Hemerdon tungsten and tin mine
the Hemerdon tungsten and tin mine in Devon ... on the outskirts of Plymouth
prj-gb-hemerdon
What does the record establish?
This registered undertaking is linked below to its financial instruments, policy context and available industrial evidence.
Financial standing
4 directly linked instruments. Recorded financial states: Announced. A commitment, a payment and a project cost remain separate.
Inspect instruments and termsLegal and policy context
2 parent policy records; 1 project designations. Designation confers standing, not finance. Material and stage overlaps with controls do not establish a restriction on this project.
Read the policy recordsIndustrial evidence
No source-reviewed project milestone is published in this corpus. Financing records may still contain attributed activity reports; this gap does not establish inactivity.
See evidence gapsFinancial evidence and chronology
Each instrument keeps its own financial history. These dates describe financial states, not construction or production. Amounts are the current recorded terms, not historical amounts at every date below.
Procurement right · UK GovernmentAmount not stated · Announced · Commitment
- Provider organizations
- UK Government
- Recipient
- Tungsten WestTungsten West
- Legal authority as stated
- Not stated in this financial record
· Announced
An exclusive negotiation period only: "The offtake agreement is being negotiated separately by UK Government."
National Wealth Fund
Source-stated terms
- the right to procure up to 50% of the mine's tungsten production, stated in its 2025 Feasibility Study National Wealth Fund
Unlocked by the NWF investment but not part of it. No agreement had been concluded when the release was published.
Full financial instrument, conditions and field-level evidenceEquity · National Wealth Funda £36 million equity investment · Announced · Commitment
- Provider organizations
- National Wealth Fund
- Recipient
- Tungsten WestTungsten West
- Legal authority as stated
- Not stated in this financial record
· Announced
National Wealth Fund
No additional structured terms are recorded. See the full instrument for its evidence and qualifications.
Full financial instrument, conditions and field-level evidenceLoan · National Wealth Fundup to £35 million of lending · Announced · Commitment
- Provider organizations
- National Wealth Fund
- Recipient
- Tungsten WestTungsten West
- Legal authority as stated
- Not stated in this financial record
· Announced
National Wealth Fund
No additional structured terms are recorded. See the full instrument for its evidence and qualifications.
Full financial instrument, conditions and field-level evidenceSeveral instruments, split not stated · National Wealth Fundan investment of up to £71 million in Tungsten West · Announced · Commitment
- Provider organizations
- National Wealth Fund
- Recipient
- Tungsten WestTungsten West
- Legal authority as stated
- Not stated in this financial record
· Announced
National Wealth Fund
No additional structured terms are recorded. See the full instrument for its evidence and qualifications.
The package total; its equity and lending components are recorded as parts of it. The stages render "construction, commissioning and processing costs associated with restarting production".
Full financial instrument, conditions and field-level evidenceCapital stack
One layer per value role. Only committed public money, and joint-vehicle money apart from it, is summed, per currency; everything else is listed. There is no total across layers.
Public commitments
4 rows · summed per currencyCommitted to a recipient by a government or public enterprise, at the status each row states. A contracted, partially disbursed or disbursed row is binding because an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately by status. A contracted row need not mean funds are obligated or paid, and a partially disbursed row is not fully paid. Summed per currency and per instrument, never across either; a part is never added to its package.
GBP
Several instruments, split not stated1 row
Listed, not summed: each row combines instruments without a split.
1 counted · 2 parts not added again
1 row states no amount and is listed, not valued.
Tungsten West
No amount statedHemerdon mine
Tungsten West
GBP36 millionRestart of production at the Hemerdon tungsten and tin mine
Tungsten West
up toGBP35 millionRestart of production at the Hemerdon tungsten and tin mine
Tungsten West
up toGBP71 millionRestart of production at the Hemerdon tungsten and tin mine
Source-reviewed industrial observations
No source-reviewed project milestone is published for this undertaking. Any financing-row activity reports below remain attributed observations, not independently reviewed project milestones. Missing evidence does not establish inactivity.
Policy context
These records directly parent the project's finance or designation entries. Their presence does not establish a causal effect on industrial activity.
4 Jun 2025 · In force
Commission Decision recognising 13 critical raw material projects in third countries and overseas countries or territories as Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act
European Commission
25 Aug 2026 · Active
National Wealth Fund backs Tungsten West to unlock critical UK tungsten supply
National Wealth Fund
Designations
Recognition under a scheme confers standing, not money, and is never counted as capital.
4 Jun 2025
Tungsten West
Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act · C(2025) 3491 final
GB · Mining
Control clauses on the same materials and stages
Clauses whose covered items share a material and a supply-chain stage with this project, with their legal status on 3 Nov 2026. An overlap of items, not a finding that the project is affected.
Record
- Sponsors
- Tungsten WestCompany
- Location
- the Hemerdon tungsten and tin mine in Devon ... on the outskirts of PlymouthGB
- Stages
- Mining, Processing
- Materials
- TungstenAlso names: tinIncludes untracked materials
- Programmes
- None recorded
- Latest financing-row activity report
- No physical status recorded
What remains unknown
Gaps describe the available SMPT record. They do not establish that an activity did not occur.
- No project-native source-reviewed industrial milestone is published. Attributed activity in financing histories remains a separate evidence class; no exact milestone date or facility-wide conclusion is inferred.
- Some directly linked instruments have no stated amount. A missing value is not zero.
- Historical amount review is incomplete. Current amounts cannot be read as a time series of earlier commitments.
- Structural links and shared materials do not demonstrate that a government measure caused an industrial outcome.
Evidence
Every project fact names the source that states it.
National Wealth Fund backs Tungsten West to unlock critical UK tungsten supply
National Wealth Fund
- Fields supported
- Name · Sponsors · Location · Supply-chain stages · Materials
- Evidence level
- Explicit
- Location in document
- First bullet point; second and third paragraphs
European Commission
- Fields supported
- Sponsors · Location
- Evidence level
- Explicit
- Location in document
- Article 2, row 12
- Qualification
- The decision names the Strategic Project "Tungsten West" and gives its promoter's address as "Hemerdon Mine (Drakelands), PL7 5BS, Devon, United Kingdom"; the annex lists it as an extraction project in the United Kingdom contributing to the supply of tungsten.
| Source | Fields supported | Evidence level | Location |
|---|---|---|---|
| National Wealth Fund backs Tungsten West to unlock critical UK tungsten supply National Wealth Fund · Source dossier |
| Explicit | First bullet point; second and third paragraphs |
| Commission Decision of 4.6.2025 recognising certain critical raw material projects located in third countries and in overseas countries or territories as Strategic Projects under Regulation (EU) 2024/1252 (C(2025) 3491 final) European Commission · Source dossier |
| Explicit The decision names the Strategic Project "Tungsten West" and gives its promoter's address as "Hemerdon Mine (Drakelands), PL7 5BS, Devon, United Kingdom"; the annex lists it as an extraction project in the United Kingdom contributing to the supply of tungsten. | Article 2, row 12 |
For citations, open a parent policy record for BibTeX, RIS and CSL formats. Cite original documents for claims about government action.
Project registry JSON with sources · Full dataset and download guide
