Nouveau Monde Graphite
fin-ca-g7-2025-nmg-canada-growth-fund
Reading this record
What the evidence says — and does not say
- What kind of figure?
- CommitmentMoney, or a money-like promise, committed to a named recipient or project. The only role ever summed.
- What has happened legally?
- DisbursedThe money has been paid out.
- Has money been paid?
- Follow the payment evidenceThe source-linked current status records disbursement. Check the cited history for amount, timing and scope; it does not establish physical construction.
- What does it link to?
- Project attributionOne registered project is linked directly to this row. The link alone does not prove the amount was paid or that the project advanced.
This is a commitment role, but the financial status still determines legal standing and payment. Funding and verified industrial outcomes remain separate. A financial record alone never independently verifies construction, commissioning or production. Read SMPT's counting and evidence rules.
Amount
As stated “more than $35 million from the Canada Growth Fund”
CAD 35,000,000 · At least · Currency read from the issuing government
Record
- Provider
- Canada Growth FundCanada Growth FundPublic financier
- Legal authority
- Not stated
- Programme
- None named
- Recipient
- Nouveau Monde GraphiteNouveau Monde GraphiteCompany
- Project
- Matawinie Mine capital stack →
- Facility
- Not stated
- Location
- Not stated
- Stages
- MiningSingle stage
- Materials
- GraphiteTracked materials only
Status
Financial and physical progress are separate histories. The last entry is current.
Financial
- Not stated
Named among the investments the Alliance announcement "builds on"; the backgrounder does not state their stage or date.
- Contracted
CGF reports a subscription agreement dated December 16, 2024.
- Disbursedcurrent
CGF reports purchasing NMG shares and warrants for US$25 million in the private placement on December 20, 2024. This is the original investment, not the additional 2026 equity round.
Implementation
- Constructioncurrent
NMG dates the start of Phase 2 Matawinie Mine construction to April 13, 2026 and reports ongoing civil works. This physical milestone is separate from the May 15 FID and May 19 ceremony; it does not state production or financing disbursement.
Notes
Earlier CGF equity investment cited by the Alliance backgrounder; now identified and dated from the investor filing. The original more-than-C$35-million amount remains as stated by NRCan. The separate 2026 CGF equity investment is additional capital and is not substituted into this row. The existing Matawinie link does not allocate all corporate investment proceeds exclusively to the mine.
Evidence
Every populated field names the source that states it, how directly, and where.
Natural Resources Canada
- Fields supported
- Value role · Capital source · Amount · Provider · Recipient · Status · Project · Materials
- Evidence level
- Explicit
- Location in document
- First paragraph of the list
Natural Resources Canada
- Fields supported
- Supply-chain stages
- Evidence level
- Ambiguous
- Location in document
- First paragraph of the list
- Qualification
- The investment supports the company's mine-to-anode plan; coded to the mine it names.
Schedule 13D: Nouveau Monde Graphite Inc. — Canada Growth Fund Inc.
Canada Growth Fund Inc. / SEC
- Fields supported
- Instrument · Provider · Recipient · Status
- Evidence level
- Explicit
- Location in document
- Schedule 13D, Items 3 and 4
- Qualification
- CGF reports a cash-funded share-and-warrant purchase, the subscription agreement date and the completed private placement.
Prime Minister Carney breaks ground on Nouveau Monde Graphite’s Matawinie Mine
Prime Minister of Canada
- Fields supported
- Amount · Provider · Recipient
- Evidence level
- Explicit
- Location in document
- Quick facts: previous Canada Growth Fund investment
- Qualification
- Identifies the earlier December 2024 CGF investment as C$35.6 million, distinct from the additional 2026 investment. The original NRCan lower-bound CAD amount is retained; no currency conversion is made.
Management Discussion & Analysis for the six-month period ended June 30, 2026
Nouveau Monde Graphite / SEC
- Fields supported
- Project · Status
- Evidence level
- Explicit
- Location in document
- Matawinie Mine Project (Phase 2), pages 9–10
- Qualification
- NMG reports construction began April 13, 2026. Applies to the Phase 2 mine only; demonstration-plant activity and the separately financed Bécancour plant are not mine commercial operation.
| Source | Fields supported | Evidence level | Location |
|---|---|---|---|
| Backgrounder: Canada unlocks 26 new investments and partnerships with 9 allied countries to secure critical minerals supply chains Natural Resources Canada · Source dossier |
| Explicit | First paragraph of the list |
| Backgrounder: Canada unlocks 26 new investments and partnerships with 9 allied countries to secure critical minerals supply chains Natural Resources Canada · Source dossier |
| Ambiguous The investment supports the company's mine-to-anode plan; coded to the mine it names. | First paragraph of the list |
| Schedule 13D: Nouveau Monde Graphite Inc. — Canada Growth Fund Inc. Canada Growth Fund Inc. / SEC · Source dossier |
| Explicit CGF reports a cash-funded share-and-warrant purchase, the subscription agreement date and the completed private placement. | Schedule 13D, Items 3 and 4 |
| Prime Minister Carney breaks ground on Nouveau Monde Graphite’s Matawinie Mine Prime Minister of Canada · Source dossier |
| Explicit Identifies the earlier December 2024 CGF investment as C$35.6 million, distinct from the additional 2026 investment. The original NRCan lower-bound CAD amount is retained; no currency conversion is made. | Quick facts: previous Canada Growth Fund investment |
| Management Discussion & Analysis for the six-month period ended June 30, 2026 Nouveau Monde Graphite / SEC · Source dossier |
| Explicit NMG reports construction began April 13, 2026. Applies to the Phase 2 mine only; demonstration-plant activity and the separately financed Bécancour plant are not mine commercial operation. | Matawinie Mine Project (Phase 2), pages 9–10 |
