Keliber Technology Oy
KELIBER LITHIUM
fin-eu-eib-2024-keliber-loan
Reading this record
What the evidence says — and does not say
- What kind of figure?
- CommitmentMoney, or a money-like promise, committed to a named recipient or project. The only role ever summed.
- What has happened legally?
- ContractedA binding agreement has been executed. Not a payment, and not necessarily an obligation of funds: an agreement can leave that to a later step.
- Has money been paid?
- Follow the payment evidenceThis status does not itself establish a cash payment. In particular, a signed contract does not necessarily establish an obligation of funds.
- What does it link to?
- Project attributionOne registered project is linked directly to this row. The link alone does not prove the amount was paid or that the project advanced.
This is a commitment role, but the financial status still determines legal standing and payment. Funding and verified industrial outcomes remain separate. A financial record alone never independently verifies construction, commissioning or production. Read SMPT's counting and evidence rules.
Amount
As stated “€150 million direct loan”
EUR 150,000,000 · Exact · Currency stated in the source
Record
- Provider
- European Investment Bank (supported by an InvestEU guarantee)European Investment BankPublic financier
- Legal authority
- Not stated
- Programme
- None named
- Recipient
- Keliber Technology OyKeliber Technology OyCompany
- Project
- KELIBER LITHIUMKELIBER LITHIUM capital stack →
- Facility
- Not stated
- Location
- Not stated
- Stages
- Mining, ProcessingSeveral stages, split not stated
- Materials
- LithiumTracked materials only
Status
Financial and physical progress are separate histories. The last entry is current.
Financial
- Contractedcurrent
The EIB project record lists a €150 million signature on 20 August 2024.
Implementation
- Constructioncurrent
The 23 August 2024 EIB release states that construction of the plant had already begun; it does not state the construction start date.
Notes
The executed 20 August 2024 EIB facility agreement (SEC Exhibit 4.8) identifies Keliber Technology Oy as the borrower and Keliber Oy as an original guarantor, correcting the abbreviated borrower identification in the EIB announcement. EIB project 20170804 separately lists a €17.5 million signature on 20 December 2024; the bank's 2024 lending report names Natixis as that signature's counterparty. Because the financing mechanism and flow to Keliber have not been verified, that transaction remains outside this tranche and is not recorded as a second direct Keliber loan.
Evidence
Every populated field names the source that states it, how directly, and where.
European Investment Bank
- Fields supported
- Instrument · Value role · Capital source · Amount · Provider · Recipient · Project · Supply-chain stages · Materials · Status
- Evidence level
- Explicit
- Location in document
- Opening bullets and financing/project description
- Qualification
- The release states the €150 million EIB direct loan, InvestEU guarantee and integrated lithium project.
KELIBER BATTERY GRADE LITHIUM PRODUCTION
European Investment Bank
- Fields supported
- Amount · Project · Supply-chain stages · Materials · Status
- Evidence level
- Explicit
- Location in document
- Amount; Signature date(s); Project description
- Qualification
- The project page establishes the exact 20 August 2024 signature date for the €150 million loan.
Sibanye Stillwater Limited / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR)
- Fields supported
- Recipient · Amount · Instrument · Status
- Evidence level
- Explicit
- Location in document
- Cover page and agreement parties (20 August 2024): EIB as Bank; Keliber Technology Oy as Borrower; Schedule 1 and signature pages: Keliber Oy as Original Guarantor
- Qualification
- Executed €150M contract controls legal borrower identity. The EIB press release informally labels Keliber Oy as recipient, but the contractual Borrower is Keliber Technology Oy.
| Source | Fields supported | Evidence level | Location |
|---|---|---|---|
| Finland: EU and Sibanye-Stillwater, through its Keliber lithium project, join forces in €150 million deal to improve EU access to and resilience in battery materials European Investment Bank · Source dossier |
| Explicit The release states the €150 million EIB direct loan, InvestEU guarantee and integrated lithium project. | Opening bullets and financing/project description |
| KELIBER BATTERY GRADE LITHIUM PRODUCTION European Investment Bank · Source dossier |
| Explicit The project page establishes the exact 20 August 2024 signature date for the €150 million loan. | Amount; Signature date(s); Project description |
| Sibanye Stillwater, Exhibit 4.8: 20 August 2024 EIB–Keliber Technology Oy €150 million Facility Agreement Sibanye Stillwater Limited / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) · Source dossier |
| Explicit Executed €150M contract controls legal borrower identity. The EIB press release informally labels Keliber Oy as recipient, but the contractual Borrower is Keliber Technology Oy. | Cover page and agreement parties (20 August 2024): EIB as Bank; Keliber Technology Oy as Borrower; Schedule 1 and signature pages: Keliber Oy as Original Guarantor |
