← Projects
CACanada

Battery-Grade Graphite: A Canadian Low-GHG Solution From Regolith Resources

Nelson, British Columbia; Mississauga, Ontario

prj-ca-ggt-regolith-graphite

What does the record establish?

The current NRCan EIP profile lists the project as Active, with a C$4,750,000 agreement value and C$12,262,850 project total; it gives no payment or construction date. GGT's 11 August 2026 official post says its Mississauga graphite-purification demonstration facility was entering final-stage commissioning. The post does not identify the NRCan award by name, so the linkage is recorded with that limitation; no commercial operation or project completion is inferred. Review on 3 October 2026 found no later project-specific primary disclosure.

Financial standing

1 directly linked instruments. Recorded financial states: Announced. A commitment, a payment and a project cost remain separate.

Inspect instruments and terms

Legal and policy context

1 parent policy records; 0 project designations. Designation confers standing, not finance. Material and stage overlaps with controls do not establish a restriction on this project.

Read the policy records

Industrial evidence

No source-reviewed project milestone is published in this corpus. Financing records may still contain attributed activity reports; this gap does not establish inactivity.

See evidence gaps

Financial evidence and chronology

Each instrument keeps its own financial history. These dates describe financial states, not construction or production. Amounts are the current recorded terms, not historical amounts at every date below.

Instrument not specified · Natural Resources Canada (Energy Innovation Program)Funding amount: $4,750,000 · Announced · Commitment
Provider organizations
Natural Resources Canada
Recipient
Green Graphite Technologies Inc. (GGT)Green Graphite Technologies Inc.
Legal authority as stated
Not stated in this financial record
  1. · Announced

    Announced at PDAC as part of "up to $165.2 million for 22 Canadian projects".

    Natural Resources Canada

No additional structured terms are recorded. See the full instrument for its evidence and qualifications.

NRCan's 3 March 2026 announcement records the C$4,750,000 EIP award as announced. Its current project profile lists the project as Active and gives a C$12,262,850 project total, but does not disclose a signed agreement date, disbursement or payment. On 11 August 2026, Green Graphite Technologies said its Mississauga graphite-purification demonstration facility was entering the final stages of commissioning. The location and process match the Regolith project record; the company post does not name the EIP award, so physical status is limited to commissioning and is not treated as grant payment, commercial operation or completion.

Full financial instrument, conditions and field-level evidence

Capital stack

One layer per value role. Only committed public money, and joint-vehicle money apart from it, is summed, per currency; everything else is listed. There is no total across layers.

Public commitments

1 row · summed per currency

Committed to a recipient by a government or public enterprise, at the status each row states. A contracted, partially disbursed or disbursed row is binding because an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately by status. A contracted row need not mean funds are obligated or paid, and a partially disbursed row is not fully paid. Summed per currency and per instrument, never across either; a part is never added to its package.

CAD

Instrument not specified1 row

Listed, not summed: the sources name no instrument the tracker's vocabulary covers.

1 counted

Source-reviewed industrial observations

No source-reviewed project milestone is published for this undertaking. Any financing-row activity reports below remain attributed observations, not independently reviewed project milestones. Missing evidence does not establish inactivity.

Policy context

These records directly parent the project's finance or designation entries. Their presence does not establish a causal effect on industrial activity.

Control clauses on the same materials and stages

Clauses whose covered items share a material and a supply-chain stage with this project, with their legal status on 3 Nov 2026. An overlap of items, not a finding that the project is affected.

Record

Location
Nelson, British ColumbiaCAMississauga, OntarioCA
Stages
Processing
Materials
GraphiteTracked materials only
Programmes
None recorded
Latest financing-row activity report
Commissioning11 Aug 2026Green Graphite Technologies Inc.

What remains unknown

Gaps describe the available SMPT record. They do not establish that an activity did not occur.

  • No project-native source-reviewed industrial milestone is published. Attributed activity in financing histories remains a separate evidence class; no exact milestone date or facility-wide conclusion is inferred.
  • Historical amount review is incomplete. Current amounts cannot be read as a time series of earlier commitments.
  • Structural links and shared materials do not demonstrate that a government measure caused an industrial outcome.

Evidence

Every project fact names the source that states it.

  1. Backgrounder: Government of Canada invests to unlock Canada’s critical minerals advantage

    Natural Resources Canada

    Fields supported
    Name · Sponsors · Materials · Location
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Energy Innovation Program: Green Graphite Technologies entry
    View source dossier →
  2. Backgrounder: Government of Canada invests to unlock Canada’s critical minerals advantage

    Natural Resources Canada

    Fields supported
    Supply-chain stages
    Evidence level
    Ambiguous
    Location in document
    Energy Innovation Program: Green Graphite Technologies entry
    Qualification
    "upgrade near-surface graphite for use in lithium-ion batteries", read as processing.
    View source dossier →
  3. Battery-Grade Graphite: A Canadian Low-GHG Solution from Regolith Resources

    Natural Resources Canada

    Fields supported
    Name · Sponsors · Location · Supply-chain stages · Materials
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Project profile: Lead Proponent, Partners, Location and Project Objectives
    Qualification
    The current NRCan EIP profile confirms the project name, Green Graphite Technologies as lead proponent, Weaver Energy as partner, BC/ON locations and the high-purity graphite processing objective.
    View source dossier →
  4. Our Mississauga graphite purification demonstration facility is entering the final stages of commissioning.

    Green Graphite Technologies Inc.

    Fields supported
    Location
    Evidence level
    Ambiguous
    Location in document
    Opening sentence
    Qualification
    GGT's official post identifies a Mississauga graphite-purification demonstration facility entering final-stage commissioning. This corroborates activity at the project's recorded Mississauga location, but the post does not use the Regolith project title.
    View source dossier →

For citations, open a parent policy record for BibTeX, RIS and CSL formats. Cite original documents for claims about government action.

Project registry JSON with sources · Full dataset and download guide