← Projects
AUAustraliaUSUnited StatesMore than one government

Alcoa-Sojitz Gallium Recovery Project

Wagerup, Western Australia

prj-au-alcoa-sojitz-gallium

What does the record establish?

The release names the project without saying who develops it, so no sponsor is recorded. It calls it "a trilateral project with Japan, the United States and Australia" and says "Japan has already provided 50 percent of the project costs to date"; no Japanese amount is stated or recorded.

Financial standing

3 directly linked instruments. Recorded financial states: Announced. A commitment, a payment and a project cost remain separate.

Inspect instruments and terms

Legal and policy context

1 parent policy records; 0 project designations. Designation confers standing, not finance. Material and stage overlaps with controls do not establish a restriction on this project.

Read the policy records

Industrial evidence

1 published source-reviewed observation. The exact scope, date and speaker matter; source review is not on-site verification.

See evidence gaps

Financial evidence and chronology

Each instrument keeps its own financial history. These dates describe financial states, not construction or production. Amounts are the current recorded terms, not historical amounts at every date below.

Equity · Australian Governmentup to USD$200 million in concessional equity finance for the project · Announced · Commitment
Provider organizations
Australian Government
Recipient
Alcoa-Sojitz Gallium Recovery ProjectNo separate recipient organization recorded
Legal authority as stated
Not stated in this financial record
  1. · Announced

    Prime Minister of Australia

No additional structured terms are recorded. See the full instrument for its evidence and qualifications.

The release says the equity finance "includes a right of offtake for the Australian Government", recorded as its own row, and that "Japan has already provided 50 percent of the project costs to date"; no Japanese row is recorded because no amount or instrument is stated. Lifecycle review on 2 October 2026 confirmed physical construction began on 24 August 2026. The reviewed primary sources did not establish that this specific government equity/offtake instrument had been legally executed or paid, so its financial status is not promoted beyond the existing announced state.

Full financial instrument, conditions and field-level evidence
Offtake · Australian GovernmentAmount not stated · Announced · Commitment
Provider organizations
Australian Government
Recipient
Alcoa-Sojitz Gallium Recovery ProjectNo separate recipient organization recorded
Legal authority as stated
Not stated in this financial record
  1. · Announced

    Prime Minister of Australia

No additional structured terms are recorded. See the full instrument for its evidence and qualifications.

No share or volume is stated. Lifecycle review on 2 October 2026 confirmed physical construction began on 24 August 2026. The reviewed primary sources did not establish that this specific government equity/offtake instrument had been legally executed or paid, so its financial status is not promoted beyond the existing announced state.

Full financial instrument, conditions and field-level evidence
Equity · United States GovernmentAmount not stated · Announced · Commitment
Provider organizations
United States Government
Recipient
Alcoa-Sojitz Gallium Recovery ProjectNo separate recipient organization recorded
Legal authority as stated
Not stated in this financial record
  1. · Announced

    Prime Minister of Australia

No additional structured terms are recorded. See the full instrument for its evidence and qualifications.

No amount is stated, and none is inferred. The right of offtake that accompanies it is not separately recorded because the release gives no term for it. Lifecycle review on 2 October 2026 confirmed physical construction began on 24 August 2026. The reviewed primary sources did not establish that this specific government equity/offtake instrument had been legally executed or paid, so its financial status is not promoted beyond the existing announced state.

Full financial instrument, conditions and field-level evidence

Capital stack

One layer per value role. Only committed public money, and joint-vehicle money apart from it, is summed, per currency; everything else is listed. There is no total across layers.

Public commitments

3 rows · summed per currency

Committed to a recipient by a government or public enterprise, at the status each row states. A contracted, partially disbursed or disbursed row is binding because an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately by status. A contracted row need not mean funds are obligated or paid, and a partially disbursed row is not fully paid. Summed per currency and per instrument, never across either; a part is never added to its package.

USD

Equity1 row

Not yet binding

Up to
200 million

1 counted

2 rows state no amount and are listed, not valued.

Source-reviewed industrial observations

Original-source claims independently assessed by a human reviewer. Reported events remain separate from financing status and are not evidence that funding caused construction or production.

These are claims checked against their original publisher documents and attributed to a human reviewer. Source review does not establish independent on-site verification, government-caused progress, a cash disbursement, or commercial output unless separately evidenced.

  1. Issuer-reported eventNamed facility

    Groundbreaking (reported)

    Scope as stated: gallium production plant co-located at Alcoa’s Wagerup alumina refinery

    Reported event date
    Original source published
    Original publisher statement
    The ceremony marked the start of construction of the new facility co-located at Alcoa’s Wagerup alumina refinery in Western Australia.

    Interpretive limit. Alcoa reports that the August 24, 2026 groundbreaking ceremony marked the start of construction; Australian ministers describe the first sod turned. This candidate records the reported ceremony only, not independently observed sustained works, cash disbursement, commissioning or production.

    Source pinpoint: Opening news paragraph after 08/24/2026 dateReviewed by Benjamin Yang on

Policy context

These records directly parent the project's finance or designation entries. Their presence does not establish a causal effect on industrial activity.

Control clauses on the same materials and stages

Clauses whose covered items share a material and a supply-chain stage with this project, with their legal status on 3 Nov 2026. An overlap of items, not a finding that the project is affected.

Record

Sponsors
Not stated
Location
Wagerup, Western AustraliaAU
Stages
Processing
Materials
GalliumTracked materials only
Programmes
None recorded
Latest financing-row activity report
Construction24 Aug 2026Alcoa Corporation

What remains unknown

Gaps describe the available SMPT record. They do not establish that an activity did not occur.

  • Reviewed observations establish only their stated scope. They do not by themselves establish sustained construction, capacity achieved, commercial output or a financing payout.
  • Some directly linked instruments have no stated amount. A missing value is not zero.
  • The project registry does not identify a sponsor organization. Providers and recipients are recorded separately.
  • Historical amount review is incomplete. Current amounts cannot be read as a time series of earlier commitments.
  • Structural links and shared materials do not demonstrate that a government measure caused an industrial outcome.

Evidence

Every project fact names the source that states it.

  1. Historic critical minerals framework signed by President Trump and Prime Minister Albanese

    Prime Minister of Australia

    Fields supported
    Name · Location · Supply-chain stages · Materials
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Paragraphs on the first priority project
    View source dossier →

For citations, open a parent policy record for BibTeX, RIS and CSL formats. Cite original documents for claims about government action.

Project registry JSON with sources · Full dataset and download guide