← Capital
EUEuropean UnionEuropean Investment Bank (supported by InvestEU)

UP CATALYST OU

UP CATALYST GREEN GRAPHITE (IEU GT2): Gen 4 reactors and R&D

CommitmentLoanPublic enterpriseContracted

fin-eu-eib-2025-up-catalyst-loan

Reading this record

What the evidence says — and does not say

What kind of figure?
CommitmentMoney, or a money-like promise, committed to a named recipient or project. The only role ever summed.
What has happened legally?
ContractedA binding agreement has been executed. Not a payment, and not necessarily an obligation of funds: an agreement can leave that to a later step.
Has money been paid?
Follow the payment evidenceThis status does not itself establish a cash payment. In particular, a signed contract does not necessarily establish an obligation of funds.
What does it link to?
Project attributionNo direct registered project association is coded for this row. A project or facility may still be named in source text; absence of a link is not proof of inactivity.

This is a commitment role, but the financial status still determines legal standing and payment. Funding and verified industrial outcomes remain separate. A financial record alone never independently verifies construction, commissioning or production. Read SMPT's counting and evidence rules.

Amount

EUR18 million

As stated “€18,000,000 signed 20 December 2024”

EUR 18,000,000 · Exact · Currency stated in the source

Record

Provider
European Investment Bank (supported by InvestEU)European Investment BankPublic financier
Legal authority
Not stated
Programme
None named
Recipient
UP CATALYST OUUP CatalystCompany
Project
UP CATALYST GREEN GRAPHITE (IEU GT2): Gen 4 reactors and R&D
Facility
Not stated
Location
EstoniaEE
Stages
Processing, Research and developmentSeveral stages, split not stated
Materials
GraphiteAlso names: multi-walled carbon nanotubes (MWCNTs)Includes untracked materials

Status

Financial and physical progress are separate histories. The last entry is current.

Financial

  1. Contractedcurrent

    EIB project 20240127 lists €18,000,000 signed on 20 December 2024. This establishes signature, not disbursement.

    European Investment Bank

Implementation

No source states the physical status of a project for this row.

Notes

€18M of EIB venture debt signed in December 2024 for Up Catalyst's Generation 4 synthetic graphite and MWCNT demonstrator reactors and corporate R&D. The EIB's approximately €46M total project cost is not a second bank commitment. Neither drawdown nor construction of the Gen 4 reactors is established. The 2025 RESourceEU event retrospectively cites this earlier financing. The CRMA-designated CO2Graphite project (prj-ee-co2graphite) shares promoter and material, but reviewed primary sources do not show that the entire EIB financing is allocable to that designation; projectId is intentionally null. Financing also covers untracked MWCNTs and R&D, with no allocation breakdown. The same RESourceEU passage mentions a separate earlier financing: Keliber's EIB loan is independently recorded as fin-eu-eib-2024-keliber-loan, not combined with this UP Catalyst facility.

Evidence

Every populated field names the source that states it, how directly, and where.

  1. UP CATALYST GREEN GRAPHITE (IEU GT2) — EIB project 20240127 signature record

    European Investment Bank

    Fields supported
    Instrument · Value role · Capital source · Amount · Provider · Recipient · Project · Location · Supply-chain stages · Materials · Status
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Signature(s); Summary sheet; Description; Additionality and Impact
    Qualification
    The EIB record gives the exact signed amount/date, promoter UP CATALYST OU, venture-debt form, InvestEU backing and two Gen 4 graphite/MWCNT reactors plus R&D; it shows no drawdown.
    View source dossier →
  2. RESourceEU Action Plan: Accelerating our critical raw materials strategy to adapt to a new reality (COM(2025) 945 final)

    European Commission

    Fields supported
    Provider · Recipient · Materials
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Section 2.1, third paragraph
    Qualification
    The December 2025 plan retrospectively mentions the EIB financing and the company's CRMA Strategic Project; it does not establish full allocation of the 2024 loan to CO2Graphite.
    View source dossier →