Cobalt
钴CoRecords coded to Cobalt, from Final List of Critical Minerals 2018 (18 May 2018) to the latest event on 9 Oct 2026. Shared stage codes are not findings.
Record as of . Counts are records of one kind at a time and are never added together.
- Events
- 16by event date
- Control clauses
- 1status on 3 Nov 2026
- Capital rows
- 3a count of rows, not of money1 of them is a part of a package
- Designations
- 14standing, not money
- Projects
- 15registry records1 with no designation
- Programmes
- 3named by these rows
- Organizations
- 17named by these rows
- Sources
- 30cited by these records
Supply chain, stage by stage
Cobalt's row of the lattice: what the record places at each stage. Counts are records per stage, never money; a record coded to several stages is counted at each, so the stages have no total. The last column holds records that name Cobalt and record no stage, so the lattice cannot place them.
- ExplorationExplorationNone recorded
- MiningMining1 designationEU
- SeparationSeparationNone recorded
- ProcessingProcessing1 commitmentAU4 designationsEU
- RefiningRefining1 commitmentAU
- Component manufacturingComponents1 clauseCN
- RecyclingRecycling1 commitmentCA7 designationsEU
- Research and developmentR&DNone recorded
- Cross-cuttingCross-cuttingNone recorded
- No stage recordedNo stage2 designationsEU
Records by stage
Mining
Capital rows
None
Control clauses
None
Designationsstanding, not money
Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.
Holder: FinnCobalt Oy
Names: Cobalt, Nickel
Also names: copper, not a tracked material
Project record also names: copper, not a tracked material
Project registry
Locations: Finland
Sponsors: FinnCobalt Oy
Processing
Capital rows
No amount stated
Tax credit. Authorized, status date 14 Feb 2025.
Control clauses
None
Designationsstanding, not money
Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.
Holder: Umicore
Names: Cobalt, Nickel
Project registry
Locations: Finland
Sponsors: Umicore
Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.
Holder: Sibanye-Stillwater Sandouville Refinery
Names: Graphite, Cobalt, Nickel
Also names: lithium (battery grade), manganese (battery grade), copper, not a tracked material
Project record also names: lithium (battery grade), manganese (battery grade), copper, not a tracked material
Project registry
Locations: France
Sponsors: Sibanye-Stillwater Sandouville Refinery
Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.
Holder: NEOMAT PCAM
Names: Cobalt, Nickel
Also names: manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material
Project record also names: manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material
Project registry
Locations: France
Sponsors: NEOMAT PCAM
Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.
Holder: Umicore
Names: Cobalt, Nickel
Also names: copper, platinum group metals, not a tracked material
Project record also names: copper, platinum group metals, not a tracked material
Project registry
Locations: Belgium
Sponsors: Umicore
Refining
Capital rows
No amount stated
Tax credit. Authorized, status date 14 Feb 2025.
Control clauses
None
Designationsstanding, not money
None
Component manufacturing
Capital rows
None
Control clauses
MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 58
Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025
Covered items (goods, equipment, technology) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.
Designationsstanding, not money
None
Recycling
Capital rows
about CAD 8.4 million
As stated: almost $8.4 million in investmentsInstrument not specified. Announced, status date 4 Sep 2024.
- Part: Instrument not specified, CAD 4.893125 million; not added again Open row
Control clauses
None
Designationsstanding, not money
Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.
Holder: Back to Battery B.V.
Names: Graphite, Lithium, Cobalt, Nickel
Also names: manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material
Project record also names: manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material
Project registry
Locations: Netherlands
Sponsors: Back to Battery B.V.
Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.
Holder: cylib Production I GmbH
Names: Graphite, Lithium, Cobalt, Nickel
Also names: bauxite/alumina/aluminium, copper, manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material
Project record also names: bauxite/alumina/aluminium, copper, manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material
Project registry
Locations: Germany
Sponsors: cylib Production I GmbH
Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.
Holder: Fortum Battery Recycling Oy
Names: Graphite, Cobalt, Nickel
Also names: lithium (battery grade), copper, not a tracked material
Project record also names: lithium (battery grade), copper, not a tracked material
Project registry
Locations: Finland
Sponsors: Fortum Battery Recycling Oy
Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.
Holder: Northvolt Revolt AB
Names: Graphite, Cobalt, Nickel
Also names: manganese (battery grade), lithium (battery grade), not a tracked material
Project record also names: manganese (battery grade), lithium (battery grade), not a tracked material
Project registry
Locations: Sweden
Sponsors: Northvolt Revolt AB
Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.
Holder: ORANO Batteries
Names: Graphite, Cobalt, Nickel
Also names: lithium (battery grade), manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material
Project record also names: lithium (battery grade), manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material
Project registry
Locations: France
Sponsors: ORANO Batteries
Show all 7
Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.
Holder: ECO LIFE STYLE S.R.L.
Names: Graphite, Lithium, Cobalt, Nickel
Also names: manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material
Project record also names: manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material
Project registry
Locations: Romania
Sponsors: ECO LIFE STYLE S.R.L.
Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.
Holder: OMCD TEK HUB S.p.A.
Names: Cobalt, Tungsten
Also names: copper, not a tracked material
Project record also names: copper, not a tracked material
Project registry
Locations: Italy
Sponsors: OMCD TEK HUB S.p.A.
No stage recorded
These name Cobalt but record no stage, so the lattice cannot place them.
Designationsstanding, not money
Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.
Holder: ELECTRO MOBILITY MATERIALS EUROPE (EMME)
Names: Cobalt, Nickel
Records no stage.
Project registry
Locations: France
Sponsors: ELECTRO MOBILITY MATERIALS EUROPE (EMME)
Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.
Holder: Pure Battery Technologies Limited
Names: Cobalt, Nickel
Also names: manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material
Project record also names: manganese (battery grade), not a tracked material
Records no stage.
Project registry
Locations: Germany
Sponsors: Pure Battery Technologies Limited
None recorded at: Exploration, Separation, Research and development, Cross-cutting.
A designation is a government's recognition of a project under a named scheme. It records standing, not money, and covers only the stages and materials the designation names. A project is the registry record of the site or venture. Shared stage codes are not a finding.
Registry projects with no designation naming Cobalt
Not placed by stage: a project's own stage list is not a designation, and the lattice places only designations.
- Kingston Demonstration Plant
Locations: Kingston, Ontario
Sponsors: Cyclic Materials Incorporated
Project record codes: recycling. Registry stages, not placed on the supply-chain lattice.
1 capital row names this project: Natural Resources Canada to Cyclic Materials Incorporated
Capital and controls
Each capital row is shown at its own amount, in its own currency, exactly as the record states it. Nothing here adds up, splits or converts an amount, so a row that names several materials shows its whole amount and a part sits inside its package without being added again.
Capital rows (3 naming Cobalt; 2 shown at top level, 1 inside a package)
Public commitments (3)
Committed to a recipient by a government or public enterprise, at the status each row states. A contracted, partially disbursed or disbursed row is binding because an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately by status. A contracted row need not mean funds are obligated or paid, and a partially disbursed row is not fully paid.
Provider: Natural Resources CanadaRecipient: Cyclic Materials Incorporated, Green Graphite Technologies Inc.
about CAD 8.4 million
As stated: almost $8.4 million in investmentsInstrument not specified. Announced, status date 4 Sep 2024.
Not yet binding.
Scope: names 4 materials; the amount is not divided.
- Drawn from Government of Canada, which does not name Cobalt
Part: Instrument not specified, CAD 4.893125 million; not added again
Provider: Natural Resources CanadaRecipient: Cyclic Materials Incorporated
CAD 4.893125 million
As stated: Amount funded: $4,893,125Instrument not specified. Contracted, status date 17 Jul 2024.
Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.
Scope: names 3 materials; the amount is not divided.
Provider: Australian GovernmentRecipient: Constitutional corporations with registered CMPTI processing activities
No amount stated
Tax credit. Authorized, status date 14 Feb 2025.
Not yet binding. Authority as stated: Future Made in Australia (Production Tax Credits and Other Measures) Act 2025 (Act No. 9 of 2025), Schedule 2, inserting Division 419 into the Income Tax Assessment Act 1997.
Scope: names 13 materials; the amount is not divided.
Control clauses (1, status on 3 Nov 2026)
MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 58
Suspended on 3 Nov 2026
Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025
- Scheduled, status date 9 Oct 2025, until 8 Nov 2025
- Suspended, status date 7 Nov 2025, until 10 Nov 2026
Covered items (goods, equipment, technology) belong at component manufacturing. That places the items; it is not a claim that the clause restricts that stage.
Legal basis: Export Control Law of the People's Republic of China; Regulations of the People's Republic of China on Export Control of Dual-Use Items
Explore capital rows naming Cobalt and control clauses naming Cobalt: all rows naming Cobalt, parts and options listed separately.
Timeline
One dot for each event, placed at its event date as coded. Capital-row and clause status dates are not plotted: a status with no date has no honest position, and an event date is never used in its place.
Dates stated after the as-of: 10 Nov 2026 (control clause ctl-cn-58-2025-battery-cathode-licensing).
Newest events
- EUCommission Decision recognising 46 critical raw material projects in the EU as Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act
- USAdjusting Imports of Processed Critical Minerals and Their Derivative Products Into The United States
- USFinal 2025 List of Critical Minerals
- CNMOFCOM & GACC Announcement No. 70 of 2025: decision suspending Announcements Nos. 55, 56, 57, 58, 61 and 62 of 2025 (to 10 November 2026)
- CNMOFCOM & GACC Announcement No. 58 of 2025: decision to implement export controls on lithium battery and artificial graphite anode material items
- USEnsuring National Security and Economic Resilience Through Section 232 Actions on Processed Critical Minerals and Derivative Products
Events (16)
Policy status across actors
Where each actor's coded measures on this material currently stand.
Commission Decision recognising 46 critical raw material projects in the EU as Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act
UnclearRecords under this event: 10 designations.
MOFCOM & GACC Announcement No. 58 of 2025: decision to implement export controls on lithium battery and artificial graphite anode material items
SuspendedRecords under this event: 1 control clause.
Commission Decision recognising 47 critical raw material projects in the EU as Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act
In forceRecords under this event: 4 designations.
Future Made in Australia (Production Tax Credits and Other Measures) Act 2025
In forceRecords under this event: 1 capital row.
Government of Canada Supporting Critical Minerals Processing in Kingston
ActiveRecords under this event: 2 capital rows.
Resilience for the Future: The United Kingdom's Critical Minerals Strategy
SupersededSuperseded by Vision 2035: Critical Minerals Strategy.
Editorial notes (not coded records)
Written summaries kept from the earlier page, not coded records. A summary appears only if it passed review against the records above; the downstream-use list is exempt from that review and has not been checked against a source.
Typical downstream uses
- Lithium-ion battery cathodes
- Aerospace superalloys
- Defense systems
- Industrial catalysts
