Gallium

镓Ga

Records coded to Gallium, from Final List of Critical Minerals 2018 (18 May 2018) to the latest event on 9 Oct 2026. Shared stage codes are not findings.

Record as of . Counts are records of one kind at a time and are never added together.

Events
20by event date
Control clauses
4status on 3 Nov 2026
Capital rows
8a count of rows, not of money3 of them are parts of a package
Designations
2standing, not money
Projects
5registry records3 with no designation
Non-binding indications
1listed apart from capital rows
Envelopes, appropriations and lending authorities
1listed apart from capital rows
Programmes
4named by these rows
Organizations
9named by these rows
Sources
39cited by these records

Supply chain, stage by stage

Gallium's row of the lattice: what the record places at each stage. Counts are records per stage, never money; a record coded to several stages is counted at each, so the stages have no total. The last column holds records that name Gallium and record no stage, so the lattice cannot place them.

  • ExplorationNone recorded
  • Mining2 commitmentsUS1 designationEU
  • SeparationNone recorded
  • Processing6 commitmentsAU US1 clauseCN1 designationEU
  • Refining3 commitmentsAU US1 clauseCN
  • Component manufacturing2 commitmentsUS
  • Recycling1 designationEU
  • Research and developmentNone recorded
  • Cross-cuttingNone recorded
  • No stage recorded3 clausesCN US

Records by stage

Mining

Capital rows

  • up to USD 277 million

    As stated: direct funding awards (the “Direct Funding”) with a maximum award amount of $277.0 million in the aggregate

    Instrument not specified. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.

    • Part: Instrument not specified, up to USD 132 million; not added again Open row
  • up to USD 1.3 billion

    As stated: to guarantee the repayment by USAR and its affiliates of advances in an aggregate principal amount of $1.3 billion (“FFB Advances” and, together with the Direct Funding, the “Awards”) made by the Federal Financing Bank

    Loan guarantee. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.

    • Part: Loan guarantee, up to USD 550 million; not added again Open row

Control clauses

None

Designationsstanding, not money

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: European Bauxites, Metlen Energy and Metals

    Names: Gallium

    Also names: bauxite/alumina/aluminium, not a tracked material

    Project record also names: bauxite/alumina/aluminium, not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: Greece

    Sponsors: European Bauxites, Metlen Energy and Metals

Processing

Capital rows

Control clauses

Show all 1
  • MOFCOM/GACC Announcement No. 23 (2023)

    In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 1 Aug 2023

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

Designationsstanding, not money

Show all 1
  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: European Bauxites, Metlen Energy and Metals

    Names: Gallium

    Also names: bauxite/alumina/aluminium, not a tracked material

    Project record also names: bauxite/alumina/aluminium, not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: Greece

    Sponsors: European Bauxites, Metlen Energy and Metals

Refining

Capital rows

Control clauses

  • MOFCOM/GACC Announcement No. 23 (2023)

    In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 1 Aug 2023

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

Designationsstanding, not money

None

Component manufacturing

Capital rows

  • up to USD 277 million

    As stated: direct funding awards (the “Direct Funding”) with a maximum award amount of $277.0 million in the aggregate

    Instrument not specified. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.

    • Part: Instrument not specified, up to USD 132 million; not added again Open row
  • up to USD 1.3 billion

    As stated: to guarantee the repayment by USAR and its affiliates of advances in an aggregate principal amount of $1.3 billion (“FFB Advances” and, together with the Direct Funding, the “Awards”) made by the Federal Financing Bank

    Loan guarantee. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.

    • Part: Loan guarantee, up to USD 550 million; not added again Open row

Control clauses

None

Designationsstanding, not money

None

Recycling

Capital rows

None

Control clauses

None

Designationsstanding, not money

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: CMK s.r.o.

    Names: Gallium

    Project registry

    Locations: Slovakia

    Sponsors: CMK s.r.o.

No stage recorded

These name Gallium but record no stage, so the lattice cannot place them.

Control clauses

None recorded at: Exploration, Separation, Research and development, Cross-cutting.

A designation is a government's recognition of a project under a named scheme. It records standing, not money, and covers only the stages and materials the designation names. A project is the registry record of the site or venture. Shared stage codes are not a finding.

Registry projects with no designation naming Gallium

Not placed by stage: a project's own stage list is not a designation, and the lattice places only designations.

Capital and controls

Each capital row is shown at its own amount, in its own currency, exactly as the record states it. Nothing here adds up, splits or converts an amount, so a row that names several materials shows its whole amount and a part sits inside its package without being added again.

Capital rows (10 naming Gallium; 8 shown at top level, 2 inside a package)

Public commitments (8)

Committed to a recipient by a government or public enterprise, at the status each row states. A contracted, partially disbursed or disbursed row is binding because an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately by status. A contracted row need not mean funds are obligated or paid, and a partially disbursed row is not fully paid.

  • Provider: Australian GovernmentRecipient: Alcoa-Sojitz Gallium Recovery Project

    up to USD 200 million

    As stated: up to USD$200 million in concessional equity finance for the project

    Equity. Announced, status date 20 Oct 2025.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names Gallium only.

  • Provider: U.S. Department of CommerceRecipient: USA Rare Earth, Inc.

    up to USD 277 million

    As stated: direct funding awards (the “Direct Funding”) with a maximum award amount of $277.0 million in the aggregate

    Instrument not specified. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.

    Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately. Authority as stated: CHIPS Act of 2022.

    Scope: names 5 materials; the amount is not divided.

    • Part: Instrument not specified, up to USD 132 million; not added again

      Provider: U.S. Department of CommerceRecipient: USA Rare Earth, Inc.

      up to USD 132 million

      As stated: (a) $132.0 million for the construction of a rare earth mining and processing facility in Sierra Blanca, Texas

      Instrument not specified. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.

      Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

      Scope: names 4 materials; the amount is not divided.

  • Provider: U.S. Department of CommerceRecipient: USA Rare Earth, Inc.

    up to USD 1.3 billion

    As stated: to guarantee the repayment by USAR and its affiliates of advances in an aggregate principal amount of $1.3 billion (“FFB Advances” and, together with the Direct Funding, the “Awards”) made by the Federal Financing Bank

    Loan guarantee. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.

    Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately. Authority as stated: CHIPS Act of 2022.

    Scope: names 5 materials; the amount is not divided.

    • Part: Loan guarantee, up to USD 550 million; not added again

      Provider: U.S. Department of CommerceRecipient: USA Rare Earth, Inc.

      up to USD 550 million

      As stated: (a) $550.0 million for the Round Top Mine Project

      Loan guarantee. Contracted, status date 3 Jun 2026.

      Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately.

      Scope: names 4 materials; the amount is not divided.

  • Provider: Australian GovernmentRecipient: Alcoa-Sojitz Gallium Recovery Project

    No amount stated

    Offtake. Announced, status date 20 Oct 2025.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names Gallium only.

  • Provider: Australian GovernmentRecipient: Constitutional corporations with registered CMPTI processing activities

    No amount stated

    Tax credit. Authorized, status date 14 Feb 2025.

    Not yet binding. Authority as stated: Future Made in Australia (Production Tax Credits and Other Measures) Act 2025 (Act No. 9 of 2025), Schedule 2, inserting Division 419 into the Income Tax Assessment Act 1997.

    Scope: names 13 materials; the amount is not divided.

  • Provider: United States GovernmentRecipient: Alcoa-Sojitz Gallium Recovery Project

    No amount stated

    Equity. Announced, status date 20 Oct 2025.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names Gallium only.

Non-binding indications (1)

Non-binding letters of intent or interest that name an amount: possible support, not a commitment, capital or a backer.

  • Provider: Canada Growth FundRecipient: Teck Resources Limited

    up to CAD 400 million

    As stated: up to $400 million

    Instrument not specified. Announced, status date 7 Jul 2026.

    Not yet binding. Authority as stated: Canada Critical Minerals Accelerator.

    Scope: names 3 materials; the amount is not divided.

Envelopes, appropriations and lending authorities (1)

Ceilings that awards are drawn from. An award is never a division of its envelope.

  • Provider: Australian Government

    AUD 1.2 billion

    As stated: $1.2 billion Critical Minerals Strategic Reserve

    Several instruments, split not stated. Announced, status date 12 Jan 2026.

    Not yet binding.

    Scope: names 3 materials; the amount is not divided.

Control clauses (4, status on 3 Nov 2026)

Explore capital rows naming Gallium and control clauses naming Gallium: all rows naming Gallium, parts and options listed separately.

Timeline

One dot for each event, placed at its event date as coded. Capital-row and clause status dates are not plotted: a status with no date has no honest position, and an event date is never used in its place.

Event date (as coded)Gold rule: as of 3 Nov 2026

Dates stated after the as-of: 27 Nov 2026 (control clause ctl-cn-us-2024-gallium-germanium-antimony-denial).

Newest events

Events (20)

Policy status across actors

Where each actor's coded measures on this material currently stand.

CNChinaActive
USUnited StatesActiveIn forceSuperseded
EUEuropean UnionUnclearIn force
AUAustraliaActiveIn force
CACanadaActive
GBUnited KingdomIn forceSuperseded

Editorial notes (not coded records)

Written summaries kept from the earlier page, not coded records. A summary appears only if it passed review against the records above; the downstream-use list is exempt from that review and has not been checked against a source.

Typical downstream uses

  • GaAs / GaN semiconductors
  • Radar and defense electronics
  • LEDs
  • Photovoltaics