Nouveau Monde Graphite
Matawinie Mine
fin-ca-g7-2025-nmg-offtake
Reading this record
What the evidence says — and does not say
- What kind of figure?
- CommitmentMoney, or a money-like promise, committed to a named recipient or project. The only role ever summed.
- What has happened legally?
- ContractedA binding agreement has been executed. Not a payment, and not necessarily an obligation of funds: an agreement can leave that to a later step.
- Has money been paid?
- Follow the payment evidenceThis status does not itself establish a cash payment. In particular, a signed contract does not necessarily establish an obligation of funds.
- What does it link to?
- Project attributionOne registered project is linked directly to this row. The link alone does not prove the amount was paid or that the project advanced.
This is a commitment role, but the financial status still determines legal standing and payment. Funding and verified industrial outcomes remain separate. A financial record alone never independently verifies construction, commissioning or production. Read SMPT's counting and evidence rules.
Amount
Record
- Provider
- Government of CanadaGovernment of CanadaGovernment body
- Legal authority
- Not stated
- Programme
- None named
- Recipient
- Nouveau Monde GraphiteNouveau Monde GraphiteCompany
- Project
- Matawinie MineMatawinie Mine capital stack →
- Facility
- Not stated
- Location
- Not stated
- Stages
- MiningSingle stage
- Materials
- GraphiteTracked materials only
Status
Financial and physical progress are separate histories. The last entry is current.
Financial
- Announced
"offtake arrangements with the Government of Canada, Panasonic (Japan), and Traxys (Luxembourg)"
- Contractedcurrent
NMG reports signing the definitive binding offtake and marketing agreements with Canada. No payment or delivery is evidenced by signing.
Implementation
- Constructioncurrent
NMG dates the start of Phase 2 Matawinie Mine construction to April 13, 2026 and reports ongoing civil works. This physical milestone is separate from the May 15 FID and May 19 ceremony; it does not state production or financing disbursement.
Terms
Operative terms as the source words them.
| Term | Figure | As stated |
|---|---|---|
| Quantity covenant | 30,000 tonnes per annum | “30,000 tonnes per annum”Graphite concentrate from the Phase 2 Matawinie Mine under the definitive agreement.Nouveau Monde Graphite / SEC |
| Duration | 7 years | “seven-year period as of the start of commercial production”The term begins at the start of commercial production, not the agreement signing date; no calendar end date is inferred.Nouveau Monde Graphite / SEC |
Notes
Definitive binding Government of Canada offtake signed May 13, 2026 for 30,000 tonnes per annum over seven years from commercial production. Take-or-pay at a fixed North American market price with an upside-sharing resale mechanism; no numeric price is disclosed. No payment or shipment is inferred. The Panasonic and Traxys offtakes are private and the Government of Japan investment intention is not a commitment; none is recorded as a row.
Evidence
Every populated field names the source that states it, how directly, and where.
Natural Resources Canada
- Fields supported
- Instrument · Value role · Capital source · Provider · Recipient · Status · Project · Materials · Supply-chain stages
- Evidence level
- Explicit
- Location in document
- First paragraph of the list
Nouveau Monde Graphite / SEC
- Fields supported
- Instrument · Provider · Recipient · Project · Materials · Supply-chain stages · Status · Terms
- Evidence level
- Explicit
- Location in document
- Government of Canada Offtake Agreement
- Qualification
- NMG reports the definitive binding agreement signed May 13, 2026, its annual volume, take-or-pay structure and seven-year term beginning with commercial production.
Management Discussion & Analysis for the six-month period ended June 30, 2026
Nouveau Monde Graphite / SEC
- Fields supported
- Project · Status
- Evidence level
- Explicit
- Location in document
- Matawinie Mine Project (Phase 2), pages 9–10
- Qualification
- NMG reports construction began April 13, 2026. Applies to the Phase 2 mine only; demonstration-plant activity and the separately financed Bécancour plant are not mine commercial operation.
| Source | Fields supported | Evidence level | Location |
|---|---|---|---|
| Backgrounder: Canada unlocks 26 new investments and partnerships with 9 allied countries to secure critical minerals supply chains Natural Resources Canada · Source dossier |
| Explicit | First paragraph of the list |
| NMG Announces Results of its Annual General and Special Meeting of Shareholders and Signature of a Definitive Binding Offtake Agreement with the Government of Canada Nouveau Monde Graphite / SEC · Source dossier |
| Explicit NMG reports the definitive binding agreement signed May 13, 2026, its annual volume, take-or-pay structure and seven-year term beginning with commercial production. | Government of Canada Offtake Agreement |
| Management Discussion & Analysis for the six-month period ended June 30, 2026 Nouveau Monde Graphite / SEC · Source dossier |
| Explicit NMG reports construction began April 13, 2026. Applies to the Phase 2 mine only; demonstration-plant activity and the separately financed Bécancour plant are not mine commercial operation. | Matawinie Mine Project (Phase 2), pages 9–10 |
