Tungsten

钨W

Records coded to Tungsten, from Final List of Critical Minerals 2018 (18 May 2018) to the latest event on 9 Oct 2026. Shared stage codes are not findings.

Record as of . Counts are records of one kind at a time and are never added together.

Events
19by event date
Control clauses
2status on 3 Nov 2026
Capital rows
8a count of rows, not of money2 of them are parts of a package
Designations
8standing, not money
Projects
9registry records1 with no designation
Programmes
4named by these rows
Organizations
13named by these rows
Sources
33cited by these records

Supply chain, stage by stage

Tungsten's row of the lattice: what the record places at each stage. Counts are records per stage, never money; a record coded to several stages is counted at each, so the stages have no total. The last column holds records that name Tungsten and record no stage, so the lattice cannot place them.

  • Exploration1 commitmentCA
  • Mining2 commitmentsGB4 designationsEU
  • SeparationNone recorded
  • Processing3 commitmentsAU GB JP1 clauseCN3 designationsEU JP
  • Refining2 commitmentsAU JP1 clauseCN1 designationJP
  • Component manufacturingNone recorded
  • Recycling1 designationEU
  • Research and developmentNone recorded
  • Cross-cuttingNone recorded
  • No stage recorded1 clauseCN

Records by stage

Exploration

Capital rows

Control clauses

None

Designationsstanding, not money

None

Mining

Capital rows

Control clauses

None

Designationsstanding, not money

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: MINERALIA - Minas, Geotecnia e Construções, Lda.

    Names: Tungsten

    Project registry

    Locations: Portugal

    Sponsors: MINERALIA - Minas, Geotecnia e Construções, Lda.

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: ABENÓJAR TUNGSTEN S.A.

    Names: Tungsten

    Project registry

    Locations: Spain

    Sponsors: ABENÓJAR TUNGSTEN S.A.

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Iberian Resources Spain

    Names: Tungsten

    Project registry

    Locations: Spain

    Sponsors: Iberian Resources Spain

  • As stated: Tungsten West

    Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 4 Jun 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Tungsten West

    Names: Tungsten

    Project record codes: mining, processing. Not placed here; this designation names mining only.

    Project record also names: tin, not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: the Hemerdon tungsten and tin mine in Devon ... on the outskirts of Plymouth

    Sponsors: Tungsten West

Processing

Capital rows

Control clauses

  • MOFCOM/GACC Announcement No. 10 (2025)

    In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 4 Feb 2025

    Covered items (goods, technology) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

Designationsstanding, not money

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: ABENÓJAR TUNGSTEN S.A.

    Names: Tungsten

    Project registry

    Locations: Spain

    Sponsors: ABENÓJAR TUNGSTEN S.A.

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Iberian Resources Spain

    Names: Tungsten

    Project registry

    Locations: Spain

    Sponsors: Iberian Resources Spain

Show all 3
  • As stated: タングステンの還元及び炭化設備を新設し、タングステン粉末及び炭化タングステン粉末の生産能力を向上させる。

    Certified supply-assurance plans for critical minerals (Economic Security Promotion Act) (Japan). Recognized, status date 18 Mar 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Allied Material Corporation

    Names: Tungsten

    Project registry

    Locations: 富山製作所から約1kmの場所

    Sponsors: Allied Material Corporation

Refining

Capital rows

Control clauses

  • MOFCOM/GACC Announcement No. 10 (2025)

    In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 4 Feb 2025

    Covered items (goods, technology) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

Designationsstanding, not money

  • As stated: 日本国内に、タングステンの湿式精錬設備を増強し、国内安定供給体制を強化する。

    Certified supply-assurance plans for critical minerals (Economic Security Promotion Act) (Japan). Recognized, status date 7 Sep 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Japan New Metals Co., Ltd.

    Names: Tungsten

    Project registry

    Locations: 日本国内

    Sponsors: Japan New Metals Co., Ltd.

Recycling

Capital rows

None

Control clauses

None

Designationsstanding, not money

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: OMCD TEK HUB S.p.A.

    Names: Cobalt, Tungsten

    Also names: copper, not a tracked material

    Project record also names: copper, not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: Italy

    Sponsors: OMCD TEK HUB S.p.A.

No stage recorded

These name Tungsten but record no stage, so the lattice cannot place them.

Control clauses

  • Announced on 3 Nov 2026Announced, status date 9 May 2025

    By rule: this kind of clause defines no items of its own, so it has no stage.

None recorded at: Separation, Component manufacturing, Research and development, Cross-cutting.

A designation is a government's recognition of a project under a named scheme. It records standing, not money, and covers only the stages and materials the designation names. A project is the registry record of the site or venture. Shared stage codes are not a finding.

Registry projects with no designation naming Tungsten

Not placed by stage: a project's own stage list is not a designation, and the lattice places only designations.

Capital and controls

Each capital row is shown at its own amount, in its own currency, exactly as the record states it. Nothing here adds up, splits or converts an amount, so a row that names several materials shows its whole amount and a part sits inside its package without being added again.

Capital rows (8 naming Tungsten; 6 shown at top level, 2 inside a package)

Public commitments (8)

Committed to a recipient by a government or public enterprise, at the status each row states. A contracted, partially disbursed or disbursed row is binding because an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately by status. A contracted row need not mean funds are obligated or paid, and a partially disbursed row is not fully paid.

  • Provider: Natural Resources CanadaRecipient: New Brunswick Geological Survey

    CAD 172,000

    As stated: Funding amount: $172,000

    Instrument not specified. Announced, status date 3 Mar 2026.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names 2 materials; the amount is not divided.

  • Provider: National Wealth FundRecipient: Tungsten West

    up to GBP 71 million

    As stated: an investment of up to £71 million in Tungsten West

    Several instruments, split not stated. Announced, status date 25 Aug 2026.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: also covers materials outside the tracked set.

    • Part: Equity, GBP 36 million; not added again

      Provider: National Wealth FundRecipient: Tungsten West

      GBP 36 million

      As stated: a £36 million equity investment

      Equity. Announced, status date 25 Aug 2026.

      Not yet binding.

      Scope: also covers materials outside the tracked set.

    • Part: Loan, up to GBP 35 million; not added again

      Provider: National Wealth FundRecipient: Tungsten West

      up to GBP 35 million

      As stated: up to £35 million of lending

      Loan. Announced, status date 25 Aug 2026.

      Not yet binding.

      Scope: also covers materials outside the tracked set.

  • Provider: Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC)Recipient: Allied Material Corporation

    about JPY 7.5 billion

    As stated: ※助成額は約75億円

    Grant. Decided, date not stated.

    Not yet binding. Authority as stated: 経済安全保障推進法 (Economic Security Promotion Act).

    Scope: names Tungsten only.

  • Provider: Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC)Recipient: Japan New Metals Co., Ltd.

    about JPY 2 billion

    As stated: ※助成額は約20億円

    Grant. Announced, status date 7 Sep 2026.

    Not yet binding. Authority as stated: 経済安全保障推進法 (Economic Security Promotion Act).

    Scope: names Tungsten only.

  • Provider: Australian GovernmentRecipient: Constitutional corporations with registered CMPTI processing activities

    No amount stated

    Tax credit. Authorized, status date 14 Feb 2025.

    Not yet binding. Authority as stated: Future Made in Australia (Production Tax Credits and Other Measures) Act 2025 (Act No. 9 of 2025), Schedule 2, inserting Division 419 into the Income Tax Assessment Act 1997.

    Scope: names 13 materials; the amount is not divided.

  • Provider: UK GovernmentRecipient: Tungsten West

    No amount stated

    Procurement right. Announced, status date 25 Aug 2026.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names Tungsten only.

Control clauses (2, status on 3 Nov 2026)

Explore capital rows naming Tungsten and control clauses naming Tungsten: all rows naming Tungsten, parts and options listed separately.

Timeline

One dot for each event, placed at its event date as coded. Capital-row and clause status dates are not plotted: a status with no date has no honest position, and an event date is never used in its place.

Event date (as coded)Gold rule: as of 3 Nov 2026

No tungsten record states a date after the as-of.

Newest events

Events (19)

Policy status across actors

Where each actor's coded measures on this material currently stand.

CNChinaActive
USUnited StatesIn forceSuperseded
EUEuropean UnionUnclearIn force
AUAustraliaIn force
JPJapanActive
CACanadaActive
GBUnited KingdomActiveIn forceSuperseded

Editorial notes (not coded records)

Written summaries kept from the earlier page, not coded records. A summary appears only if it passed review against the records above; the downstream-use list is exempt from that review and has not been checked against a source.

Typical downstream uses

  • Cemented-carbide tooling
  • Armor-piercing munitions
  • Aerospace alloys