← Projects
EUEuropean UnionPublic capital and a designation

KELIBER LITHIUM

Finland

prj-fi-keliber-lithium

What does the record establish?

The EIB project summary names Keliber Oy as project promoter, while the EU CRMA Strategic Project designation names Keliber Technology Oy as promoter; these source-specific roles are not collapsed. The executed €150M EIB facility names Keliber Technology Oy as borrower and Keliber Oy as an original guarantor. Both names remain distinct organizations.

Financial standing

1 directly linked instruments. Recorded financial states: Contracted. A commitment, a payment and a project cost remain separate.

Inspect instruments and terms

Legal and policy context

2 parent policy records; 1 project designations. Designation confers standing, not finance. Material and stage overlaps with controls do not establish a restriction on this project.

Read the policy records

Industrial evidence

No source-reviewed project milestone is published in this corpus. Financing records may still contain attributed activity reports; this gap does not establish inactivity.

See evidence gaps

Financial evidence and chronology

Each instrument keeps its own financial history. These dates describe financial states, not construction or production. Amounts are the current recorded terms, not historical amounts at every date below.

Loan · European Investment Bank (supported by an InvestEU guarantee)€150 million direct loan · Contracted · Commitment
Provider organizations
European Investment Bank
Recipient
Keliber Technology OyKeliber Technology Oy
Legal authority as stated
Not stated in this financial record
  1. · Contracted

    The EIB project record lists a €150 million signature on 20 August 2024.

    European Investment Bank

No additional structured terms are recorded. See the full instrument for its evidence and qualifications.

The executed 20 August 2024 EIB facility agreement (SEC Exhibit 4.8) identifies Keliber Technology Oy as the borrower and Keliber Oy as an original guarantor, correcting the abbreviated borrower identification in the EIB announcement. EIB project 20170804 separately lists a €17.5 million signature on 20 December 2024; the bank's 2024 lending report names Natixis as that signature's counterparty. Because the financing mechanism and flow to Keliber have not been verified, that transaction remains outside this tranche and is not recorded as a second direct Keliber loan.

Full financial instrument, conditions and field-level evidence

Capital stack

One layer per value role. Only committed public money, and joint-vehicle money apart from it, is summed, per currency; everything else is listed. There is no total across layers.

Public commitments

1 row · summed per currency

Committed to a recipient by a government or public enterprise, at the status each row states. A contracted, partially disbursed or disbursed row is binding because an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately by status. A contracted row need not mean funds are obligated or paid, and a partially disbursed row is not fully paid. Summed per currency and per instrument, never across either; a part is never added to its package.

EUR

Loan1 row

Binding

Stated exactly
150 million

1 counted

Source-reviewed industrial observations

No source-reviewed project milestone is published for this undertaking. Any financing-row activity reports below remain attributed observations, not independently reviewed project milestones. Missing evidence does not establish inactivity.

Designations

Recognition under a scheme confers standing, not money, and is never counted as capital.

Recognized

25 Mar 2025

Control clauses on the same materials and stages

Clauses whose covered items share a material and a supply-chain stage with this project, with their legal status on 3 Nov 2026. An overlap of items, not a finding that the project is affected.

No coded control clause covers items at this project's materials and stages.

Record

Sponsors
Keliber OyCompanyKeliber Technology OyCompany
Location
FinlandFI
Stages
Mining, Processing
Materials
LithiumTracked materials only
Programmes
None recorded
Latest financing-row activity report
ConstructionDate not statedEuropean Investment Bank

What remains unknown

Gaps describe the available SMPT record. They do not establish that an activity did not occur.

  • No project-native source-reviewed industrial milestone is published. Attributed activity in financing histories remains a separate evidence class; no exact milestone date or facility-wide conclusion is inferred.
  • Historical amount review is incomplete. Current amounts cannot be read as a time series of earlier commitments.
  • Structural links and shared materials do not demonstrate that a government measure caused an industrial outcome.

Evidence

Every project fact names the source that states it.

  1. Annex to Commission Decision C(2025) 1904 final: list of Strategic Projects

    European Commission

    Fields supported
    Name · Location · Supply-chain stages · Materials
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Entry (19)
    Qualification
    The annex states that KELIBER LITHIUM is an ongoing integrated extraction and processing project in Finland for lithium (battery grade).
    View source dossier →
  2. Commission Decision of 25.3.2025 recognising certain critical raw material projects as Strategic Projects under Regulation (EU) 2024/1252 (C(2025) 1904 final)

    European Commission

    Fields supported
    Sponsors
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Article 2, row 19
    Qualification
    The Commission decision names Keliber Technology Oy as promoter.
    View source dossier →
  3. KELIBER BATTERY GRADE LITHIUM PRODUCTION

    European Investment Bank

    Fields supported
    Supply-chain stages · Materials · Sponsors
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Project description
    Qualification
    EIB describes mines, a concentrator and a hydrometallurgical plant producing battery-grade lithium hydroxide. The EIB project summary lists Keliber Oy as project promoter, distinct from the EU CRMA Commission's Keliber Technology Oy promoter and the signed loan's Keliber Technology Oy borrower.
    View source dossier →

For citations, open a parent policy record for BibTeX, RIS and CSL formats. Cite original documents for claims about government action.

Project registry JSON with sources · Full dataset and download guide