← Capital
CACanadaNatural Resources Canada (Critical Minerals Research, Development and Demonstration program)

Cyclic Materials Incorporated

Demonstration plant producing high-purity mixed rare earth oxide and a cobalt–nickel mixed hydroxide product from recycled materials

CommitmentInstrument not specifiedPublicContracted

fin-ca-cmrdd-2024-cyclic-materials

Reading this record

What the evidence says — and does not say

What kind of figure?
CommitmentMoney, or a money-like promise, committed to a named recipient or project. The only role ever summed.
What has happened legally?
ContractedA binding agreement has been executed. Not a payment, and not necessarily an obligation of funds: an agreement can leave that to a later step.
Has money been paid?
Follow the payment evidenceThis status does not itself establish a cash payment. In particular, a signed contract does not necessarily establish an obligation of funds.
What does it link to?
Project attributionOne registered project is linked directly to this row. The link alone does not prove the amount was paid or that the project advanced.

This is a commitment role, but the financial status still determines legal standing and payment. Funding and verified industrial outcomes remain separate. A financial record alone never independently verifies construction, commissioning or production. Read SMPT's counting and evidence rules.

Amount

CAD4.893125 million

As stated “Amount funded: $4,893,125”

CAD 4,893,125 · Exact · Currency read from the issuing government

Place in the money chain

A figure is never counted together with a figure it is part of or drawn from.

Record

Provider
Natural Resources Canada (Critical Minerals Research, Development and Demonstration program)Natural Resources CanadaGovernment body
Legal authority
Not stated
Recipient
Cyclic Materials IncorporatedCyclic Materials IncorporatedCompany
Project
Demonstration plant producing high-purity mixed rare earth oxide and a cobalt–nickel mixed hydroxide product from recycled materialsKingston Demonstration Plant capital stack →
Facility
Not stated
Location
Not stated
Stages
RecyclingSingle stage
Materials
Rare earth elements (grouped)CobaltNickelTracked materials only

Status

Financial and physical progress are separate histories. The last entry is current.

Financial

  1. Contractedcurrent

    The Government of Canada disclosure records agreement CMRDD2-048 with an agreement period beginning 17 July 2024.

    Government of Canada Open Government Portal / Natural Resources Canada

Implementation

  1. Completedcurrent

    NRCan's funded-project page states that the Kingston Demonstration Plant – Extended Operations project was launched in 2024 and completed in March 2026. The exact completion day is not stated, so no date is invented.

    Natural Resources Canada

Notes

The 4 September 2024 release publicized NRCan support; the official grants-and-contributions disclosure shows that agreement CMRDD2-048 was already in force from 17 July 2024 through 31 March 2026. NRCan's standing CMRDD page gives the exact C$4,893,125 funded amount and records the Kingston demonstration project as completed in March 2026. No payment timing is stated, so the financial lifecycle is not promoted beyond contracted.

Evidence

Every populated field names the source that states it, how directly, and where.

  1. Government of Canada Supporting Critical Minerals Processing in Kingston

    Natural Resources Canada

    Fields supported
    Instrument · Value role · Capital source · Provider · Recipient · Project · Related commitments · Supply-chain stages · Materials · Status · Programme
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Paragraph on Cyclic Materials
    View source dossier →
  2. Critical Minerals Research, Development and Demonstration Program

    Natural Resources Canada

    Fields supported
    Amount · Status
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Funded Projects: "Kingston Demonstration Plant – Extended Operations"
    Qualification
    The programme page lists the exact amount funded; the 2024 release rounds it to "$4.9 million". Currency read from the issuing government (a Canadian federal page printing "$").
    View source dossier →
  3. Grant and contribution record — Kingston Demonstration Plant-Extended Operations

    Government of Canada Open Government Portal / Natural Resources Canada

    Fields supported
    Status
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Agreement number CMRDD2-048; Agreement Date
    Qualification
    Official grant disclosure establishes the binding agreement and its 17 July 2024 start date.
    View source dossier →