Nickel

镍Ni

Records coded to Nickel, from 2022 Final List of Critical Minerals (24 Feb 2022) to the latest event on 9 Oct 2026. Shared stage codes are not findings.

Record as of . Counts are records of one kind at a time and are never added together.

Events
14by event date
Control clauses
1status on 3 Nov 2026
Capital rows
4a count of rows, not of money1 of them is a part of a package
Designations
16standing, not money
Projects
18registry records2 with no designation
Programmes
3named by these rows
Organizations
23named by these rows
Sources
28cited by these records

Supply chain, stage by stage

Nickel's row of the lattice: what the record places at each stage. Counts are records per stage, never money; a record coded to several stages is counted at each, so the stages have no total. The last column holds records that name Nickel and record no stage, so the lattice cannot place them.

  • ExplorationNone recorded
  • Mining2 designationsEU
  • SeparationNone recorded
  • Processing1 commitmentAU4 designationsEU
  • Refining1 commitmentAU
  • Component manufacturing1 clauseCN
  • Recycling1 commitmentCA8 designationsEU
  • Research and development1 commitmentCA
  • Cross-cuttingNone recorded
  • No stage recorded2 designationsEU

Records by stage

Mining

Capital rows

None

Control clauses

None

Designationsstanding, not money

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: FinnCobalt Oy

    Names: Cobalt, Nickel

    Also names: copper, not a tracked material

    Project record also names: copper, not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: Finland

    Sponsors: FinnCobalt Oy

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Suhanko Arctic Platinum Oy

    Names: Nickel

    Also names: copper, platinum group metals, not a tracked material

    Project record also names: copper, platinum group metals, not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: Finland

    Sponsors: Suhanko Arctic Platinum Oy

Processing

Capital rows

Control clauses

None

Designationsstanding, not money

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Umicore

    Names: Cobalt, Nickel

    Project registry

    Locations: Finland

    Sponsors: Umicore

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Sibanye-Stillwater Sandouville Refinery

    Names: Graphite, Cobalt, Nickel

    Also names: lithium (battery grade), manganese (battery grade), copper, not a tracked material

    Project record also names: lithium (battery grade), manganese (battery grade), copper, not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: France

    Sponsors: Sibanye-Stillwater Sandouville Refinery

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: NEOMAT PCAM

    Names: Cobalt, Nickel

    Also names: manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project record also names: manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: France

    Sponsors: NEOMAT PCAM

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Umicore

    Names: Cobalt, Nickel

    Also names: copper, platinum group metals, not a tracked material

    Project record also names: copper, platinum group metals, not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: Belgium

    Sponsors: Umicore

Refining

Capital rows

Control clauses

None

Designationsstanding, not money

None

Component manufacturing

Capital rows

None

Control clauses

  • MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 58

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025

    Covered items (goods, equipment, technology) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

Designationsstanding, not money

None

Recycling

Capital rows

Control clauses

None

Designationsstanding, not money

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Back to Battery B.V.

    Names: Graphite, Lithium, Cobalt, Nickel

    Also names: manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project record also names: manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: Netherlands

    Sponsors: Back to Battery B.V.

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: cylib Production I GmbH

    Names: Graphite, Lithium, Cobalt, Nickel

    Also names: bauxite/alumina/aluminium, copper, manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project record also names: bauxite/alumina/aluminium, copper, manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: Germany

    Sponsors: cylib Production I GmbH

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Fortum Battery Recycling Oy

    Names: Graphite, Cobalt, Nickel

    Also names: lithium (battery grade), copper, not a tracked material

    Project record also names: lithium (battery grade), copper, not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: Finland

    Sponsors: Fortum Battery Recycling Oy

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: KGHM Polska Miedź S.A.

    Names: Nickel

    Also names: copper, not a tracked material

    Project record also names: copper, not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: Poland

    Sponsors: KGHM Polska Miedź S.A.

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Northvolt Revolt AB

    Names: Graphite, Cobalt, Nickel

    Also names: manganese (battery grade), lithium (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project record also names: manganese (battery grade), lithium (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: Sweden

    Sponsors: Northvolt Revolt AB

Show all 8
  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: ORANO Batteries

    Names: Graphite, Cobalt, Nickel

    Also names: lithium (battery grade), manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project record also names: lithium (battery grade), manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: France

    Sponsors: ORANO Batteries

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: ECO LIFE STYLE S.R.L.

    Names: Graphite, Lithium, Cobalt, Nickel

    Also names: manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project record also names: manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: Romania

    Sponsors: ECO LIFE STYLE S.R.L.

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: CRITICAL. (owner of Circular Industries)

    Names: Nickel

    Also names: bauxite/alumina/aluminium, copper, not a tracked material

    Project record also names: bauxite/alumina/aluminium, copper, not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: Netherlands

    Sponsors: CRITICAL. (owner of Circular Industries)

Research and development

Capital rows

Control clauses

None

Designationsstanding, not money

None

No stage recorded

These name Nickel but record no stage, so the lattice cannot place them.

Designationsstanding, not money

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: ELECTRO MOBILITY MATERIALS EUROPE (EMME)

    Names: Cobalt, Nickel

    Records no stage.

    Project registry

    Locations: France

    Sponsors: ELECTRO MOBILITY MATERIALS EUROPE (EMME)

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Pure Battery Technologies Limited

    Names: Cobalt, Nickel

    Also names: manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Project record also names: manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material

    Records no stage.

    Project registry

    Locations: Germany

    Sponsors: Pure Battery Technologies Limited

None recorded at: Exploration, Separation, Cross-cutting.

A designation is a government's recognition of a project under a named scheme. It records standing, not money, and covers only the stages and materials the designation names. A project is the registry record of the site or venture. Shared stage codes are not a finding.

Registry projects with no designation naming Nickel

Not placed by stage: a project's own stage list is not a designation, and the lattice places only designations.

Capital and controls

Each capital row is shown at its own amount, in its own currency, exactly as the record states it. Nothing here adds up, splits or converts an amount, so a row that names several materials shows its whole amount and a part sits inside its package without being added again.

Capital rows (4 naming Nickel; 3 shown at top level, 1 inside a package)

Public commitments (4)

Committed to a recipient by a government or public enterprise, at the status each row states. A contracted, partially disbursed or disbursed row is binding because an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately by status. A contracted row need not mean funds are obligated or paid, and a partially disbursed row is not fully paid.

  • Provider: Natural Resources CanadaRecipient: Cyclic Materials Incorporated, Green Graphite Technologies Inc.

    about CAD 8.4 million

    As stated: almost $8.4 million in investments

    Instrument not specified. Announced, status date 4 Sep 2024.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names 4 materials; the amount is not divided.

    • Part: Instrument not specified, CAD 4.893125 million; not added again

      Provider: Natural Resources CanadaRecipient: Cyclic Materials Incorporated

      CAD 4.893125 million

      As stated: Amount funded: $4,893,125

      Instrument not specified. Contracted, status date 17 Jul 2024.

      Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

      Scope: names 3 materials; the amount is not divided.

  • Provider: National Research Council of CanadaRecipient: NTwist Inc.

    CAD 500,000

    As stated: $500,000 through the National Research Council of Canada (NRC)’s Industrial Research Assistance Program

    Instrument not specified. Announced, status date 31 Oct 2025.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names Nickel only.

  • Provider: Australian GovernmentRecipient: Constitutional corporations with registered CMPTI processing activities

    No amount stated

    Tax credit. Authorized, status date 14 Feb 2025.

    Not yet binding. Authority as stated: Future Made in Australia (Production Tax Credits and Other Measures) Act 2025 (Act No. 9 of 2025), Schedule 2, inserting Division 419 into the Income Tax Assessment Act 1997.

    Scope: names 13 materials; the amount is not divided.

Control clauses (1, status on 3 Nov 2026)

Explore capital rows naming Nickel and control clauses naming Nickel: all rows naming Nickel, parts and options listed separately.

Timeline

One dot for each event, placed at its event date as coded. Capital-row and clause status dates are not plotted: a status with no date has no honest position, and an event date is never used in its place.

Event date (as coded)Gold rule: as of 3 Nov 2026

Dates stated after the as-of: 10 Nov 2026 (control clause ctl-cn-58-2025-battery-cathode-licensing).

Newest events

Events (14)

Policy status across actors

Where each actor's coded measures on this material currently stand.

CNChinaActiveSuspended
USUnited StatesIn forceSuperseded
EUEuropean UnionUnclearIn force
AUAustraliaIn force
CACanadaActiveIn force

Editorial notes (not coded records)

Written summaries kept from the earlier page, not coded records. A summary appears only if it passed review against the records above; the downstream-use list is exempt from that review and has not been checked against a source.

Typical downstream uses

  • Stainless and alloy steels
  • Lithium-ion battery cathodes
  • Aerospace and high-performance alloys
  • Electroplating and catalysts