Portfolios
Each government's capital, side by side, from the financial rows it provides. Money is shown only as per-currency totals of committed public money, binding apart from not yet binding; everything else is a count of records. No figure is converted between currencies, and no government is ranked.
Committed public money, per currency
Summed under the counting rules: a part is never added to its package, envelopes and unexercised options are listed and left out, figures stated “up to” are added only to each other (a sum of stated upper bounds, not an amount paid), and joint vehicles are kept apart from public money.
USD
Grant6 rows
Binding
- Stated exactly
- 84.8 million
- Approximately
- 27.1 million
- Up to
- 59.2 million
Not yet binding
- Stated exactly
- 18.1 million
Includes an announced amount (fin-us-dod-5n-germanium-2024): Announced amount (DoD release, 16 April 2024). It is unreconciled with the $12,458,128 federal obligation reported in the federal award record and with the $2,505,981 non-federal funding reported there. No amount paid is recorded; some payment is reported in federal-reporting data only.
Loan4 rows
Binding
- Stated exactly
- 150 million
- Approximately
- 2.23 billion
Not yet binding
- Stated exactly
- 3.606 billion
Loan guarantee2 rows
Binding
- Stated exactly
- 996 million
- Up to
- 1.3 billion
Equity1 row
Binding
- Stated exactly
- 400 million
Instrument not specified1 row
Listed, not summed: the sources name no instrument the tracker's vocabulary covers.
14 counted · 14 parts not added again
3 rows state no amount and are listed, not valued.
EUR
Grant1 row
Binding
- Approximately
- 14.8 million
Loan2 rows
Binding
- Stated exactly
- 168 million
3 counted
CAD
Equity1 row
Binding
- Up to
- 47.668 million
1 counted
JPY
Grant4 rows
Not yet binding
- Approximately
- 27.8 billion
4 counted
Every row, with its own figure →
Joint vehicles, kept apart
AUD
Equity1 row
Binding
- Stated exactly
- 200 million
1 counted
USD
Equity2 rows
Binding
- Stated exactly
- 100 million
Not yet binding
- Up to
- 200 million
2 counted
2 rows state no amount and are listed, not valued.
CAD
Grant1 row
Not yet binding
- Up to
- 9.1 million
Equity1 row
Binding
- At least
- 35 million
Instrument not specified15 rows
Listed, not summed: the sources name no instrument the tracker's vocabulary covers.
17 counted · 4 parts not added again
USD
Equity1 row
Binding
- Stated exactly
- 25 million
1 counted
1 row states no amount and is listed, not valued.
GBP
Several instruments, split not stated1 row
Listed, not summed: each row combines instruments without a split.
1 counted · 2 parts not added again
1 row states no amount and is listed, not valued.
What each portfolio is made of
Counts of records, never money. Rows, value role, instrument, legal standing and geography count a package with its parts once; stage and material count per cell, so a part is counted at a stage or material its package does not list and never again where the package lists it. Instrument, stage and material hold every value role except funding options and non-binding indications (commitments, envelopes, appropriations, private financing and the rest); legal standing and geography hold committed rows only. A row that withdrew or lapsed is not capital and is counted only as ended; a funding option is counted in its own value role and nowhere else, since it is a right to call on money and not an exercise, and so is a non-binding indication, which is possible support and not a commitment. At home or abroad is read from each committed row's stated location or its project's, against the provider's home territory (the member states for the EU). Data as of 2026-11-03.
| Records | US | EU | JP | AU | CA | GB | IN |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Value role | |||||||
| Public commitments | 17 | 3 | 5 | 4 | 19 | 2 | · |
| Joint-vehicle commitments | · | · | 1 | · | · | · | · |
| Other commitments | · | · | 1 | · | · | · | · |
| Funding options | 1 | · | · | · | · | · | · |
| Non-binding indications | 1 | · | · | · | 3 | · | · |
| Envelopes, appropriations and lending authorities | 3 | 1 | · | 3 | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| Expected co-investment | · | · | · | · | · | · | 1 |
| Committed rows, by legal standing | |||||||
| Binding (contracted or paid) | 13 | 3 | 3 | 1 | 6 | · | · |
| Not yet binding | 4 | · | 4 | 3 | 13 | 2 | · |
| Status not stated | · | · | · | · | · | · | · |
| Ended (withdrawn or lapsed) | · | · | · | · | · | · | · |
| Committed rows, where the money goes | |||||||
| At home | 11 | 3 | 4 | 4 | 15 | 2 | · |
| Abroad | 1 | · | 1 | · | · | · | · |
| At home and abroad | · | · | · | · | · | · | · |
| Location not stated | 5 | · | 2 | · | 4 | · | · |
| Instrument (every value role but funding options; a package counts once) | |||||||
| Grant | 6 | 1 | 4 | · | 1 | 1 | · |
| Loan | 6 | 2 | · | · | · | · | · |
| Loan guarantee | 2 | · | · | · | · | · | · |
| Equity | 2 | · | 2 | 2 | 2 | · | · |
| Tax credit | · | · | · | 1 | · | · | · |
| Price floor | 1 | · | · | · | · | · | · |
| Offtake | 1 | · | 1 | 1 | 1 | · | · |
| Procurement right | · | · | · | · | · | 1 | · |
| Several instruments, split not stated | 1 | · | · | 3 | · | 1 | · |
| Instrument not specified | 1 | 1 | · | · | 16 | · | 2 |
| Supply-chain stage (every value role but funding options; counted per cell) | |||||||
| Exploration | · | · | 1 | · | 4 | · | 1 |
| Mining | 7 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 3 | 2 | 1 |
| Separation | 4 | · | 1 | 1 | 2 | · | · |
| Processing | 12 | 2 | 1 | 4 | 8 | 1 | 1 |
| Refining | 7 | · | 3 | 1 | 1 | · | · |
| Component manufacturing | 6 | 1 | · | · | · | · | · |
| Recycling | 1 | · | · | · | 6 | · | 1 |
| Stockpiling | · | · | · | 1 | · | · | 1 |
| Research and development | · | 1 | · | · | 4 | · | 1 |
| Material (every value role but funding options; counted per cell) | |||||||
| Antimony | 5 | · | · | 2 | · | · | · |
| Cobalt | · | · | · | 1 | 1 | · | · |
| Dysprosium | 2 | · | 3 | 1 | · | · | · |
| Gallium | 3 | · | · | 4 | · | · | · |
| Germanium | 2 | · | · | 1 | · | · | · |
| Graphite | · | 1 | · | 1 | 7 | · | · |
| Lithium | 2 | 1 | · | 1 | 6 | · | · |
| Neodymium | 1 | · | · | 1 | · | · | · |
| Nickel | · | · | · | 1 | 2 | · | · |
| Praseodymium | 1 | · | · | 1 | · | · | · |
| Rare earth elements (grouped) | 5 | · | 4 | 3 | 7 | · | · |
| Rare-earth permanent magnets (NdFeB) | 5 | 1 | · | · | · | · | · |
| Terbium | 2 | · | 3 | 1 | · | · | · |
| Tungsten | · | · | 2 | 1 | 1 | 2 | · |
| Reach | |||||||
| Providing organizations | 6 | 1 | 3 | 2 | 5 | 3 | 1 |
| Recipient organizations | 12 | 3 | 6 | 1 | 14 | 1 | · |
| Projects | 17 | 2 | 5 | 2 | 17 | 1 | · |
| Programmes | 2 | 2 | 2 | 3 | 2 | · | 1 |
Where the money is aimed
Committed rows from each government to each country the row or its project names. A row aimed at two countries counts under both; a package counts once, with its parts folded into it.
| From \ to | AU | CA | EE | FI | GB | JP | NA | US | not stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| US | 1 | · | · | · | · | · | · | 11 | 5 |
| EU | · | · | 2 | 1 | · | · | · | · | · |
| JP | · | · | · | · | · | 4 | 1 | · | 2 |
| AU | 4 | · | · | · | · | · | · | · | · |
| CA | · | 15 | · | · | · | · | · | · | 4 |
| GB | · | · | · | · | 2 | · | · | · | · |
| IN | · | · | · | · | · | · | · | · | · |
“Not stated” for a package can sit beside known locations on its parts. A package is aimed at no country when not every part states one; the parts that do are folded into it and are not counted again at their own country here. Open the package to list its parts, and a part to see its own location.
- USInstrument not specified · USA Rare Earth, Inc.3 of 5 parts state a country (US)
- USLoan guarantee · USA Rare Earth, Inc.3 of 5 parts state a country (US)
Projects with more than one backer
By kind: more than one government's capital, public and private capital, several public bodies, or public capital alongside a designation. Envelopes and total project cost are not capital provided, so they do not count.
Several public bodies of one government
Kingston Centre of Excellence for Rare Earth Recycling
3 rows · 3 providing organizations
Several public bodies of one government
Ucore commercial rare earth processing facility, Kingston
3 rows · 3 providing organizations
Public capital and a designation
1 row · 1 providing organization · 1 designation
Several public bodies of one government · Public capital and a designation
Hemerdon tungsten and tin mine
4 rows · 2 providing organizations · 1 designation
Public capital and a designation
Allied Material tungsten reduction and carburisation facilities
1 row · 1 providing organization · 1 designation
Public capital and a designation
Japan New Metals tungsten hydrometallurgical refining facilities in Japan
1 row · 1 providing organization · 1 designation
Public capital and a designation
Santoku rare earth smelting facilities in Japan
1 row · 1 providing organization · 1 designation
Public capital and a designation
Shin-Etsu Chemical rare earth smelting facilities in Japan
1 row · 1 providing organization · 1 designation
Public capital and a designation
2 rows · 1 providing organization · 1 designation
Recognition without money
Projects a government recognizes under a designation scheme. Standing, not capital: never summed, never counted in the tables above. At home or abroad is read from the designated project's stated country against the designating government's home territory.
Where
- At home
- 47
- Abroad
- 7
- At home and abroad
- 1
FR 10 · DE 8 · FI 7 · BE 3 · ES 3 · IT 3 · PL 3 · SE 3 · EE 2 · NL 2 · RO 2 · GB 1 · GL 1 · GR 1 · KZ 1 · MG 1 · MW 1 · NA 1 · NO 1 · PT 1 · SK 1 · UA 1 · ZA 1
Materials
- Cobalt
- 14
- Gallium
- 2
- Germanium
- 3
- Graphite
- 19
- Lithium
- 8
- Nickel
- 16
- Rare earth elements (grouped)
- 11
- Tungsten
- 6
Stages
- Mining
- 18
- Separation
- 1
- Processing
- 19
- Recycling
- 15
- Substitution, no stage
- 8
3 designated projects also carry a financial row in the corpus. Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act →
Where
- At home
- 4
JP 4
Materials
- Rare earth elements (grouped)
- 2
- Tungsten
- 2
Stages
- Processing
- 1
- Refining
- 3
4 designated projects also carry a financial row in the corpus. Certified supply-assurance plans for critical minerals (Economic Security Promotion Act) →
Programmes
The named schemes each government runs.
- None recorded.
Machine-readable: capital-intelligence summary (JSON) · how these views are derived
