Saltworks Technologies Inc.
Concentration and conversion of Canadian lithium brine into lithium battery precursors
fin-ca-cmrdd-2024-saltworks-lithium
Reading this record
What the evidence says — and does not say
- What kind of figure?
- CommitmentMoney, or a money-like promise, committed to a named recipient or project. The only role ever summed.
- What has happened legally?
- AnnouncedPublicly announced; no decision or agreement is stated.
- Has money been paid?
- Follow the payment evidenceThis status does not itself establish a cash payment. In particular, a signed contract does not necessarily establish an obligation of funds.
- What does it link to?
- Project attributionOne registered project is linked directly to this row. The link alone does not prove the amount was paid or that the project advanced.
This is a commitment role, but the financial status still determines legal standing and payment. Funding and verified industrial outcomes remain separate. A financial record alone never independently verifies construction, commissioning or production. Read SMPT's counting and evidence rules.
Amount
As stated “$4,937,500 investment”
CAD 4,937,500 · Exact · Currency read from the issuing government
Record
- Provider
- Natural Resources Canada (Critical Minerals Research, Development and Demonstration program)Natural Resources CanadaGovernment body
- Legal authority
- Not stated
- Recipient
- Saltworks Technologies Inc.Saltworks Technologies Inc.Company
- Project
- Concentration and conversion of Canadian lithium brine into lithium battery precursorsLithium Brine Concentration and Conversion Demonstration capital stack →
- Facility
- Not stated
- Location
- Not stated
- Stages
- ProcessingSingle stage
- Materials
- LithiumTracked materials only
Status
Financial and physical progress are separate histories. The last entry is current.
Financial
- Announcedcurrent
The release published 11 July says the Minister announced the investments 'yesterday'. No matching CMRDD agreement record for this exact C$4,937,500 award was located in the reviewed public disclosures, so the row is not promoted beyond announced.
Implementation
- Announcedcurrent
The release states the investment will accelerate concentration and conversion of Canadian lithium brine using technologies already developed and tested by Saltworks; no construction/operational milestone is stated.
Notes
Exact announced amount from the NRCan release. The source establishes a government investment and project purpose but not a binding agreement or payment; absent a matching agreement disclosure, financial standing remains announced.
Evidence
Every populated field names the source that states it, how directly, and where.
Natural Resources Canada
- Fields supported
- Instrument · Value role · Capital source · Amount · Provider · Recipient · Project · Supply-chain stages · Materials · Status · Programme
- Evidence level
- Explicit
- Location in document
- Opening paragraph; Saltworks investment paragraph
- Qualification
- Currency is read from the Canadian federal issuer context.
| Source | Fields supported | Evidence level | Location |
|---|---|---|---|
| Government of Canada Invests Over $9 Million to Enable Made-in-Canada Lithium Battery Supply Chain in British Columbia Natural Resources Canada · Source dossier |
| Explicit Currency is read from the Canadian federal issuer context. | Opening paragraph; Saltworks investment paragraph |
