← Capital
CACanadaNatural Resources Canada (Critical Minerals Research, Development and Demonstration program)

Green Graphite Technologies Inc.

Demonstrating GraphRenew technology to recover graphite from secondary sources and upgrade it to lithium-ion battery-grade graphite

CommitmentInstrument not specifiedPublicContracted

fin-ca-cmrdd-2024-green-graphite

Reading this record

What the evidence says — and does not say

What kind of figure?
CommitmentMoney, or a money-like promise, committed to a named recipient or project. The only role ever summed.
What has happened legally?
ContractedA binding agreement has been executed. Not a payment, and not necessarily an obligation of funds: an agreement can leave that to a later step.
Has money been paid?
Follow the payment evidenceThis status does not itself establish a cash payment. In particular, a signed contract does not necessarily establish an obligation of funds.
What does it link to?
Project attributionOne registered project is linked directly to this row. The link alone does not prove the amount was paid or that the project advanced.

This is a commitment role, but the financial status still determines legal standing and payment. Funding and verified industrial outcomes remain separate. A financial record alone never independently verifies construction, commissioning or production. Read SMPT's counting and evidence rules.

Amount

CAD3.5 million

As stated “NRCan is providing $3.5 million to GGT for this initiative”

CAD 3,500,000 · Exact · Currency read from the issuing government

Place in the money chain

A figure is never counted together with a figure it is part of or drawn from.

Record

Provider
Natural Resources Canada (Critical Minerals Research, Development and Demonstration program)Natural Resources CanadaGovernment body
Legal authority
Not stated
Recipient
Green Graphite Technologies Inc.Green Graphite Technologies Inc.Company
Project
Demonstrating GraphRenew technology to recover graphite from secondary sources and upgrade it to lithium-ion battery-grade graphiteRecycling of Graphite from Secondary Sources for Use in Lithium-Ion Batteries capital stack →
Facility
Not stated
Location
Not stated
Stages
RecyclingSingle stage
Materials
GraphiteTracked materials only

Status

Financial and physical progress are separate histories. The last entry is current.

Financial

  1. Contractedcurrent

    The Government of Canada disclosure records agreement CMRDD2-039 with an agreement period beginning 9 August 2024.

    Government of Canada Open Government Portal / Natural Resources Canada

Implementation

No source states the physical status of a project for this row.

Notes

The 4 September 2024 release publicized the C$3.5 million support, while the official grants-and-contributions disclosure shows agreement CMRDD2-039 running from 9 August 2024 through 31 March 2026. The standing CMRDD page still describes the project as launched in 2024 and expected to be completed by 2026; the 2026 follow-up found no primary source that cleanly ties a later physical milestone to this exact GraphRenew CMRDD project, so no implementation status is inferred.

Evidence

Every populated field names the source that states it, how directly, and where.

  1. Government of Canada Supporting Critical Minerals Processing in Kingston

    Natural Resources Canada

    Fields supported
    Instrument · Value role · Capital source · Amount · Provider · Recipient · Project · Related commitments · Supply-chain stages · Materials · Status · Programme
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Paragraph on Green Graphite Technologies
    View source dossier →
  2. Grant and contribution record — Recycling of Graphite from Secondary Sources for Use in Lithium-Ion Batteries

    Government of Canada Open Government Portal / Natural Resources Canada

    Fields supported
    Status
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Agreement number CMRDD2-039; Agreement Date
    Qualification
    Official grant disclosure establishes the binding agreement and its 9 August 2024 start date.
    View source dossier →