← Projects
AUAustralia

Nolans project

the Northern Territory

prj-au-nolans

What does the record establish?

The release names the project as "the Arafura Nolans project" and states no developer or stage, so neither is recorded. The April 2026 ASX announcement expressly identifies Arafura Rare Earths Limited as the corporate equity issuer financing Nolans development, so it is registered as the project's sponsor/developer; underlying project-asset title remains unasserted.

Financial standing

1 directly linked instruments. Recorded financial states: Contracted. A commitment, a payment and a project cost remain separate.

Inspect instruments and terms

Legal and policy context

1 parent policy records; 0 project designations. Designation confers standing, not finance. Material and stage overlaps with controls do not establish a restriction on this project.

Read the policy records

Industrial evidence

No source-reviewed project milestone is published in this corpus. Financing records may still contain attributed activity reports; this gap does not establish inactivity.

See evidence gaps

Financial evidence and chronology

Each instrument keeps its own financial history. These dates describe financial states, not construction or production. Amounts are the current recorded terms, not historical amounts at every date below.

Equity · Australian Governmenta USD$100 million equity investment in the project · Contracted · Commitment
Provider organizations
Australian Government
Recipient
Arafura Rare Earths LimitedArafura Rare Earths Limited
Legal authority as stated
Not stated in this financial record
  1. · Announced

    Prime Minister of Australia
  2. · Contracted

    Arafura executed a binding US$100 million subscription agreement with Export Finance Australia; completion remained subject to conditions precedent.

    Arafura Rare Earths Limited / Australian Securities Exchange

No additional structured terms are recorded. See the full instrument for its evidence and qualifications.

The US$100 million EFA equity support announced in October 2025 became a binding subscription agreement on 1 April 2026. Completion remained subject to conditions precedent, so no disbursement is inferred. A 2 October 2026 lifecycle review found primary company material still tying full construction commencement to financing/settlement milestones; no later primary source reviewed cleanly confirmed full construction commencement, so no physical construction status is recorded here. The April 2026 ASX disclosure identifies Arafura Rare Earths Limited as the legal share issuer/recipient of EFA's agreed investment; Nolans is the project to which proceeds are intended to be applied, not a share-issuing entity.

Full financial instrument, conditions and field-level evidence

Capital stack

One layer per value role. Only committed public money, and joint-vehicle money apart from it, is summed, per currency; everything else is listed. There is no total across layers.

Public commitments

1 row · summed per currency

Committed to a recipient by a government or public enterprise, at the status each row states. A contracted, partially disbursed or disbursed row is binding because an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately by status. A contracted row need not mean funds are obligated or paid, and a partially disbursed row is not fully paid. Summed per currency and per instrument, never across either; a part is never added to its package.

USD

Equity1 row

Binding

Stated exactly
100 million

1 counted

Source-reviewed industrial observations

No source-reviewed project milestone is published for this undertaking. Any financing-row activity reports below remain attributed observations, not independently reviewed project milestones. Missing evidence does not establish inactivity.

Policy context

These records directly parent the project's finance or designation entries. Their presence does not establish a causal effect on industrial activity.

Control clauses on the same materials and stages

Clauses whose covered items share a material and a supply-chain stage with this project, with their legal status on 3 Nov 2026. An overlap of items, not a finding that the project is affected.

No coded control clause covers items at this project's materials and stages.

Record

Location
the Northern TerritoryAU
Stages
Not stated
Materials
Rare earth elements (grouped)Tracked materials only
Programmes
None recorded
Latest financing-row activity report
No physical status recorded

What remains unknown

Gaps describe the available SMPT record. They do not establish that an activity did not occur.

  • No project-native source-reviewed industrial milestone is published. Attributed activity in financing histories remains a separate evidence class; no exact milestone date or facility-wide conclusion is inferred.
  • Historical amount review is incomplete. Current amounts cannot be read as a time series of earlier commitments.
  • Structural links and shared materials do not demonstrate that a government measure caused an industrial outcome.

Evidence

Every project fact names the source that states it.

  1. Historic critical minerals framework signed by President Trump and Prime Minister Albanese

    Prime Minister of Australia

    Fields supported
    Name · Location · Materials
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Paragraph on the second priority project
    Qualification
    "the Arafura Nolans project in the Northern Territory"
    View source dossier →
  2. Arafura Executes Binding Cornerstone Equity Agreements

    Arafura Rare Earths Limited / Australian Securities Exchange

    Fields supported
    Sponsors
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Overview and Export Finance Australia section, pp. 1–2; Annexure B, use of proceeds
    Qualification
    Arafura Rare Earths Limited is the corporate developer raising funds specifically for the Nolans project. This sponsorship link does not assert separate legal ownership of project assets.
    View source dossier →

For citations, open a parent policy record for BibTeX, RIS and CSL formats. Cite original documents for claims about government action.

Project registry JSON with sources · Full dataset and download guide