← Projects
CACanada

Kingston Demonstration Plant

Kingston, Ontario

prj-ca-cyclic-kingston-demonstration-plant

What does the record establish?

This registered undertaking is linked below to its financial instruments, policy context and available industrial evidence.

Financial standing

1 directly linked instruments. Recorded financial states: Contracted. A commitment, a payment and a project cost remain separate.

Inspect instruments and terms

Legal and policy context

1 parent policy records; 0 project designations. Designation confers standing, not finance. Material and stage overlaps with controls do not establish a restriction on this project.

Read the policy records

Industrial evidence

No source-reviewed project milestone is published in this corpus. Financing records may still contain attributed activity reports; this gap does not establish inactivity.

See evidence gaps

Financial evidence and chronology

Each instrument keeps its own financial history. These dates describe financial states, not construction or production. Amounts are the current recorded terms, not historical amounts at every date below.

Instrument not specified · Natural Resources Canada (Critical Minerals Research, Development and Demonstration program)Amount funded: $4,893,125 · Contracted · Commitment
Provider organizations
Natural Resources Canada
Recipient
Cyclic Materials IncorporatedCyclic Materials Incorporated
Legal authority as stated
Not stated in this financial record
  1. · Contracted

    The Government of Canada disclosure records agreement CMRDD2-048 with an agreement period beginning 17 July 2024.

    Government of Canada Open Government Portal / Natural Resources Canada

No additional structured terms are recorded. See the full instrument for its evidence and qualifications.

The 4 September 2024 release publicized NRCan support; the official grants-and-contributions disclosure shows that agreement CMRDD2-048 was already in force from 17 July 2024 through 31 March 2026. NRCan's standing CMRDD page gives the exact C$4,893,125 funded amount and records the Kingston demonstration project as completed in March 2026. No payment timing is stated, so the financial lifecycle is not promoted beyond contracted.

Full financial instrument, conditions and field-level evidence

Capital stack

One layer per value role. Only committed public money, and joint-vehicle money apart from it, is summed, per currency; everything else is listed. There is no total across layers.

Public commitments

1 row · summed per currency

Committed to a recipient by a government or public enterprise, at the status each row states. A contracted, partially disbursed or disbursed row is binding because an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately by status. A contracted row need not mean funds are obligated or paid, and a partially disbursed row is not fully paid. Summed per currency and per instrument, never across either; a part is never added to its package.

CAD

Instrument not specified1 row

Listed, not summed: the sources name no instrument the tracker's vocabulary covers.

1 counted

Source-reviewed industrial observations

No source-reviewed project milestone is published for this undertaking. Any financing-row activity reports below remain attributed observations, not independently reviewed project milestones. Missing evidence does not establish inactivity.

Policy context

These records directly parent the project's finance or designation entries. Their presence does not establish a causal effect on industrial activity.

Control clauses on the same materials and stages

Clauses whose covered items share a material and a supply-chain stage with this project, with their legal status on 3 Nov 2026. An overlap of items, not a finding that the project is affected.

Record

Location
Kingston, OntarioCA
Stages
Recycling
Materials
Rare earth elements (grouped)CobaltNickelTracked materials only
Latest financing-row activity report
CompletedDate not statedNatural Resources Canada

What remains unknown

Gaps describe the available SMPT record. They do not establish that an activity did not occur.

  • No project-native source-reviewed industrial milestone is published. Attributed activity in financing histories remains a separate evidence class; no exact milestone date or facility-wide conclusion is inferred.
  • Historical amount review is incomplete. Current amounts cannot be read as a time series of earlier commitments.
  • Structural links and shared materials do not demonstrate that a government measure caused an industrial outcome.

Evidence

Every project fact names the source that states it.

  1. Critical Minerals Research, Development and Demonstration Program

    Natural Resources Canada

    Fields supported
    Name · Sponsors · Location · Supply-chain stages · Materials
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Funded Projects: "Kingston Demonstration Plant – Extended Operations"
    Qualification
    Organization: Cyclic Materials Inc; location: Kingston, Ontario; critical minerals: rare earth elements, cobalt, nickel; status: launched in 2024, completed in March 2026.
    View source dossier →

For citations, open a parent policy record for BibTeX, RIS and CSL formats. Cite original documents for claims about government action.

Project registry JSON with sources · Full dataset and download guide