{
  "project": {
    "id": "prj-na-lofdal",
    "name": "Lofdal heavy rare earth development project",
    "sponsorOrgIds": [
      "org-jp-jogmec",
      "org-tj-namibia-rare-earths",
      "org-toyota-tsusho"
    ],
    "locations": [
      {
        "countryCode": "NA",
        "subnational": "Kunene Region",
        "asStated": "the Lofdal area of the Kunene Region, Republic of Namibia"
      }
    ],
    "stages": [
      "exploration",
      "mining"
    ],
    "materialIds": [
      "rare-earth-elements",
      "dysprosium",
      "terbium"
    ],
    "materialAttribution": "tracked_only",
    "untrackedMaterialsAsStated": [],
    "evidence": [
      {
        "sourceId": "src-jogmec-lofdal-en",
        "supports": [
          "name",
          "sponsors",
          "location",
          "materials"
        ],
        "evidence": "explicit",
        "locator": "First to third paragraphs",
        "note": "\"JOGMEC ... and Toyota Tsusho ... are currently advancing a heavy rare earth development project\"; TJ is \"a special purpose company to carry out the project\"."
      },
      {
        "sourceId": "src-jogmec-lofdal-ja",
        "supports": [
          "stages"
        ],
        "evidence": "explicit",
        "locator": "Title",
        "note": "レアアース探査・開発事業 (rare earth exploration and development)."
      },
      {
        "sourceId": "src-ncmi-lofdal-jv-20260730",
        "supports": [
          "name",
          "sponsors"
        ],
        "evidence": "explicit",
        "locator": "Page 1, opening transaction and investment paragraphs",
        "note": "The project company identifies Lofdal, JOGMEC, Toyota Tsusho and the newly established TJNREC. Its 50% participating-interest transfer is expressly subject to prior shareholder and TSX Venture Exchange approval; the release reports ongoing definitive-feasibility work rather than construction."
      },
      {
        "sourceId": "src-ncmi-lofdal-jv-update-20260831",
        "supports": [
          "name",
          "sponsors"
        ],
        "evidence": "explicit",
        "locator": "Page 1, opening transaction-update paragraphs",
        "note": "The named partners continue to seek shareholder consent and regulatory approvals to implement the project-interest transaction; no completed transfer is asserted."
      }
    ],
    "notes": "The 30 July 2026 recipient release reports ongoing definitive-feasibility execution, including pilot-scale metallurgy, mineral separation testwork, engineering, environmental permitting and mine development planning. The original DFS start date is not stated. The 31 August 2026 update says implementation of the underlying project-interest transaction still requires shareholder consent and regulatory approvals, including final TSX Venture Exchange approval. A completed earn-in expenditure requirement is distinct from completion of that conditional interest transfer, and from JOGMEC's initial investment in TJ. Review on 3 October 2026 did not establish commercial mine construction, operation or a completed final investment decision."
  },
  "governments": [
    "japan"
  ],
  "providerOrgIds": [
    "org-jp-jogmec"
  ],
  "layers": [
    {
      "layer": "public_commitment",
      "rowIds": [
        "fin-jp-jogmec-lofdal-2026-equity"
      ],
      "totals": {
        "currencies": [
          {
            "currency": "CAD",
            "countedIds": [
              "fin-jp-jogmec-lofdal-2026-equity"
            ],
            "nestedIds": [],
            "status": "summed",
            "instruments": [
              {
                "instrument": "equity",
                "countedIds": [
                  "fin-jp-jogmec-lofdal-2026-equity"
                ],
                "summed": true,
                "byQualifier": {
                  "up_to": "47668000"
                },
                "binding": {
                  "up_to": "47668000"
                },
                "notYetBinding": {}
              }
            ],
            "overlap": null
          }
        ],
        "unquantifiedIds": [],
        "endedIds": [],
        "statusNotStatedIds": []
      }
    }
  ],
  "associatedRowIds": [],
  "designationIds": [],
  "latestImplementation": {
    "status": "feasibility",
    "date": null,
    "rowId": "fin-jp-jogmec-lofdal-2026-equity",
    "sourceId": "src-jogmec-lofdal-en"
  },
  "reviewedProjectMilestones": [],
  "reviewedMilestoneSources": [],
  "reviewedMilestoneEvidenceBasis": "human-reviewed original publisher claim; not independent on-site or financial verification",
  "sources": [
    {
      "id": "src-jogmec-lofdal-en",
      "title": "Establishment of a Special Purpose Company for Heavy Rare Earth Development in the Republic of Namibia and Investment by JOGMEC",
      "publisher": "Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC) / Toyota Tsusho Corporation",
      "url": "https://www.jogmec.go.jp/english/news/release/release_00451.html",
      "language": "en",
      "datePublished": "2026-07-30",
      "dateAccessed": "2026-10-03",
      "sourceType": "official",
      "confidence": "official_translation",
      "notes": "JOGMEC own English edition of the same release — the issuing body official translation, which is why the framing anchor carries quoteEnSource official. Read in full 2026-08-11 and re-read at promotion 2026-08-12. Two divergences from the Japanese are recorded: the yen figure is rounded to approximately 5.5 billion yen against 約54.6億円, and the English title says Heavy Rare Earth Development where the Japanese says レアアース探査・開発事業 (rare-earth exploration and development). Rechecked in full on 3 October 2026. The initial SPC investment remains explicitly dated 23 July 2026, but its amount is not disclosed; the up-to-CAD-47.668-million figure is the investment ceiling. The FY2026 commercialization decision is a target, not an achieved FID or construction milestone."
    },
    {
      "id": "src-jogmec-lofdal-ja",
      "title": "ナミビア共和国におけるレアアース探査・開発事業を行う特定目的会社の設立およびJOGMECの出資について",
      "publisher": "独立行政法人エネルギー・金属鉱物資源機構 (JOGMEC) / 豊田通商株式会社",
      "url": "https://www.jogmec.go.jp/news/release/release_01320.html",
      "language": "ja",
      "datePublished": "2026-07-30",
      "dateAccessed": "2026-10-03",
      "sourceType": "official",
      "confidence": "primary",
      "notes": "Japanese original of the joint JOGMEC / Toyota Tsusho release. Read in full 2026-08-11 and re-read at promotion 2026-08-12. Source of the verbatim Japanese framing anchor and of the 最大47.668百万カナダドル / 約54.6億円 figure. The 安定供給 sentence coded as the framing anchor is JOGMEC own; the サプライチェーン強靭化 sentence in the same release is Toyota Tsusho and is not coded. Rechecked in full on 3 October 2026. The initial SPC investment remains explicitly dated 23 July 2026, but its amount is not disclosed; the up-to-CAD-47.668-million figure is the investment ceiling. The FY2026 commercialization decision is a target, not an achieved FID or construction milestone."
    },
    {
      "id": "src-ncmi-lofdal-jv-20260730",
      "title": "Namibia Critical Metals Announces Completion of Japan’s C$23 Million Earn-In and Formation of Strategic Joint Venture Company for the Lofdal Heavy Rare Earth Project",
      "publisher": "Namibia Critical Metals Inc.",
      "url": "https://www.namibiacriticalmetals.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/260730-TJNRE-Earn-In-Completion-SEDAR.pdf",
      "language": "en",
      "datePublished": "2026-07-30",
      "dateAccessed": "2026-10-03",
      "sourceType": "official",
      "confidence": "primary",
      "notes": "Full four-page company-hosted original PDF read on 3 October 2026. It distinguishes the completed C$23 million earn-in, the approximately C$11 million expanded DFS budget, and JOGMEC's up-to-C$47.668 million investment in TJNREC with an initial investment on 23 July. It does not quantify the initial SPC investment. Transfer of the 50% project interest is subject to prior shareholder and TSX Venture Exchange approvals. Ongoing pilot-scale work, engineering, permitting and mine planning remain definitive-feasibility activities; pre-FID work is not commercial construction or operation."
    },
    {
      "id": "src-ncmi-lofdal-jv-update-20260831",
      "title": "Namibia Critical Metals Provides Update on Lofdal Joint Venture Transaction",
      "publisher": "Namibia Critical Metals Inc.",
      "url": "https://www.namibiacriticalmetals.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/260831-JV-Transaction-Update-SEDAR.pdf",
      "language": "en",
      "datePublished": "2026-08-31",
      "dateAccessed": "2026-10-03",
      "sourceType": "official",
      "confidence": "primary",
      "notes": "Full three-page company-hosted original PDF read on 3 October 2026. The document is dated 31 August despite its September upload directory. The opening paragraphs say the project-interest transaction still requires shareholder consent and regulatory approvals, including final TSX Venture Exchange approval. Its completed C$23 million expenditure requirement does not establish that the conditional transfer is complete or disclose payments under JOGMEC's newer SPC equity commitment."
    }
  ]
}