{
  "projectionVersion": "smpt-investigation-1",
  "projectId": "prj-na-lofdal",
  "corpus": {
    "revision": "2026-11-03",
    "legalStatusCutoff": "2026-11-03",
    "view": "current_corpus_revision",
    "notice": "Curated corpus revision, not source freshness or historical known-as-of coverage. Financial histories retain their own status dates."
  },
  "project": {
    "id": "prj-na-lofdal",
    "name": "Lofdal heavy rare earth development project",
    "sponsorOrgIds": [
      "org-jp-jogmec",
      "org-tj-namibia-rare-earths",
      "org-toyota-tsusho"
    ],
    "locations": [
      {
        "countryCode": "NA",
        "subnational": "Kunene Region",
        "asStated": "the Lofdal area of the Kunene Region, Republic of Namibia"
      }
    ],
    "stages": [
      "exploration",
      "mining"
    ],
    "materialIds": [
      "rare-earth-elements",
      "dysprosium",
      "terbium"
    ],
    "materialAttribution": "tracked_only",
    "untrackedMaterialsAsStated": [],
    "evidence": [
      {
        "sourceId": "src-jogmec-lofdal-en",
        "supports": [
          "name",
          "sponsors",
          "location",
          "materials"
        ],
        "evidence": "explicit",
        "locator": "First to third paragraphs",
        "note": "\"JOGMEC ... and Toyota Tsusho ... are currently advancing a heavy rare earth development project\"; TJ is \"a special purpose company to carry out the project\"."
      },
      {
        "sourceId": "src-jogmec-lofdal-ja",
        "supports": [
          "stages"
        ],
        "evidence": "explicit",
        "locator": "Title",
        "note": "レアアース探査・開発事業 (rare earth exploration and development)."
      },
      {
        "sourceId": "src-ncmi-lofdal-jv-20260730",
        "supports": [
          "name",
          "sponsors"
        ],
        "evidence": "explicit",
        "locator": "Page 1, opening transaction and investment paragraphs",
        "note": "The project company identifies Lofdal, JOGMEC, Toyota Tsusho and the newly established TJNREC. Its 50% participating-interest transfer is expressly subject to prior shareholder and TSX Venture Exchange approval; the release reports ongoing definitive-feasibility work rather than construction."
      },
      {
        "sourceId": "src-ncmi-lofdal-jv-update-20260831",
        "supports": [
          "name",
          "sponsors"
        ],
        "evidence": "explicit",
        "locator": "Page 1, opening transaction-update paragraphs",
        "note": "The named partners continue to seek shareholder consent and regulatory approvals to implement the project-interest transaction; no completed transfer is asserted."
      }
    ],
    "notes": "The 30 July 2026 recipient release reports ongoing definitive-feasibility execution, including pilot-scale metallurgy, mineral separation testwork, engineering, environmental permitting and mine development planning. The original DFS start date is not stated. The 31 August 2026 update says implementation of the underlying project-interest transaction still requires shareholder consent and regulatory approvals, including final TSX Venture Exchange approval. A completed earn-in expenditure requirement is distinct from completion of that conditional interest transfer, and from JOGMEC's initial investment in TJ. Review on 3 October 2026 did not establish commercial mine construction, operation or a completed final investment decision."
  },
  "organizations": [
    {
      "id": "org-jp-jogmec",
      "name": "Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC)",
      "nameOriginal": "独立行政法人エネルギー・金属鉱物資源機構",
      "aliases": [
        "JOGMEC"
      ],
      "kind": "government",
      "roles": [
        {
          "role": "registered_sponsor",
          "recordId": "prj-na-lofdal"
        },
        {
          "role": "provider",
          "recordId": "fin-jp-jogmec-lofdal-2026-equity"
        }
      ],
      "evidence": [
        {
          "sourceId": "src-jogmec-lofdal-ja",
          "supports": [
            "name",
            "kind",
            "country",
            "actor"
          ],
          "evidence": "explicit",
          "locator": "Masthead and first paragraph",
          "note": "Named as 独立行政法人エネルギー・金属鉱物資源機構 (本部：東京都港区). 独立行政法人 is an incorporated administrative agency, a body of the Japanese state."
        },
        {
          "sourceId": "src-jogmec-lofdal-en",
          "supports": [
            "name"
          ],
          "evidence": "explicit",
          "locator": "First paragraph",
          "note": null
        }
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "org-tj-namibia-rare-earths",
      "name": "TJ Namibia Rare Earths Corporation",
      "nameOriginal": "TJ Namibia Rare Earths株式会社",
      "aliases": [
        "TJ"
      ],
      "kind": "project_company",
      "roles": [
        {
          "role": "registered_sponsor",
          "recordId": "prj-na-lofdal"
        },
        {
          "role": "recipient",
          "recordId": "fin-jp-jogmec-lofdal-2026-equity"
        }
      ],
      "evidence": [
        {
          "sourceId": "src-jogmec-lofdal-en",
          "supports": [
            "name",
            "kind",
            "country",
            "parents"
          ],
          "evidence": "explicit",
          "locator": "Second paragraph; Overview of TJ (head office Minato-ku, Tokyo)",
          "note": "\"Toyota Tsusho has established TJ Namibia Rare Earths Corporation (hereinafter \\\"TJ\\\"), a special purpose company to carry out the project\""
        },
        {
          "sourceId": "src-jogmec-lofdal-ja",
          "supports": [
            "name"
          ],
          "evidence": "explicit",
          "locator": "First paragraph",
          "note": "特定目的会社「TJ Namibia Rare Earths株式会社」"
        }
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "org-toyota-tsusho",
      "name": "Toyota Tsusho Corporation",
      "nameOriginal": "豊田通商株式会社",
      "aliases": [
        "Toyota Tsusho"
      ],
      "kind": "company",
      "roles": [
        {
          "role": "registered_sponsor",
          "recordId": "prj-na-lofdal"
        }
      ],
      "evidence": [
        {
          "sourceId": "src-jogmec-lofdal-en",
          "supports": [
            "name",
            "kind",
            "country"
          ],
          "evidence": "explicit",
          "locator": "First paragraph (Head Office: Nagoya, Aichi)",
          "note": null
        },
        {
          "sourceId": "src-jogmec-lofdal-ja",
          "supports": [
            "name"
          ],
          "evidence": "explicit",
          "locator": "First paragraph",
          "note": null
        }
      ]
    }
  ],
  "financialInstruments": [
    {
      "id": "fin-jp-jogmec-lofdal-2026-equity",
      "eventId": "evt-jp-jogmec-lofdal-2026",
      "instrument": "equity",
      "valueRole": "commitment",
      "capitalSource": "public",
      "projectRelationship": "directly_attributable",
      "projectId": "prj-na-lofdal",
      "associatedProjectIds": [],
      "amount": {
        "value": "47668000",
        "currency": "CAD",
        "qualifier": "up_to",
        "amountAsStated": "up to 47.668 million Canadian dollars (approximately 5.5 billion yen)",
        "currencyBasis": "stated",
        "basisNote": null,
        "basisLabel": null
      },
      "amountBasis": "current_recorded_terms_not_historical_totals",
      "provider": "Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC)",
      "providerJurisdiction": "japan",
      "providerOrgIds": [
        "org-jp-jogmec"
      ],
      "recipient": "TJ Namibia Rare Earths Corporation (special purpose company established by Toyota Tsusho)",
      "recipientOrgIds": [
        "org-tj-namibia-rare-earths"
      ],
      "programmeId": null,
      "legalAuthority": null,
      "facility": null,
      "locations": [
        {
          "countryCode": "NA",
          "subnational": "Kunene Region",
          "asStated": "the Lofdal area of the Kunene Region, Republic of Namibia"
        }
      ],
      "materialIds": [
        "rare-earth-elements",
        "dysprosium",
        "terbium"
      ],
      "stages": [
        "exploration",
        "mining"
      ],
      "currentFinancialStatus": "partially_disbursed",
      "financialStatusHistory": [
        {
          "status": "decided",
          "date": null,
          "sourceId": "src-jogmec-lofdal-en",
          "note": "\"JOGMEC has decided to invest up to 47.668 million Canadian dollars\"; the decision date is not stated."
        },
        {
          "status": "partially_disbursed",
          "date": "2026-07-23",
          "sourceId": "src-jogmec-lofdal-en",
          "note": "\"The initial investment was made on July 23, 2026.\""
        }
      ],
      "legacyPhysicalObservations": [
        {
          "status": "feasibility",
          "date": null,
          "sourceId": "src-jogmec-lofdal-en",
          "note": "A Definitive Feasibility Study is being conducted through TJ."
        }
      ],
      "terms": [],
      "statedOutcomes": [
        {
          "metric": "other",
          "value": null,
          "qualifier": null,
          "unit": null,
          "targetDate": null,
          "asStated": "JOGMEC and Toyota Tsusho ... aim to make a final decision on commercialization during FY2026.",
          "statedBy": "government",
          "sourceId": "src-jogmec-lofdal-en",
          "note": "Joint statement by JOGMEC and Toyota Tsusho; Japanese FY2026 runs April 2026 to March 2027."
        }
      ],
      "relationships": [],
      "evidence": [
        {
          "sourceId": "src-jogmec-lofdal-en",
          "supports": [
            "instrument",
            "value_role",
            "capital_source",
            "amount",
            "provider",
            "recipient",
            "project",
            "location",
            "materials",
            "status",
            "outcomes"
          ],
          "evidence": "explicit",
          "locator": "Second to fourth paragraphs",
          "note": null
        },
        {
          "sourceId": "src-jogmec-lofdal-ja",
          "supports": [
            "stages"
          ],
          "evidence": "explicit",
          "locator": "Title",
          "note": "The Japanese title describes the SPC's business as レアアース探査・開発事業 (rare earth exploration and development)."
        },
        {
          "sourceId": "src-ncmi-lofdal-jv-20260730",
          "supports": [
            "amount",
            "project",
            "status"
          ],
          "evidence": "explicit",
          "locator": "Page 1, investment paragraphs; page 2, Advancing a Strategic Heavy Rare Earth Supply Chain",
          "note": "The project company corroborates JOGMEC's up-to-CAD-47.668-million SPC investment and the initial investment on 23 July, without disclosing the paid amount. Its completed CAD 23 million earn-in and approximately CAD 11 million expanded DFS budget are distinct figures, not payments measured against this equity commitment. The DFS includes pilot-scale metallurgical work, separation testwork, engineering, permitting and mine planning; it is not a construction or operating milestone."
        },
        {
          "sourceId": "src-ncmi-lofdal-jv-update-20260831",
          "supports": [
            "project"
          ],
          "evidence": "explicit",
          "locator": "Page 1, opening transaction-update paragraphs",
          "note": "The underlying project-interest transaction still requires shareholder consent and regulatory approvals, including final TSX Venture Exchange approval. These conditions concern implementation of that transaction and do not reverse JOGMEC's disclosed initial capitalization of TJ."
        }
      ],
      "notes": "The amount is in Canadian dollars in both the Japanese and English releases; the yen figure is an approximation given in the release (約54.6億円 in the Japanese text, \"approximately 5.5 billion yen\" in English) and is not recorded as a separate amount. Lifecycle review on 3 October 2026 retains partially_disbursed financial status: the initial SPC investment occurred on 23 July, but the initial investment amount is not disclosed. Namibia Critical Metals' completed C$23 million earn-in and approximately C$11 million expanded DFS budget are separate from JOGMEC's up-to-C$47.668 million SPC equity commitment; neither is coded as a paid amount against it. The recipient's 30 July release confirms ongoing DFS execution, including pilot-scale work and engineering, while its 31 August update says the underlying project-interest transaction still requires shareholder consent and regulatory approvals. Those transaction conditions do not negate the initial SPC investment. Feasibility remains the physical status, with its actual start date unknown; the reviewed sources do not establish commercial mine construction, operation or a completed final investment decision. The FY2026 commercialization decision remains a target."
    }
  ],
  "nonallocativeAssociations": [],
  "designations": [],
  "nativeMilestones": [],
  "policyContexts": [
    {
      "id": "evt-jp-jogmec-lofdal-2026",
      "relationship": "finance_or_designation_parent",
      "jurisdiction": "japan",
      "issuingBody": "JOGMEC (Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security), jointly with Toyota Tsusho Corporation",
      "titleEn": "Establishment of a Special Purpose Company for Heavy Rare Earth Development in the Republic of Namibia and Investment by JOGMEC",
      "titleOriginal": "ナミビア共和国におけるレアアース探査・開発事業を行う特定目的会社の設立およびJOGMECの出資について",
      "documentNumber": null,
      "date": "2026-07-23",
      "policyStatus": "active",
      "sourceIds": [
        "src-jogmec-lofdal-ja",
        "src-jogmec-lofdal-en"
      ]
    }
  ],
  "coannouncedControls": [],
  "financePackageReferences": [],
  "unknowns": [
    "No project-native source-reviewed industrial milestone is published. Attributed activity in financing histories remains a separate evidence class; no exact milestone date or facility-wide conclusion is inferred.",
    "Historical amount review is incomplete. Current amounts cannot be read as a time series of earlier commitments.",
    "Structural links and shared materials do not demonstrate that a government measure caused an industrial outcome."
  ],
  "sources": [
    {
      "id": "src-jogmec-lofdal-en",
      "title": "Establishment of a Special Purpose Company for Heavy Rare Earth Development in the Republic of Namibia and Investment by JOGMEC",
      "publisher": "Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC) / Toyota Tsusho Corporation",
      "url": "https://www.jogmec.go.jp/english/news/release/release_00451.html",
      "language": "en",
      "sourceType": "official",
      "confidence": "official_translation",
      "publishedOn": "2026-07-30",
      "accessedOn": "2026-10-03"
    },
    {
      "id": "src-jogmec-lofdal-ja",
      "title": "ナミビア共和国におけるレアアース探査・開発事業を行う特定目的会社の設立およびJOGMECの出資について",
      "publisher": "独立行政法人エネルギー・金属鉱物資源機構 (JOGMEC) / 豊田通商株式会社",
      "url": "https://www.jogmec.go.jp/news/release/release_01320.html",
      "language": "ja",
      "sourceType": "official",
      "confidence": "primary",
      "publishedOn": "2026-07-30",
      "accessedOn": "2026-10-03"
    },
    {
      "id": "src-ncmi-lofdal-jv-20260730",
      "title": "Namibia Critical Metals Announces Completion of Japan’s C$23 Million Earn-In and Formation of Strategic Joint Venture Company for the Lofdal Heavy Rare Earth Project",
      "publisher": "Namibia Critical Metals Inc.",
      "url": "https://www.namibiacriticalmetals.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/260730-TJNRE-Earn-In-Completion-SEDAR.pdf",
      "language": "en",
      "sourceType": "official",
      "confidence": "primary",
      "publishedOn": "2026-07-30",
      "accessedOn": "2026-10-03"
    },
    {
      "id": "src-ncmi-lofdal-jv-update-20260831",
      "title": "Namibia Critical Metals Provides Update on Lofdal Joint Venture Transaction",
      "publisher": "Namibia Critical Metals Inc.",
      "url": "https://www.namibiacriticalmetals.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/260831-JV-Transaction-Update-SEDAR.pdf",
      "language": "en",
      "sourceType": "official",
      "confidence": "primary",
      "publishedOn": "2026-08-31",
      "accessedOn": "2026-10-03"
    }
  ],
  "limitations": [
    "Policy contexts here parent existing finance or designation records; a shared material or date never creates a causal edge.",
    "Coannounced controls are announcement siblings only, not project-specific restrictions or effects.",
    "Direct project attribution and nonallocative association are different. No individual monetary allocation, financial sum or payment conclusion is authorized.",
    "Financing statuses describe the current corpus revision. Legacy implementation observations require scoped review and are not project-native milestones.",
    "A milestone's event/target date, publication/access horizon and reviewer date are separate. A planned target is not automatically occurred.",
    "An absent reviewed milestone means no approved entry in SMPT, not that the facility is inactive or failed.",
    "Amounts retain current source-stated terms, original currency and exact decimal strings. This packet computes no historical financial totals or project-wide monetary allocation.",
    "Published source review does not establish independent on-site verification. Source, financial-status, occurrence, target and review dates remain distinct."
  ]
}
