← Capital
CACanadaNatural Resources Canada (Critical Minerals Research, Development and Demonstration program)

NORAM Electrolysis Systems Inc.

Electrolysis for Lithium Production and Recycling

CommitmentInstrument not specifiedPublicContracted

fin-ca-cmrdd-2024-noram-lithium

Reading this record

What the evidence says — and does not say

What kind of figure?
CommitmentMoney, or a money-like promise, committed to a named recipient or project. The only role ever summed.
What has happened legally?
ContractedA binding agreement has been executed. Not a payment, and not necessarily an obligation of funds: an agreement can leave that to a later step.
Has money been paid?
Follow the payment evidenceThis status does not itself establish a cash payment. In particular, a signed contract does not necessarily establish an obligation of funds.
What does it link to?
Project attributionOne registered project is linked directly to this row. The link alone does not prove the amount was paid or that the project advanced.

This is a commitment role, but the financial status still determines legal standing and payment. Funding and verified industrial outcomes remain separate. A financial record alone never independently verifies construction, commissioning or production. Read SMPT's counting and evidence rules.

Amount

CAD4.5 million

As stated “$4,500,000 investment”

CAD 4,500,000 · Exact · Currency read from the issuing government

Record

Provider
Natural Resources Canada (Critical Minerals Research, Development and Demonstration program)Natural Resources CanadaGovernment body
Legal authority
Not stated
Recipient
NORAM Electrolysis Systems Inc.NORAM Electrolysis Systems Inc.Company
Project
Electrolysis for Lithium Production and RecyclingElectrolysis for Lithium Production and Recycling capital stack →
Facility
new test centre
Location
Not stated
Stages
ProcessingSingle stage
Materials
LithiumTracked materials only

Status

Financial and physical progress are separate histories. The last entry is current.

Financial

  1. Contractedcurrent

    Official grants disclosure records agreement CMRDD2-021 from 8 July 2024 through 31 March 2027.

    Government of Canada Open Government

Implementation

  1. Announcedcurrent

    The release describes an industrial-scale demonstration at NESI's new test centre; no later physical milestone is established in the sources reviewed for this tranche.

    Natural Resources Canada

Notes

Binding agreement verified through the federal grants disclosure. No payment/disbursement timing is stated, so contracted is not treated as paid.

Evidence

Every populated field names the source that states it, how directly, and where.

  1. Government of Canada Invests Over $9 Million to Enable Made-in-Canada Lithium Battery Supply Chain in British Columbia

    Natural Resources Canada

    Fields supported
    Instrument · Value role · Capital source · Amount · Provider · Recipient · Project · Supply-chain stages · Materials · Status · Programme · Facility
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Opening paragraph; NESI investment paragraph
    Qualification
    Currency is read from the Canadian federal issuer context.
    View source dossier →
  2. Grants and Contributions — ELECTROLYSIS FOR LITHIUM PRODUCTION AND RECYCLING

    Government of Canada Open Government

    Fields supported
    Amount · Recipient · Project · Status · Programme
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Agreement CMRDD2-021
    Qualification
    Establishes the exact agreement value and binding agreement period.
    View source dossier →