US Department of Defense, Office of Strategic Capital
fin-us-osc-obbba-2025-lending-authority
Reading this record
What the evidence says — and does not say
- What kind of figure?
- Lending authorityA ceiling on what a lender may lend or guarantee.
- What has happened legally?
- AuthorizedLegal or budgetary authority exists, e.g. an enacted statute or cabinet approval.
- Has money been paid?
- Follow the payment evidenceThis status does not itself establish a cash payment. In particular, a signed contract does not necessarily establish an obligation of funds.
- What does it link to?
- Project attributionNo direct registered project association is coded for this row. A project or facility may still be named in source text; absence of a link is not proof of inactivity.
This value role is not included in SMPT's public-recipient commitment totals. A ceiling, indication, private contribution or project cost is not an additional government award. A financial record alone never independently verifies construction, commissioning or production. Read SMPT's counting and evidence rules.
Amount
As stated “creating up to $100 billion in available loan funds specifically for critical minerals production and related industries and projects”
USD 100,000,000,000 · Up to · Currency read from the issuing government
This figure is a lending authority, not money committed to a recipient. It is never added to commitments or to other roles.
Place in the money chain
A figure is never counted together with a figure it is part of or drawn from.
Rows that are part of or drawn from this one
↳ drawn from this row
MP Materials Corp.
USD150 millionSamarium Project: expansion of heavy rare earth separation, including separation of samarium oxide
↳ drawn from this row
Vulcan Elements and ReElement Technologies
USD700 millionOffice of Strategic Capital Agrees to Joint $700M Conditional Loan Commitment with Vulcan Elements and ReElement Technologies
Record
- Provider
- US Department of Defense, Office of Strategic CapitalOffice of Strategic Capital (OSC)Government body
- Legal authority
- One Big Beautiful Bill Act
- Recipient
- Not stated
- Project
- Not stated
- Facility
- Not stated
- Location
- Not stated
- Stages
- Not statedNot stated
- Materials
- Not stated
Status
Financial and physical progress are separate histories. The last entry is current.
Financial
- Authorizedcurrent
Implementation
No source states the physical status of a project for this row.
Notes
A lending ceiling created by the $500 million credit subsidy, as the OSC release describes it. A ceiling on what may be lent, not money lent; awards drawn from it are recorded separately and never added to it.
Evidence
Every populated field names the source that states it, how directly, and where.
U.S. Department of Defense, Office of Strategic Capital
- Fields supported
- Instrument · Value role · Capital source · Amount · Provider · Legal authority · Status · Programme
- Evidence level
- Explicit
- Location in document
- Third paragraph
| Source | Fields supported | Evidence level | Location |
|---|---|---|---|
| Office of Strategic Capital Announces First Loan Through DoD Agreement With MP Materials to Secure Critical Materials Supply Chain U.S. Department of Defense, Office of Strategic Capital · Source dossier |
| Explicit | Third paragraph |
