← Capital
AUAustraliaAustralian Government

Alcoa-Sojitz Gallium Recovery Project

Gallium recovery at the Alcoa-Sojitz project

CommitmentEquityPublicAnnounced

fin-au-alcoa-sojitz-gallium-2025-equity

Reading this record

What the evidence says — and does not say

What kind of figure?
CommitmentMoney, or a money-like promise, committed to a named recipient or project. The only role ever summed.
What has happened legally?
AnnouncedPublicly announced; no decision or agreement is stated.
Has money been paid?
Follow the payment evidenceThis status does not itself establish a cash payment. In particular, a signed contract does not necessarily establish an obligation of funds.
What does it link to?
Project attributionOne registered project is linked directly to this row. The link alone does not prove the amount was paid or that the project advanced.

This is a commitment role, but the financial status still determines legal standing and payment. Funding and verified industrial outcomes remain separate. A financial record alone never independently verifies construction, commissioning or production. Read SMPT's counting and evidence rules.

Amount

up toUSD200 million

As stated “up to USD$200 million in concessional equity finance for the project”

USD 200,000,000 · Up to · Currency stated in the source

Place in the money chain

A figure is never counted together with a figure it is part of or drawn from.

This row is part of

Stated by Prime Minister of Australia · Fourth to sixth paragraphs — The release introduces the project as one of the pipeline's priority projects with financial commitments announced the same day; that it counts towards Australia's USD 1 billion is implied, not stated.

Record

Provider
Australian GovernmentAustralian GovernmentGovernment body
Legal authority
Not stated
Programme
None named
Recipient
Alcoa-Sojitz Gallium Recovery Project
Project
Gallium recovery at the Alcoa-Sojitz projectAlcoa-Sojitz Gallium Recovery Project capital stack →
Facility
Not stated
Location
Wagerup, Western AustraliaAU
Stages
ProcessingSingle stage
Materials
GalliumTracked materials only

Status

Financial and physical progress are separate histories. The last entry is current.

Financial

  1. Announcedcurrent

    Prime Minister of Australia

Implementation

  1. Constructioncurrent

    Alcoa states that the 24 August 2026 groundbreaking marked the start of construction at Wagerup.

    Alcoa Corporation

Stated outcomes

Who says it matters: a company target is not a government commitment.

Supply shareStated by the government

up to 10 % of total global gallium supply

“This project will provide up to 10 per cent of total global gallium supply.”

The Australian Government's statement of the project's potential, not an estimate made here.

Prime Minister of Australia

Notes

The release says the equity finance "includes a right of offtake for the Australian Government", recorded as its own row, and that "Japan has already provided 50 percent of the project costs to date"; no Japanese row is recorded because no amount or instrument is stated. Lifecycle review on 2 October 2026 confirmed physical construction began on 24 August 2026. The reviewed primary sources did not establish that this specific government equity/offtake instrument had been legally executed or paid, so its financial status is not promoted beyond the existing announced state.

Evidence

Every populated field names the source that states it, how directly, and where.

  1. Historic critical minerals framework signed by President Trump and Prime Minister Albanese

    Prime Minister of Australia

    Fields supported
    Instrument · Value role · Capital source · Amount · Provider · Recipient · Project · Location · Materials · Status · Outcomes
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Fifth and sixth paragraphs
    View source dossier →
  2. Historic critical minerals framework signed by President Trump and Prime Minister Albanese

    Prime Minister of Australia

    Fields supported
    Related commitments
    Evidence level
    Ambiguous
    Location in document
    Fourth paragraph
    Qualification
    Presented as one of the pipeline's priority projects; the release does not say this equity counts towards the USD 1 billion.
    View source dossier →
  3. Historic critical minerals framework signed by President Trump and Prime Minister Albanese

    Prime Minister of Australia

    Fields supported
    Supply-chain stages
    Evidence level
    Ambiguous
    Location in document
    Sixth paragraph
    Qualification
    "Gallium Recovery Project": recovery of gallium in processing, as the project name describes it.
    View source dossier →
  4. Australia, Japan, the United States and Alcoa Break Ground on Gallium Project in Western Australia

    Alcoa Corporation

    Fields supported
    Status
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Opening paragraphs
    Qualification
    Supports the project's physical construction status only; it does not establish execution or payment of this specific public financial instrument.
    View source dossier →