Shin-Etsu Chemical rare earth smelting facilities in Japan
日本国内
prj-jp-shin-etsu-rare-earth
What does the record establish?
This registered undertaking is linked below to its financial instruments, policy context and available industrial evidence.
Financial standing
1 directly linked instruments. Recorded financial states: Decided. A commitment, a payment and a project cost remain separate.
Inspect instruments and termsLegal and policy context
1 parent policy records; 1 project designations. Designation confers standing, not finance. Material and stage overlaps with controls do not establish a restriction on this project.
Read the policy recordsIndustrial evidence
No source-reviewed project milestone is published in this corpus. Financing records may still contain attributed activity reports; this gap does not establish inactivity.
See evidence gapsFinancial evidence and chronology
Each instrument keeps its own financial history. These dates describe financial states, not construction or production. Amounts are the current recorded terms, not historical amounts at every date below.
Grant · Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC)※助成額は約175億円 · Decided · Commitment
- Provider organizations
- Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC)
- Recipient
- 信越化学工業株式会社Shin-Etsu Chemical Co., Ltd.
- Legal authority as stated
- 経済安全保障推進法 (Economic Security Promotion Act)
· Announced
METI's list gives the subsidy with the plan certified on 令和8年5月19日.
経済産業省 (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry, Japan)Exact status date not stated · Decided
Listed among JOGMEC's grant decisions (交付決定事業) for 令和8年度; the decision date is not stated.
独立行政法人エネルギー・金属鉱物資源機構 (JOGMEC)
Source-stated terms
- 当該取組に係る申請者負担額の1/2の助成金 独立行政法人エネルギー・金属鉱物資源機構 (JOGMEC)
The programme-wide rate; the list does not restate it per plan.
The amount is approximate as both lists print it (約, "about"); the yen figure is 億円 × 100,000,000.
Full financial instrument, conditions and field-level evidenceCapital stack
One layer per value role. Only committed public money, and joint-vehicle money apart from it, is summed, per currency; everything else is listed. There is no total across layers.
Public commitments
1 row · summed per currencyCommitted to a recipient by a government or public enterprise, at the status each row states. A contracted, partially disbursed or disbursed row is binding because an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately by status. A contracted row need not mean funds are obligated or paid, and a partially disbursed row is not fully paid. Summed per currency and per instrument, never across either; a part is never added to its package.
JPY
Grant1 row
Not yet binding
- Approximately
- 17.5 billion
1 counted
Source-reviewed industrial observations
No source-reviewed project milestone is published for this undertaking. Any financing-row activity reports below remain attributed observations, not independently reviewed project milestones. Missing evidence does not establish inactivity.
Policy context
These records directly parent the project's finance or designation entries. Their presence does not establish a causal effect on industrial activity.
Designations
Recognition under a scheme confers standing, not money, and is never counted as capital.
19 May 2026
日本国内に、製錬設備を新設することで、レアアースの生産を増強する。
Certified supply-assurance plans for critical minerals (Economic Security Promotion Act) · 2026重要鉱物第1号-1
JP · Refining
Control clauses on the same materials and stages
Clauses whose covered items share a material and a supply-chain stage with this project, with their legal status on 3 Nov 2026. An overlap of items, not a finding that the project is affected.
Record
- Sponsors
- Shin-Etsu Chemical Co., Ltd.Company
- Location
- 日本国内JP
- Stages
- Refining
- Materials
- Rare earth elements (grouped)Tracked materials only
- Latest financing-row activity report
- No physical status recorded
What remains unknown
Gaps describe the available SMPT record. They do not establish that an activity did not occur.
- No project-native source-reviewed industrial milestone is published. Attributed activity in financing histories remains a separate evidence class; no exact milestone date or facility-wide conclusion is inferred.
- Historical amount review is incomplete. Current amounts cannot be read as a time series of earlier commitments.
- Structural links and shared materials do not demonstrate that a government measure caused an industrial outcome.
Evidence
Every project fact names the source that states it.
経済産業省 (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry, Japan)
- Fields supported
- Name · Sponsors · Materials · Location
- Evidence level
- Explicit
- Location in document
- Section 4, plan 2026重要鉱物第1号-1
- Qualification
- "日本国内に、製錬設備を新設することで、レアアースの生産を増強する。"
経済産業省 (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry, Japan)
- Fields supported
- Supply-chain stages
- Evidence level
- Ambiguous
- Location in document
- Section 4, plan 2026重要鉱物第1号-1
- Qualification
- 製錬 (smelting and refining) is read as refining; the list does not say whether separation is included.
| Source | Fields supported | Evidence level | Location |
|---|---|---|---|
| 重要鉱物(経済安全保障推進法に基づく認定供給確保計画) 経済産業省 (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry, Japan) · Source dossier |
| Explicit "日本国内に、製錬設備を新設することで、レアアースの生産を増強する。" | Section 4, plan 2026重要鉱物第1号-1 |
| 重要鉱物(経済安全保障推進法に基づく認定供給確保計画) 経済産業省 (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry, Japan) · Source dossier |
| Ambiguous 製錬 (smelting and refining) is read as refining; the list does not say whether separation is included. | Section 4, plan 2026重要鉱物第1号-1 |
For citations, open a parent policy record for BibTeX, RIS and CSL formats. Cite original documents for claims about government action.
Project registry JSON with sources · Full dataset and download guide
