← Projects
JPJapan

Lofdal heavy rare earth development project

the Lofdal area of the Kunene Region, Republic of Namibia

prj-na-lofdal

What does the record establish?

The 30 July 2026 recipient release reports ongoing definitive-feasibility execution, including pilot-scale metallurgy, mineral separation testwork, engineering, environmental permitting and mine development planning. The original DFS start date is not stated. The 31 August 2026 update says implementation of the underlying project-interest transaction still requires shareholder consent and regulatory approvals, including final TSX Venture Exchange approval. A completed earn-in expenditure requirement is distinct from completion of that conditional interest transfer, and from JOGMEC's initial investment in TJ. Review on 3 October 2026 did not establish commercial mine construction, operation or a completed final investment decision.

Financial standing

1 directly linked instruments. Recorded financial states: Partially disbursed. A commitment, a payment and a project cost remain separate.

Inspect instruments and terms

Legal and policy context

1 parent policy records; 0 project designations. Designation confers standing, not finance. Material and stage overlaps with controls do not establish a restriction on this project.

Read the policy records

Industrial evidence

No source-reviewed project milestone is published in this corpus. Financing records may still contain attributed activity reports; this gap does not establish inactivity.

See evidence gaps

Financial evidence and chronology

Each instrument keeps its own financial history. These dates describe financial states, not construction or production. Amounts are the current recorded terms, not historical amounts at every date below.

Equity · Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC)up to 47.668 million Canadian dollars (approximately 5.5 billion yen) · Partially disbursed · Commitment
Recipient
TJ Namibia Rare Earths Corporation (special purpose company established by Toyota Tsusho)TJ Namibia Rare Earths Corporation
Legal authority as stated
Not stated in this financial record
  1. Exact status date not stated · Decided

    "JOGMEC has decided to invest up to 47.668 million Canadian dollars"; the decision date is not stated.

    Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC) / Toyota Tsusho Corporation
  2. · Partially disbursed

    "The initial investment was made on July 23, 2026."

    Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC) / Toyota Tsusho Corporation

No additional structured terms are recorded. See the full instrument for its evidence and qualifications.

The amount is in Canadian dollars in both the Japanese and English releases; the yen figure is an approximation given in the release (約54.6億円 in the Japanese text, "approximately 5.5 billion yen" in English) and is not recorded as a separate amount. Lifecycle review on 3 October 2026 retains partially_disbursed financial status: the initial SPC investment occurred on 23 July, but the initial investment amount is not disclosed. Namibia Critical Metals' completed C$23 million earn-in and approximately C$11 million expanded DFS budget are separate from JOGMEC's up-to-C$47.668 million SPC equity commitment; neither is coded as a paid amount against it. The recipient's 30 July release confirms ongoing DFS execution, including pilot-scale work and engineering, while its 31 August update says the underlying project-interest transaction still requires shareholder consent and regulatory approvals. Those transaction conditions do not negate the initial SPC investment. Feasibility remains the physical status, with its actual start date unknown; the reviewed sources do not establish commercial mine construction, operation or a completed final investment decision. The FY2026 commercialization decision remains a target.

Full financial instrument, conditions and field-level evidence

Capital stack

One layer per value role. Only committed public money, and joint-vehicle money apart from it, is summed, per currency; everything else is listed. There is no total across layers.

Public commitments

1 row · summed per currency

Committed to a recipient by a government or public enterprise, at the status each row states. A contracted, partially disbursed or disbursed row is binding because an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately by status. A contracted row need not mean funds are obligated or paid, and a partially disbursed row is not fully paid. Summed per currency and per instrument, never across either; a part is never added to its package.

CAD

Equity1 row

Binding

Up to
47.668 million

1 counted

Source-reviewed industrial observations

No source-reviewed project milestone is published for this undertaking. Any financing-row activity reports below remain attributed observations, not independently reviewed project milestones. Missing evidence does not establish inactivity.

Policy context

These records directly parent the project's finance or designation entries. Their presence does not establish a causal effect on industrial activity.

Control clauses on the same materials and stages

Clauses whose covered items share a material and a supply-chain stage with this project, with their legal status on 3 Nov 2026. An overlap of items, not a finding that the project is affected.

Record

Location
the Lofdal area of the Kunene Region, Republic of NamibiaNA
Stages
Exploration, Mining
Materials
Rare earth elements (grouped)DysprosiumTerbiumTracked materials only
Programmes
None recorded
Latest financing-row activity report
FeasibilityDate not statedJapan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC) / Toyota Tsusho Corporation

What remains unknown

Gaps describe the available SMPT record. They do not establish that an activity did not occur.

  • No project-native source-reviewed industrial milestone is published. Attributed activity in financing histories remains a separate evidence class; no exact milestone date or facility-wide conclusion is inferred.
  • Historical amount review is incomplete. Current amounts cannot be read as a time series of earlier commitments.
  • Structural links and shared materials do not demonstrate that a government measure caused an industrial outcome.

Evidence

Every project fact names the source that states it.

  1. Establishment of a Special Purpose Company for Heavy Rare Earth Development in the Republic of Namibia and Investment by JOGMEC

    Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC) / Toyota Tsusho Corporation

    Fields supported
    Name · Sponsors · Location · Materials
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    First to third paragraphs
    Qualification
    "JOGMEC ... and Toyota Tsusho ... are currently advancing a heavy rare earth development project"; TJ is "a special purpose company to carry out the project".
    View source dossier →
  2. ナミビア共和国におけるレアアース探査・開発事業を行う特定目的会社の設立およびJOGMECの出資について

    独立行政法人エネルギー・金属鉱物資源機構 (JOGMEC) / 豊田通商株式会社

    Fields supported
    Supply-chain stages
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Title
    Qualification
    レアアース探査・開発事業 (rare earth exploration and development).
    View source dossier →
  3. Namibia Critical Metals Announces Completion of Japan’s C$23 Million Earn-In and Formation of Strategic Joint Venture Company for the Lofdal Heavy Rare Earth Project

    Namibia Critical Metals Inc.

    Fields supported
    Name · Sponsors
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Page 1, opening transaction and investment paragraphs
    Qualification
    The project company identifies Lofdal, JOGMEC, Toyota Tsusho and the newly established TJNREC. Its 50% participating-interest transfer is expressly subject to prior shareholder and TSX Venture Exchange approval; the release reports ongoing definitive-feasibility work rather than construction.
    View source dossier →
  4. Namibia Critical Metals Provides Update on Lofdal Joint Venture Transaction

    Namibia Critical Metals Inc.

    Fields supported
    Name · Sponsors
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Page 1, opening transaction-update paragraphs
    Qualification
    The named partners continue to seek shareholder consent and regulatory approvals to implement the project-interest transaction; no completed transfer is asserted.
    View source dossier →

For citations, open a parent policy record for BibTeX, RIS and CSL formats. Cite original documents for claims about government action.

Project registry JSON with sources · Full dataset and download guide