Lithium

锂Li

Records coded to Lithium, from Final List of Critical Minerals 2018 (18 May 2018) to the latest event on 9 Oct 2026. Shared stage codes are not findings.

Record as of . Counts are records of one kind at a time and are never added together.

Events
24by event date
Control clauses
4status on 3 Nov 2026
Capital rows
10a count of rows, not of money0 of them are parts of a package
Designations
8standing, not money
Projects
16registry records8 with no designation
Programmes
3named by these rows
Organizations
21named by these rows
Sources
54cited by these records

Supply chain, stage by stage

Lithium's row of the lattice: what the record places at each stage. Counts are records per stage, never money; a record coded to several stages is counted at each, so the stages have no total. The last column holds records that name Lithium and record no stage, so the lattice cannot place them.

  • Exploration2 commitmentsCA
  • Mining1 commitmentEU1 designationEU
  • SeparationNone recorded
  • Processing7 commitmentsAU CA EU US1 designationEU
  • Refining1 commitmentAU
  • Component manufacturing1 clauseCN
  • Recycling1 commitmentCA3 designationsEU
  • Research and developmentNone recorded
  • Cross-cuttingNone recorded
  • No stage recorded3 clausesCA4 designationsEU

Records by stage

Exploration

Capital rows

Control clauses

None

Designationsstanding, not money

None

Mining

Capital rows

Control clauses

None

Designationsstanding, not money

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Keliber Technology Oy

    Names: Lithium

    Project registry

    Locations: Finland

    Sponsors: Keliber Oy, Keliber Technology Oy

Processing

Capital rows

Show all 7
  • about USD 2.23 billion

    As stated: $2.23 billion amended expected loan amount ($1.97 billion principal plus approximately $256 million capitalized interest)

    Loan. Partially disbursed, status date 20 Oct 2025.

Control clauses

None

Designationsstanding, not money

Show all 1
  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Keliber Technology Oy

    Names: Lithium

    Project registry

    Locations: Finland

    Sponsors: Keliber Oy, Keliber Technology Oy

Refining

Capital rows

Control clauses

None

Designationsstanding, not money

None

Component manufacturing

Capital rows

None

Control clauses

  • MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 58

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (goods, equipment, technology) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

Designationsstanding, not money

None

Recycling

Capital rows

Control clauses

None

Designationsstanding, not money

No stage recorded

These name Lithium but record no stage, so the lattice cannot place them.

Control clauses

  • In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 2 Nov 2022

    By rule: this kind of clause defines no items of its own, so it has no stage.

  • In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 2 Nov 2022

    By rule: this kind of clause defines no items of its own, so it has no stage.

  • In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 2 Nov 2022

    By rule: this kind of clause defines no items of its own, so it has no stage.

Designationsstanding, not money

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Neptune Energy Innovations GmbH

    Names: Lithium

    Records no stage.

    Project registry

    Locations: Germany

    Sponsors: Neptune Energy Innovations GmbH

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: AMG Lithium GmbH

    Names: Lithium

    Records no stage.

    Project registry

    Locations: Germany

    Sponsors: AMG Lithium GmbH

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Lithium de France

    Names: Lithium

    Records no stage.

    Project registry

    Locations: France

    Sponsors: Lithium de France

Show all 4
  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Zinnwald Lithium Plc

    Names: Lithium

    Records no stage.

    Project registry

    Locations: Germany

    Sponsors: Zinnwald Lithium Plc

None recorded at: Separation, Research and development, Cross-cutting.

A designation is a government's recognition of a project under a named scheme. It records standing, not money, and covers only the stages and materials the designation names. A project is the registry record of the site or venture. Shared stage codes are not a finding.

Registry projects with no designation naming Lithium

Not placed by stage: a project's own stage list is not a designation, and the lattice places only designations.

Capital and controls

Each capital row is shown at its own amount, in its own currency, exactly as the record states it. Nothing here adds up, splits or converts an amount, so a row that names several materials shows its whole amount and a part sits inside its package without being added again.

Capital rows (10 naming Lithium; 10 shown at top level, 0 inside a package)

Public commitments (10)

Committed to a recipient by a government or public enterprise, at the status each row states. A contracted, partially disbursed or disbursed row is binding because an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately by status. A contracted row need not mean funds are obligated or paid, and a partially disbursed row is not fully paid.

  • Provider: Natural Resources CanadaRecipient: NORAM Electrolysis Systems Inc.

    CAD 4.5 million

    As stated: $4,500,000 investment

    Instrument not specified. Contracted, status date 8 Jul 2024.

    Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

    Scope: names Lithium only.

  • Provider: Natural Resources CanadaRecipient: Saltworks Technologies Inc.

    CAD 4.9375 million

    As stated: $4,937,500 investment

    Instrument not specified. Announced, status date 11 Jul 2024.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names Lithium only.

  • Provider: National Research Council of CanadaRecipient: Telescope Innovations Corp.

    CAD 319,200

    As stated: Agreement Value: $319,200.00

    Instrument not specified. Contracted, status date 1 Sep 2024.

    Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

    Scope: names Lithium only.

  • Provider: Natural Resources CanadaRecipient: Telescope Innovations Corp.

    CAD 3.039344 million

    As stated: Amount funded: $3,039,344

    Instrument not specified. Decided, status date 31 Oct 2025.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names Lithium only.

  • Provider: Natural Resources CanadaRecipient: New Brunswick Geological Survey

    CAD 172,000

    As stated: Funding amount: $172,000

    Instrument not specified. Announced, status date 3 Mar 2026.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names 2 materials; the amount is not divided.

  • Provider: Natural Resources CanadaRecipient: New Brunswick Geological Survey

    CAD 232,600

    As stated: Funding amount: $232,600

    Instrument not specified. Announced, status date 3 Mar 2026.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names 2 materials; the amount is not divided.

  • Provider: European Investment BankRecipient: Keliber Technology Oy

    EUR 150 million

    As stated: €150 million direct loan

    Loan. Contracted, status date 20 Aug 2024.

    Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

    Scope: names Lithium only.

  • Provider: U.S. Department of EnergyRecipient: Ioneer Rhyolite Ridge LLC

    USD 996 million

    As stated: $996 million loan guarantee ($968 million principal plus $28 million capitalized interest)

    Loan guarantee. Contracted, status date 17 Jan 2025.

    Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately. Authority as stated: Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007, Section 136 — Advanced Technology Vehicles Manufacturing Loan Program.

    Scope: names Lithium only.

  • Provider: U.S. Department of EnergyRecipient: Lithium Nevada LLC

    about USD 2.23 billion

    As stated: $2.23 billion amended expected loan amount ($1.97 billion principal plus approximately $256 million capitalized interest)

    Loan. Partially disbursed, status date 20 Oct 2025.

    Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately. Authority as stated: Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 — Advanced Technology Vehicles Manufacturing (ATVM) Loan Program.

    Scope: names Lithium only.

  • Provider: Australian GovernmentRecipient: Constitutional corporations with registered CMPTI processing activities

    No amount stated

    Tax credit. Authorized, status date 14 Feb 2025.

    Not yet binding. Authority as stated: Future Made in Australia (Production Tax Credits and Other Measures) Act 2025 (Act No. 9 of 2025), Schedule 2, inserting Division 419 into the Income Tax Assessment Act 1997.

    Scope: names 13 materials; the amount is not divided.

Control clauses (4, status on 3 Nov 2026)

Explore capital rows naming Lithium and control clauses naming Lithium: all rows naming Lithium, parts and options listed separately.

Timeline

One dot for each event, placed at its event date as coded. Capital-row and clause status dates are not plotted: a status with no date has no honest position, and an event date is never used in its place.

Event date (as coded)Gold rule: as of 3 Nov 2026

Dates stated after the as-of: 10 Nov 2026 (control clause ctl-cn-58-2025-battery-cathode-licensing).

Newest events

Events (24)

Policy status across actors

Where each actor's coded measures on this material currently stand.

CNChinaActiveSuspended
USUnited StatesIn forceActiveSuperseded
EUEuropean UnionUnclearActiveIn force
AUAustraliaIn force
CACanadaActiveIn force
GBUnited KingdomIn forceSuperseded

Editorial notes (not coded records)

Written summaries kept from the earlier page, not coded records. A summary appears only if it passed review against the records above; the downstream-use list is exempt from that review and has not been checked against a source.

Typical downstream uses

  • Lithium-ion batteries
  • Electric vehicles
  • Battery energy storage systems
  • Portable electronics