← Capital
CACanadaNational Research Council of Canada (Industrial Research Assistance Program)

NTwist Inc.

Nickel production and efficiency R&D project

CommitmentInstrument not specifiedPublicAnnounced

fin-ca-g7-2025-ntwist-nrc-irap

Reading this record

What the evidence says — and does not say

What kind of figure?
CommitmentMoney, or a money-like promise, committed to a named recipient or project. The only role ever summed.
What has happened legally?
AnnouncedPublicly announced; no decision or agreement is stated.
Has money been paid?
Follow the payment evidenceThis status does not itself establish a cash payment. In particular, a signed contract does not necessarily establish an obligation of funds.
What does it link to?
Project attributionOne registered project is linked directly to this row. The link alone does not prove the amount was paid or that the project advanced.

This is a commitment role, but the financial status still determines legal standing and payment. Funding and verified industrial outcomes remain separate. A financial record alone never independently verifies construction, commissioning or production. Read SMPT's counting and evidence rules.

Amount

CAD500,000

As stated “$500,000 through the National Research Council of Canada (NRC)’s Industrial Research Assistance Program”

CAD 500,000 · Exact · Currency read from the issuing government

Record

Provider
National Research Council of Canada (Industrial Research Assistance Program)National Research Council of CanadaGovernment body
Legal authority
Not stated
Programme
None named
Recipient
NTwist Inc.NTwist Inc.Company
Project
Nickel production and efficiency R&D projectNickel Production and Efficiency R&D Project capital stack →
Facility
Not stated
Location
Not stated
Stages
Research and developmentSingle stage
Materials
NickelTracked materials only

Status

Financial and physical progress are separate histories. The last entry is current.

Financial

  1. Announcedcurrent

    NRCan lists the project with $500,000 through NRC IRAP. No matching C$500,000 agreement was located in the reviewed federal grants disclosure, so no contracted or binding stage is inferred.

    Natural Resources Canada

Implementation

No source states the physical status of a project for this row.

Notes

Vale Europe Ltd. and Tunley Environmental Ltd. are named project collaborators, not recipients of the Canadian funding. No project location, payment, or physical production milestone is inferred.

Evidence

Every populated field names the source that states it, how directly, and where.

  1. Backgrounder: Canada unlocks 26 new investments and partnerships with 9 allied countries to secure critical minerals supply chains

    Natural Resources Canada

    Fields supported
    Instrument · Value role · Capital source · Amount · Provider · Recipient · Status · Project · Materials · Supply-chain stages
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Research and development projects: NTwist Inc.
    Qualification
    NRCan identifies C$500,000 through NRC IRAP for NTwist's project with Vale Europe and Tunley Environmental to improve nickel production and efficiency; the item appears in the backgrounder's research-and-development project section.
    View source dossier →