Vulcan Elements and ReElement Technologies
fin-us-osc-vulcan-reelement-2025-joint-commitment
Reading this record
What the evidence says — and does not say
- What kind of figure?
- CommitmentMoney, or a money-like promise, committed to a named recipient or project. The only role ever summed.
- What has happened legally?
- DecidedThe provider has decided to invest, lend or award, including a conditional commitment.
- Has money been paid?
- Follow the payment evidenceThis status does not itself establish a cash payment. In particular, a signed contract does not necessarily establish an obligation of funds.
- What does it link to?
- Project attributionNo direct registered project association is coded for this row. A project or facility may still be named in source text; absence of a link is not proof of inactivity.
This is a commitment role, but the financial status still determines legal standing and payment. Funding and verified industrial outcomes remain separate. A financial record alone never independently verifies construction, commissioning or production. Read SMPT's counting and evidence rules.
Amount
As stated “a joint $700 million conditional loan commitment”
USD 700,000,000 · Exact · Currency read from the issuing government
Place in the money chain
A figure is never counted together with a figure it is part of or drawn from.
This row is drawn from
Stated by U.S. Department of War (Office of Strategic Capital) · Fourth paragraph — "The funding for OSC's conditional loans comes from the One Big Beautiful Bill Act ... The Act provides up to $100 billion in total OSC lending authority".
Rows that are part of or drawn from this one
↳ part of this row
ReElement Technologies
USD80 millionOffice of Strategic Capital Agrees to Joint $700M Conditional Loan Commitment with Vulcan Elements and ReElement Technologies
↳ part of this row
Vulcan Elements
USD620 millionOffice of Strategic Capital Agrees to Joint $700M Conditional Loan Commitment with Vulcan Elements and ReElement Technologies
Record
- Provider
- US Department of War, Office of Strategic CapitalOffice of Strategic Capital (OSC)Government body
- Legal authority
- One Big Beautiful Bill Act (OSC lending authority)
- Recipient
- Vulcan Elements and ReElement TechnologiesReElement TechnologiesCompanyVulcan ElementsCompany
- Project
- Not stated
- Facility
- Not stated
- Location
- Not stated
- Stages
- Separation, Refining, Component manufacturingSeveral stages, split not stated
- Materials
- Rare earth elements (grouped)Rare-earth permanent magnets (NdFeB)Tracked materials only
Status
Financial and physical progress are separate histories. The last entry is current.
Financial
- Decidedcurrent
A conditional commitment: "No OSC funds are disbursed until all parties have completed or met the conditions for disbursement as specified in the loan commitment."
Implementation
No source states the physical status of a project for this row.
Terms
Operative terms as the source words them.
| Term | Figure | As stated |
|---|---|---|
| Other term | — | “The Department of War will also receive warrants from Vulcan and ReElement as part of the joint commitment.”U.S. Department of War (Office of Strategic Capital) |
Stated outcomes
Who says it matters: a company target is not a government commitment.
up to 10,000 metric tons of NdFeB magnet material
“Vulcan and ReElement anticipate collectively producing up to 10,000 metric tons of NdFeB magnet material in the next several years”
The companies' expectation as the OSC release reports it; no period or annual rate is stated.
Notes
The joint commitment; its two loans are recorded as parts of it. Stages are stated for the joint commitment, not per company.
Evidence
Every populated field names the source that states it, how directly, and where.
U.S. Department of War (Office of Strategic Capital)
- Fields supported
- Instrument · Value role · Capital source · Amount · Provider · Legal authority · Recipient · Related commitments · Materials · Status · Terms · Outcomes · Programme
- Evidence level
- Explicit
- Location in document
- First to fourth paragraphs
U.S. Department of War (Office of Strategic Capital)
- Fields supported
- Supply-chain stages
- Evidence level
- Explicit
- Location in document
- Second paragraph
- Qualification
- "advanced rare earth element separation, metallization, and magnet manufacturing capabilities"; metallization is recorded as refining.
| Source | Fields supported | Evidence level | Location |
|---|---|---|---|
| Office of Strategic Capital Agrees to Joint $700M Conditional Loan Commitment with Vulcan Elements and ReElement Technologies U.S. Department of War (Office of Strategic Capital) · Source dossier |
| Explicit | First to fourth paragraphs |
| Office of Strategic Capital Agrees to Joint $700M Conditional Loan Commitment with Vulcan Elements and ReElement Technologies U.S. Department of War (Office of Strategic Capital) · Source dossier |
| Explicit "advanced rare earth element separation, metallization, and magnet manufacturing capabilities"; metallization is recorded as refining. | Second paragraph |
