← Capital
JPJapanJapan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC)

信越化学工業株式会社

New smelting facilities in Japan to increase rare earth production.

CommitmentGrantPublicDecided

fin-jp-jogmec-shin-etsu-rare-earth-grant

Reading this record

What the evidence says — and does not say

What kind of figure?
CommitmentMoney, or a money-like promise, committed to a named recipient or project. The only role ever summed.
What has happened legally?
DecidedThe provider has decided to invest, lend or award, including a conditional commitment.
Has money been paid?
Follow the payment evidenceThis status does not itself establish a cash payment. In particular, a signed contract does not necessarily establish an obligation of funds.
What does it link to?
Project attributionOne registered project is linked directly to this row. The link alone does not prove the amount was paid or that the project advanced.

This is a commitment role, but the financial status still determines legal standing and payment. Funding and verified industrial outcomes remain separate. A financial record alone never independently verifies construction, commissioning or production. Read SMPT's counting and evidence rules.

Amount

aboutJPY17.5 billion

As stated “※助成額は約175億円”

JPY 17,500,000,000 · Approximately · Currency stated in the source

Record

Provider
Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC)Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC)Government body
Legal authority
経済安全保障推進法 (Economic Security Promotion Act)
Recipient
信越化学工業株式会社Shin-Etsu Chemical Co., Ltd.Company
Project
New smelting facilities in Japan to increase rare earth production.Shin-Etsu Chemical rare earth smelting facilities in Japan capital stack →
Facility
Not stated
Location
日本国内JP
Stages
RefiningSingle stage
Materials
Rare earth elements (grouped)Tracked materials only

Status

Financial and physical progress are separate histories. The last entry is current.

Financial

  1. Announced

    METI's list gives the subsidy with the plan certified on 令和8年5月19日.

    経済産業省 (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry, Japan)

  2. Decidedcurrent

    Listed among JOGMEC's grant decisions (交付決定事業) for 令和8年度; the decision date is not stated.

    独立行政法人エネルギー・金属鉱物資源機構 (JOGMEC)

Implementation

No source states the physical status of a project for this row.

Terms

Operative terms as the source words them.

TermFigureAs stated
Other term50 % of the applicant's cost of the undertaking“当該取組に係る申請者負担額の1/2の助成金”The programme-wide rate; the list does not restate it per plan.独立行政法人エネルギー・金属鉱物資源機構 (JOGMEC)

Notes

The amount is approximate as both lists print it (約, "about"); the yen figure is 億円 × 100,000,000.

Evidence

Every populated field names the source that states it, how directly, and where.

  1. 重要鉱物(経済安全保障推進法に基づく認定供給確保計画)

    経済産業省 (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry, Japan)

    Fields supported
    Instrument · Value role · Capital source · Amount · Provider · Recipient · Project · Location · Materials · Status
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Section 4, plan 2026重要鉱物第1号-1
    Qualification
    The subsidy (助成) is paid by JOGMEC to businesses whose plans METI certifies.
    View source dossier →
  2. 重要鉱物(経済安全保障推進法に基づく認定供給確保計画)

    経済産業省 (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry, Japan)

    Fields supported
    Supply-chain stages
    Evidence level
    Ambiguous
    Location in document
    Section 4, plan 2026重要鉱物第1号-1
    Qualification
    製錬 (smelting and refining) is read as refining; the list does not say whether separation is included.
    View source dossier →
  3. 重要鉱物助成金交付事業

    独立行政法人エネルギー・金属鉱物資源機構 (JOGMEC)

    Fields supported
    Provider · Programme · Legal authority · Terms · Status
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Programme description; 交付決定事業
    View source dossier →