program

    Natural Resources Canada

    Fields supported
    Kind
    Evidence level
    Ambiguous
    Location in document
    "CMRDD is administered through 2 funding streams"
    Qualification
    One stream funds federal laboratories' research and development, the other is contribution funding to outside projects. The page does not say here whether contributions are repayable.
    View source dossier →