Recycling of Graphite from Secondary Sources for Use in Lithium-Ion Batteries
Kingston, Ontario
prj-ca-ggt-graphite-recycling-pilot
What does the record establish?
This registered undertaking is linked below to its financial instruments, policy context and available industrial evidence.
Financial standing
1 directly linked instruments. Recorded financial states: Contracted. A commitment, a payment and a project cost remain separate.
Inspect instruments and termsLegal and policy context
1 parent policy records; 0 project designations. Designation confers standing, not finance. Material and stage overlaps with controls do not establish a restriction on this project.
Read the policy recordsIndustrial evidence
No source-reviewed project milestone is published in this corpus. Financing records may still contain attributed activity reports; this gap does not establish inactivity.
See evidence gapsFinancial evidence and chronology
Each instrument keeps its own financial history. These dates describe financial states, not construction or production. Amounts are the current recorded terms, not historical amounts at every date below.
Instrument not specified · Natural Resources Canada (Critical Minerals Research, Development and Demonstration program)NRCan is providing $3.5 million to GGT for this initiative · Contracted · Commitment
- Provider organizations
- Natural Resources Canada
- Recipient
- Green Graphite Technologies Inc.Green Graphite Technologies Inc.
- Legal authority as stated
- Not stated in this financial record
· Contracted
The Government of Canada disclosure records agreement CMRDD2-039 with an agreement period beginning 9 August 2024.
Government of Canada Open Government Portal / Natural Resources Canada
No additional structured terms are recorded. See the full instrument for its evidence and qualifications.
The 4 September 2024 release publicized the C$3.5 million support, while the official grants-and-contributions disclosure shows agreement CMRDD2-039 running from 9 August 2024 through 31 March 2026. The standing CMRDD page still describes the project as launched in 2024 and expected to be completed by 2026; the 2026 follow-up found no primary source that cleanly ties a later physical milestone to this exact GraphRenew CMRDD project, so no implementation status is inferred.
Full financial instrument, conditions and field-level evidenceCapital stack
One layer per value role. Only committed public money, and joint-vehicle money apart from it, is summed, per currency; everything else is listed. There is no total across layers.
Public commitments
1 row · summed per currencyCommitted to a recipient by a government or public enterprise, at the status each row states. A contracted, partially disbursed or disbursed row is binding because an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately by status. A contracted row need not mean funds are obligated or paid, and a partially disbursed row is not fully paid. Summed per currency and per instrument, never across either; a part is never added to its package.
CAD
Instrument not specified1 row
Listed, not summed: the sources name no instrument the tracker's vocabulary covers.
1 counted
Source-reviewed industrial observations
No source-reviewed project milestone is published for this undertaking. Any financing-row activity reports below remain attributed observations, not independently reviewed project milestones. Missing evidence does not establish inactivity.
Policy context
These records directly parent the project's finance or designation entries. Their presence does not establish a causal effect on industrial activity.
4 Sep 2024 · Active
Government of Canada Supporting Critical Minerals Processing in Kingston
Natural Resources Canada
Control clauses on the same materials and stages
Clauses whose covered items share a material and a supply-chain stage with this project, with their legal status on 3 Nov 2026. An overlap of items, not a finding that the project is affected.
No coded control clause covers items at this project's materials and stages.
Record
- Sponsors
- Green Graphite Technologies Inc.Company
- Location
- Kingston, OntarioCA
- Stages
- Recycling
- Materials
- GraphiteTracked materials only
- Latest financing-row activity report
- No physical status recorded
What remains unknown
Gaps describe the available SMPT record. They do not establish that an activity did not occur.
- No project-native source-reviewed industrial milestone is published. Attributed activity in financing histories remains a separate evidence class; no exact milestone date or facility-wide conclusion is inferred.
- Historical amount review is incomplete. Current amounts cannot be read as a time series of earlier commitments.
- Structural links and shared materials do not demonstrate that a government measure caused an industrial outcome.
Evidence
Every project fact names the source that states it.
Critical Minerals Research, Development and Demonstration Program
Natural Resources Canada
- Fields supported
- Name · Sponsors · Location · Supply-chain stages · Materials
- Evidence level
- Explicit
- Location in document
- Funded Projects
- Qualification
- "through a pilot plant project"; organization: Green Graphite Technologies Inc; location: Kingston, Ontario; status: launched in 2024, expected to be completed by 2026.
| Source | Fields supported | Evidence level | Location |
|---|---|---|---|
| Critical Minerals Research, Development and Demonstration Program Natural Resources Canada · Source dossier |
| Explicit "through a pilot plant project"; organization: Green Graphite Technologies Inc; location: Kingston, Ontario; status: launched in 2024, expected to be completed by 2026. | Funded Projects |
For citations, open a parent policy record for BibTeX, RIS and CSL formats. Cite original documents for claims about government action.
Project registry JSON with sources · Full dataset and download guide
