Terbium
铽TbRecords coded to Terbium, from 2022 Final List of Critical Minerals (24 Feb 2022) to the latest event on 23 Jul 2026. Shared stage codes are not findings.
Record as of . Counts are records of one kind at a time and are never added together.
Some records name the rare-earth group as a whole rather than Terbium. They are on the rare-earth dossier and are not repeated here. Open the rare earth elements dossier
- Events
- 12by event date
- Control clauses
- 3status on 3 Nov 2026
- Capital rows
- 8a count of rows, not of money2 of them are parts of a package
- Designations
- 0standing, not money
- Projects
- 3registry records3 with no designation
- Programmes
- 2named by these rows
- Organizations
- 9named by these rows
- Sources
- 25cited by these records
Supply chain, stage by stage
Terbium's row of the lattice: what the record places at each stage. Counts are records per stage, never money; a record coded to several stages is counted at each, so the stages have no total. The last column holds records that name Terbium and record no stage, so the lattice cannot place them.
- ExplorationExploration1 commitmentJP
- MiningMining3 commitmentsJP US
- SeparationSeparation1 commitmentJP1 clauseCN
- ProcessingProcessing3 commitmentsAU US
- RefiningRefining3 commitmentsAU US1 clauseCN
- Component manufacturingComponents2 commitmentsUS1 clauseCN
- RecyclingRecyclingNone recorded
- Research and developmentR&DNone recorded
- Cross-cuttingCross-cuttingNone recorded
- No stage recordedNo stage1 commitmentJP2 clausesCN US
Records by stage
Exploration
Capital rows
up to CAD 47.668 million
As stated: up to 47.668 million Canadian dollars (approximately 5.5 billion yen)Equity. Partially disbursed, status date 23 Jul 2026.
Control clauses
None
Designationsstanding, not money
None
Mining
Capital rows
up to CAD 47.668 million
As stated: up to 47.668 million Canadian dollars (approximately 5.5 billion yen)Equity. Partially disbursed, status date 23 Jul 2026.
up to USD 277 million
As stated: direct funding awards (the “Direct Funding”) with a maximum award amount of $277.0 million in the aggregateInstrument not specified. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.
- Part: Instrument not specified, up to USD 132 million; not added again Open row
up to USD 1.3 billion
As stated: to guarantee the repayment by USAR and its affiliates of advances in an aggregate principal amount of $1.3 billion (“FFB Advances” and, together with the Direct Funding, the “Awards”) made by the Federal Financing BankLoan guarantee. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.
- Part: Loan guarantee, up to USD 550 million; not added again Open row
Control clauses
None
Designationsstanding, not money
None
Separation
Capital rows
No amount stated
Offtake. Contracted, date not stated.
Control clauses
MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 18
In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 4 Apr 2025
Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.
Designationsstanding, not money
None
Processing
Capital rows
No amount stated
Tax credit. Authorized, status date 14 Feb 2025.
up to USD 277 million
As stated: direct funding awards (the “Direct Funding”) with a maximum award amount of $277.0 million in the aggregateInstrument not specified. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.
- Part: Instrument not specified, up to USD 132 million; not added again Open row
up to USD 1.3 billion
As stated: to guarantee the repayment by USAR and its affiliates of advances in an aggregate principal amount of $1.3 billion (“FFB Advances” and, together with the Direct Funding, the “Awards”) made by the Federal Financing BankLoan guarantee. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.
- Part: Loan guarantee, up to USD 550 million; not added again Open row
Control clauses
None
Designationsstanding, not money
None
Refining
Capital rows
No amount stated
Tax credit. Authorized, status date 14 Feb 2025.
up to USD 277 million
As stated: direct funding awards (the “Direct Funding”) with a maximum award amount of $277.0 million in the aggregateInstrument not specified. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.
- Part: Instrument not specified, up to USD 132 million; not added again Open row
up to USD 1.3 billion
As stated: to guarantee the repayment by USAR and its affiliates of advances in an aggregate principal amount of $1.3 billion (“FFB Advances” and, together with the Direct Funding, the “Awards”) made by the Federal Financing BankLoan guarantee. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.
- Part: Loan guarantee, up to USD 550 million; not added again Open row
Control clauses
MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 18
In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 4 Apr 2025
Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.
Designationsstanding, not money
None
Component manufacturing
Capital rows
up to USD 277 million
As stated: direct funding awards (the “Direct Funding”) with a maximum award amount of $277.0 million in the aggregateInstrument not specified. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.
- Part: Instrument not specified, up to USD 132 million; not added again Open row
up to USD 1.3 billion
As stated: to guarantee the repayment by USAR and its affiliates of advances in an aggregate principal amount of $1.3 billion (“FFB Advances” and, together with the Direct Funding, the “Awards”) made by the Federal Financing BankLoan guarantee. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.
- Part: Loan guarantee, up to USD 550 million; not added again Open row
Control clauses
MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 18
In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 4 Apr 2025
Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.
Designationsstanding, not money
None
No stage recorded
These name Terbium but record no stage, so the lattice cannot place them.
Capital rows
AUD 200 million
As stated: an additional AUD 200million worth investment in the equity of Lynas Rare Earths LimitedEquity. Disbursed, date not stated.
Control clauses
MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 18
In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 4 Apr 2025
By rule: this kind of clause defines no items of its own, so it has no stage.
In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 3 Jun 2026
Records no stage.
None recorded at: Recycling, Research and development, Cross-cutting.
A designation is a government's recognition of a project under a named scheme. It records standing, not money, and covers only the stages and materials the designation names. A project is the registry record of the site or venture. Shared stage codes are not a finding.
Registry projects with no designation naming Terbium
Not placed by stage: a project's own stage list is not a designation, and the lattice places only designations.
- Lynas heavy rare earth separation commencement
Sponsors: Lynas Rare Earths Limited
Project record codes: separation. Registry stages, not placed on the supply-chain lattice.
- Lofdal heavy rare earth development project
Locations: the Lofdal area of the Kunene Region, Republic of Namibia
Sponsors: Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC), TJ Namibia Rare Earths Corporation, Toyota Tsusho Corporation
Project record codes: exploration, mining. Registry stages, not placed on the supply-chain lattice.
1 capital row names this project: Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC) to TJ Namibia Rare Earths Corporation
- Round Top Mine Project
Locations: Sierra Blanca, Texas
Sponsors: USA Rare Earth, Inc.
Project record codes: mining, processing. Registry stages, not placed on the supply-chain lattice.
2 capital rows name this project: U.S. Department of Commerce to USA Rare Earth, Inc.; U.S. Department of Commerce to USA Rare Earth, Inc.
Capital and controls
Each capital row is shown at its own amount, in its own currency, exactly as the record states it. Nothing here adds up, splits or converts an amount, so a row that names several materials shows its whole amount and a part sits inside its package without being added again.
Capital rows (8 naming Terbium; 6 shown at top level, 2 inside a package)
Public commitments (6)
Committed to a recipient by a government or public enterprise, at the status each row states. A contracted, partially disbursed or disbursed row is binding because an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately by status. A contracted row need not mean funds are obligated or paid, and a partially disbursed row is not fully paid.
Provider: Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC)Recipient: TJ Namibia Rare Earths Corporation
up to CAD 47.668 million
As stated: up to 47.668 million Canadian dollars (approximately 5.5 billion yen)Equity. Partially disbursed, status date 23 Jul 2026.
Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.
Scope: names 3 materials; the amount is not divided.
Provider: U.S. Department of CommerceRecipient: USA Rare Earth, Inc.
up to USD 277 million
As stated: direct funding awards (the “Direct Funding”) with a maximum award amount of $277.0 million in the aggregateInstrument not specified. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.
Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately. Authority as stated: CHIPS Act of 2022.
Scope: names 5 materials; the amount is not divided.
Part: Instrument not specified, up to USD 132 million; not added again
Provider: U.S. Department of CommerceRecipient: USA Rare Earth, Inc.
up to USD 132 million
As stated: (a) $132.0 million for the construction of a rare earth mining and processing facility in Sierra Blanca, TexasInstrument not specified. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.
Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.
Scope: names 4 materials; the amount is not divided.
Provider: U.S. Department of CommerceRecipient: USA Rare Earth, Inc.
up to USD 1.3 billion
As stated: to guarantee the repayment by USAR and its affiliates of advances in an aggregate principal amount of $1.3 billion (“FFB Advances” and, together with the Direct Funding, the “Awards”) made by the Federal Financing BankLoan guarantee. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.
Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately. Authority as stated: CHIPS Act of 2022.
Scope: names 5 materials; the amount is not divided.
Part: Loan guarantee, up to USD 550 million; not added again
Provider: U.S. Department of CommerceRecipient: USA Rare Earth, Inc.
up to USD 550 million
As stated: (a) $550.0 million for the Round Top Mine ProjectLoan guarantee. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.
Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.
Scope: names 4 materials; the amount is not divided.
Provider: Australian GovernmentRecipient: Constitutional corporations with registered CMPTI processing activities
No amount stated
Tax credit. Authorized, status date 14 Feb 2025.
Not yet binding. Authority as stated: Future Made in Australia (Production Tax Credits and Other Measures) Act 2025 (Act No. 9 of 2025), Schedule 2, inserting Division 419 into the Income Tax Assessment Act 1997.
Scope: names 13 materials; the amount is not divided.
Joint-vehicle commitments (1)
Committed by a vehicle that public and private parties set up together. The public share is not stated.
Provider: Japan Australia Rare Earth (JARE)Recipient: Lynas Rare Earths Limited
AUD 200 million
As stated: an additional AUD 200million worth investment in the equity of Lynas Rare Earths LimitedEquity. Disbursed, date not stated.
Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.
Scope: names 3 materials; the amount is not divided.
Other commitments (1)
Committed with private capital, or capital whose source the sources do not state.
Provider: Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC), Sojitz CorporationRecipient: Lynas Rare Earths Limited
No amount stated
Offtake. Contracted, date not stated.
Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.
Scope: names 2 materials; the amount is not divided.
Control clauses (3, status on 3 Nov 2026)
MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 18
In force on 3 Nov 2026
In force, status date 4 Apr 2025
- In force, status date 4 Apr 2025
Legal basis: Export Control Law of the People's Republic of China; Regulations of the People's Republic of China on Export Control of Dual-Use Items
MOFCOM & GACC Announcement [2025] No. 18
In force on 3 Nov 2026
In force, status date 4 Apr 2025
- In force, status date 4 Apr 2025
Covered items (goods) belong at separation, refining, component manufacturing. That places the items; it is not a claim that the clause restricts that stage.
Legal basis: Export Control Law of the People's Republic of China; Regulations of the People's Republic of China on Export Control of Dual-Use Items
In force on 3 Nov 2026
In force, status date 3 Jun 2026
- In force, status date 3 Jun 2026
Explore capital rows naming Terbium and control clauses naming Terbium: all rows naming Terbium, parts and options listed separately.
Timeline
One dot for each event, placed at its event date as coded. Capital-row and clause status dates are not plotted: a status with no date has no honest position, and an event date is never used in its place.
No terbium record states a date after the as-of.
Newest events
- JPEstablishment of a Special Purpose Company for Heavy Rare Earth Development in the Republic of Namibia and Investment by JOGMEC
- USCommerce's CHIPS Program letter of intent with USA Rare Earth, and the funding and loan guarantee agreements that followed
- USAdjusting Imports of Processed Critical Minerals and Their Derivative Products Into The United States
- USFinal 2025 List of Critical Minerals
- USEnsuring National Security and Economic Resilience Through Section 232 Actions on Processed Critical Minerals and Derivative Products
- CNMOFCOM & GACC Announcement No. 18 of 2025: export controls on certain medium and heavy rare-earth-related items
Events (12)
Policy status across actors
Where each actor's coded measures on this material currently stand.
Establishment of a Special Purpose Company for Heavy Rare Earth Development in the Republic of Namibia and Investment by JOGMEC
ActiveRecords under this event: 1 capital row.
Commerce's CHIPS Program letter of intent with USA Rare Earth, and the funding and loan guarantee agreements that followed
ActiveRecords under this event: 4 capital rows, 1 control clause.
MOFCOM & GACC Announcement No. 18 of 2025: export controls on certain medium and heavy rare-earth-related items
ActiveRecords under this event: 2 control clauses.
Future Made in Australia (Production Tax Credits and Other Measures) Act 2025
In forceRecords under this event: 1 capital row.
JARE additional equity investment in Lynas and heavy rare earth offtake
ActiveRecords under this event: 2 capital rows.
Editorial notes (not coded records)
Written summaries kept from the earlier page, not coded records. A summary appears only if it passed review against the records above; the downstream-use list is exempt from that review and has not been checked against a source.
Typical downstream uses
- High-performance NdFeB magnets
- Phosphors
- Defense electronics
