Graphite

石墨C

Records coded to Graphite, from Final List of Critical Minerals 2018 (18 May 2018) to the latest event on 9 Oct 2026. Shared stage codes are not findings.

Record as of . Counts are records of one kind at a time and are never added together.

Events
23by event date
Control clauses
7status on 3 Nov 2026
Capital rows
12a count of rows, not of money1 of them is a part of a package
Designations
19standing, not money
Projects
26registry records7 with no designation
Non-binding indications
3listed apart from capital rows
Programmes
3named by these rows
Organizations
36named by these rows
Sources
56cited by these records

Supply chain, stage by stage

Graphite's row of the lattice: what the record places at each stage. Counts are records per stage, never money; a record coded to several stages is counted at each, so the stages have no total. The last column holds records that name Graphite and record no stage, so the lattice cannot place them.

  • Exploration1 commitmentCA
  • Mining2 commitmentsCA1 clauseCN6 designationsEU
  • SeparationNone recorded
  • Processing4 commitmentsAU CA EU4 clausesCN US7 designationsEU
  • Refining1 commitmentAU
  • Component manufacturingNone recorded
  • Recycling1 commitmentCA6 designationsEU
  • Research and development2 commitmentsCA EU
  • Cross-cuttingNone recorded
  • No stage recorded3 clausesCN1 designationEU

Records by stage

Exploration

Capital rows

Control clauses

None

Designationsstanding, not money

None

Mining

Capital rows

Control clauses

  • MOFCOM/GACC Announcement No. 39 (2023)

    In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 1 Dec 2023

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

Designationsstanding, not money

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 4 Jun 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Pobuzhzhya’s Development LLC

    Names: Graphite

    Project registry

    Locations: Ukraine

    Sponsors: Pobuzhzhya’s Development LLC

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 4 Jun 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: GreenRoc Strategic Materials Plc

    Names: Graphite

    Project registry

    Locations: Norway; Greenland

    Sponsors: GreenRoc Strategic Materials Plc

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 4 Jun 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: EVION GROUP NL

    Names: Graphite

    Project registry

    Locations: Madagascar

    Sponsors: EVION GROUP NL

Show all 6
  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Societatea Națională a Sării S.A.

    Names: Graphite

    Project registry

    Locations: Romania

    Sponsors: Societatea Națională a Sării S.A.

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 4 Jun 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Sarytogan Graphite Limited

    Names: Graphite

    Project registry

    Locations: Kazakhstan

    Sponsors: Sarytogan Graphite Limited

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Talga AB

    Names: Graphite

    Project registry

    Locations: Sweden

    Sponsors: Talga AB

Processing

Capital rows

Control clauses

  • MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 58

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (goods, equipment, technology) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • MOFCOM/GACC Announcement No. 39 (2023)

    In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 1 Dec 2023

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

Show all 4
  • Investigation Nos. 701-TA-752 and 731-TA-1730; FR Docs. 2025-00656, 2025-00657, 2026-06488

    Investigation concluded on 3 Nov 2026Investigation concluded, status date 31 Mar 2026

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

  • Investigation Nos. 701-TA-752 and 731-TA-1730; FR Docs. 2025-00656, 2025-00657, 2026-06488

    Investigation concluded on 3 Nov 2026Investigation concluded, status date 31 Mar 2026

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

Designationsstanding, not money

Show all 7
  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Alkeemia S.p.A.

    Names: Graphite

    Project registry

    Locations: Italy

    Sponsors: Alkeemia S.p.A.

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Tokai COBEX savoie

    Names: Graphite

    Project registry

    Locations: France

    Sponsors: Tokai COBEX savoie

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: UP Catalyst

    Names: Graphite

    Project registry

    Locations: Estonia

    Sponsors: UP Catalyst

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Sibanye-Stillwater Sandouville Refinery

    Names: Graphite, Cobalt, Nickel

    Also names: lithium (battery grade), manganese (battery grade), copper, not a tracked material

    Project record also names: lithium (battery grade), manganese (battery grade), copper, not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: France

    Sponsors: Sibanye-Stillwater Sandouville Refinery

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 4 Jun 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: GreenRoc Strategic Materials Plc

    Names: Graphite

    Project registry

    Locations: Norway; Greenland

    Sponsors: GreenRoc Strategic Materials Plc

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Hycamite TCD Technologies Ltd.

    Names: Graphite

    Project registry

    Locations: Finland

    Sponsors: Hycamite TCD Technologies Ltd.

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: NGC Battery Materials GmbH

    Names: Graphite

    Project registry

    Locations: France; Namibia; Germany

    Sponsors: NGC Battery Materials GmbH

Refining

Capital rows

Control clauses

None

Designationsstanding, not money

None

Recycling

Capital rows

Control clauses

None

Designationsstanding, not money

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Back to Battery B.V.

    Names: Graphite, Lithium, Cobalt, Nickel

    Also names: manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project record also names: manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: Netherlands

    Sponsors: Back to Battery B.V.

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: cylib Production I GmbH

    Names: Graphite, Lithium, Cobalt, Nickel

    Also names: bauxite/alumina/aluminium, copper, manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project record also names: bauxite/alumina/aluminium, copper, manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: Germany

    Sponsors: cylib Production I GmbH

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Fortum Battery Recycling Oy

    Names: Graphite, Cobalt, Nickel

    Also names: lithium (battery grade), copper, not a tracked material

    Project record also names: lithium (battery grade), copper, not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: Finland

    Sponsors: Fortum Battery Recycling Oy

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Northvolt Revolt AB

    Names: Graphite, Cobalt, Nickel

    Also names: manganese (battery grade), lithium (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project record also names: manganese (battery grade), lithium (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: Sweden

    Sponsors: Northvolt Revolt AB

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: ORANO Batteries

    Names: Graphite, Cobalt, Nickel

    Also names: lithium (battery grade), manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project record also names: lithium (battery grade), manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: France

    Sponsors: ORANO Batteries

Show all 6
  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: ECO LIFE STYLE S.R.L.

    Names: Graphite, Lithium, Cobalt, Nickel

    Also names: manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project record also names: manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: Romania

    Sponsors: ECO LIFE STYLE S.R.L.

Research and development

Capital rows

Control clauses

None

Designationsstanding, not money

None

No stage recorded

These name Graphite but record no stage, so the lattice cannot place them.

Control clauses

  • MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 58

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    By rule: this kind of clause defines no items of its own, so it has no stage.

  • MOFCOM/GACC Announcement No. 39 (2023)

    In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 1 Dec 2023

    Records no stage.

  • MOFCOM Announcement No. 46 (2024)

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 9 Nov 2025

    By rule: this kind of clause defines no items of its own, so it has no stage.

Designationsstanding, not money

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: PCC Thorion GmbH

    Names: Graphite

    Records no stage.

    Project registry

    Locations: Germany

    Sponsors: PCC Thorion GmbH

None recorded at: Separation, Component manufacturing, Cross-cutting.

A designation is a government's recognition of a project under a named scheme. It records standing, not money, and covers only the stages and materials the designation names. A project is the registry record of the site or venture. Shared stage codes are not a finding.

Registry projects with no designation naming Graphite

Not placed by stage: a project's own stage list is not a designation, and the lattice places only designations.

Capital and controls

Each capital row is shown at its own amount, in its own currency, exactly as the record states it. Nothing here adds up, splits or converts an amount, so a row that names several materials shows its whole amount and a part sits inside its package without being added again.

Capital rows (15 naming Graphite; 14 shown at top level, 1 inside a package)

Public commitments (12)

Committed to a recipient by a government or public enterprise, at the status each row states. A contracted, partially disbursed or disbursed row is binding because an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately by status. A contracted row need not mean funds are obligated or paid, and a partially disbursed row is not fully paid.

  • Provider: European Bank for Reconstruction and DevelopmentRecipient: Sarytogan Graphite Limited

    AUD 5 million

    As stated: AUD 5 million (€3 million)

    Equity. Disbursed, status date 10 Feb 2025.

    Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

    Scope: names Graphite only.

  • Provider: European Bank for Reconstruction and DevelopmentRecipient: Sarytogan Graphite Limited

    AUD 1,396,581.12

    As stated: A$1,396,581.12 in cash received from EBRD on 30 April 2026

    Equity. Disbursed, status date 30 Apr 2026.

    Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

    Scope: names Graphite only.

  • Provider: Natural Resources CanadaRecipient: Cyclic Materials Incorporated, Green Graphite Technologies Inc.

    about CAD 8.4 million

    As stated: almost $8.4 million in investments

    Instrument not specified. Announced, status date 4 Sep 2024.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names 4 materials; the amount is not divided.

    • Part: Instrument not specified, CAD 3.5 million; not added again

      Provider: Natural Resources CanadaRecipient: Green Graphite Technologies Inc.

      CAD 3.5 million

      As stated: NRCan is providing $3.5 million to GGT for this initiative

      Instrument not specified. Contracted, status date 9 Aug 2024.

      Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

      Scope: names Graphite only.

  • Provider: Natural Resources CanadaRecipient: Focus Graphite

    up to CAD 14.1 million

    As stated: a conditionally approved investment of up to $14.1 million from Natural Resources Canada’s Global Partnerships Initiative

    Instrument not specified. Decided, status date 31 Oct 2025.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names Graphite only.

  • Provider: Canada Growth FundRecipient: Nouveau Monde Graphite

    at least CAD 35 million

    As stated: more than $35 million from the Canada Growth Fund

    Equity. Disbursed, status date 20 Dec 2024.

    Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

    Scope: names Graphite only.

  • Provider: National Research Council of CanadaRecipient: Northern Graphite, Rain Carbon Canada

    CAD 860,000

    As stated: $860,000 in funding through the National Research Council of Canada’s Canada–Germany Collaborative Industrial Research and Development Program

    Instrument not specified. Announced, status date 31 Oct 2025.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names Graphite only.

  • Provider: Natural Resources CanadaRecipient: Green Graphite Technologies Inc.

    CAD 4.75 million

    As stated: Funding amount: $4,750,000

    Instrument not specified. Announced, status date 3 Mar 2026.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names Graphite only.

  • Provider: Natural Resources CanadaRecipient: Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources

    CAD 97,000

    As stated: Funding amount: $97,000

    Instrument not specified. Announced, status date 3 Mar 2026.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names Graphite only.

  • Provider: European Investment BankRecipient: UP Catalyst

    EUR 18 million

    As stated: €18,000,000 signed 20 December 2024

    Loan. Contracted, status date 20 Dec 2024.

    Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

    Scope: also covers materials outside the tracked set.

  • Provider: Australian GovernmentRecipient: Constitutional corporations with registered CMPTI processing activities

    No amount stated

    Tax credit. Authorized, status date 14 Feb 2025.

    Not yet binding. Authority as stated: Future Made in Australia (Production Tax Credits and Other Measures) Act 2025 (Act No. 9 of 2025), Schedule 2, inserting Division 419 into the Income Tax Assessment Act 1997.

    Scope: names 13 materials; the amount is not divided.

  • Provider: Government of CanadaRecipient: Nouveau Monde Graphite

    No amount stated

    Offtake. Contracted, status date 13 May 2026.

    Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

    Scope: names Graphite only.

Non-binding indications (3)

Non-binding letters of intent or interest that name an amount: possible support, not a commitment, capital or a backer.

  • Provider: Export Development CanadaRecipient: Nouveau Monde Graphite

    up to USD 430 million

    As stated: a letter of interest for up to US$430 million from Export Development Canada

    Instrument not specified. Announced, date not stated.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names Graphite only.

  • Provider: Export Development CanadaRecipient: Vianode

    up to USD 500 million

    As stated: a letter of interest for up to US$500 million in potential financing from Export Development Canada

    Instrument not specified. Announced, date not stated.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names Graphite only.

  • Provider: Government of GermanyRecipient: Vianode

    up to USD 300 million

    As stated: a letter of interest from the German government for the potential support of the project with an export credit guarantee amount of up to US$300 million

    Loan guarantee. Announced, date not stated.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names Graphite only.

Control clauses (7, status on 3 Nov 2026)

Explore capital rows naming Graphite and control clauses naming Graphite: all rows naming Graphite, parts and options listed separately.

Timeline

One dot for each event, placed at its event date as coded. Capital-row and clause status dates are not plotted: a status with no date has no honest position, and an event date is never used in its place.

Event date (as coded)Gold rule: as of 3 Nov 2026

Dates stated after the as-of: 10 Nov 2026 (control clause ctl-cn-58-2025-customs-declaration); 10 Nov 2026 (control clause ctl-cn-58-2025-graphite-anode-licensing); 27 Nov 2026 (control clause ctl-cn-us-2024-graphite-end-use-review).

Newest events

Events (23)

Policy status across actors

Where each actor's coded measures on this material currently stand.

CNChinaActiveSuspended
USUnited StatesIn forceEndedSuperseded
EUEuropean UnionUnclearActiveIn force
AUAustraliaIn force
CACanadaActiveIn force
GBUnited KingdomIn forceSuperseded

Editorial notes (not coded records)

Written summaries kept from the earlier page, not coded records. A summary appears only if it passed review against the records above; the downstream-use list is exempt from that review and has not been checked against a source.

Typical downstream uses

  • Lithium-ion battery anodes
  • Refractories
  • Steelmaking