Germanium

锗Ge

Records coded to Germanium, from Final List of Critical Minerals 2018 (18 May 2018) to the latest event on 9 Oct 2026. Shared stage codes are not findings.

Record as of . Counts are records of one kind at a time and are never added together.

Events
18by event date
Control clauses
3status on 3 Nov 2026
Capital rows
3a count of rows, not of money0 of them are parts of a package
Designations
3standing, not money
Projects
6registry records3 with no designation
Non-binding indications
1listed apart from capital rows
Programmes
2named by these rows
Organizations
8named by these rows
Sources
40cited by these records

Supply chain, stage by stage

Germanium's row of the lattice: what the record places at each stage. Counts are records per stage, never money; a record coded to several stages is counted at each, so the stages have no total. The last column holds records that name Germanium and record no stage, so the lattice cannot place them.

  • ExplorationNone recorded
  • MiningNone recorded
  • SeparationNone recorded
  • Processing1 commitmentAU1 clauseCN1 designationEU
  • Refining3 commitmentsAU US1 clauseCN
  • Component manufacturing1 commitmentUS
  • Recycling1 commitmentUS1 designationEU
  • Research and developmentNone recorded
  • Cross-cuttingNone recorded
  • No stage recorded2 clausesCN1 designationEU

Records by stage

Processing

Capital rows

Control clauses

  • MOFCOM/GACC Announcement No. 23 (2023)

    In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 1 Aug 2023

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

Designationsstanding, not money

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Umicore

    Names: Germanium

    Project registry

    Locations: Belgium

    Sponsors: Umicore

Refining

Capital rows

Control clauses

  • MOFCOM/GACC Announcement No. 23 (2023)

    In force on 3 Nov 2026In force, status date 1 Aug 2023

    Covered items (goods) belong here. That places the items, not a claim that the clause restricts this stage.

Designationsstanding, not money

None

Component manufacturing

Capital rows

Control clauses

None

Designationsstanding, not money

None

Recycling

Capital rows

Control clauses

None

Designationsstanding, not money

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 9 Oct 2026. Standing, not money.

    Holder: TDM Electronics Inc.

    Names: Germanium

    Also names: copper, bauxite/alumina/aluminium, platinum group metals, not a tracked material

    Project record also names: copper, bauxite/alumina/aluminium, platinum group metals, not a tracked material

    Project registry

    Locations: Poland

    Sponsors: TDM Electronics Inc.

No stage recorded

These name Germanium but record no stage, so the lattice cannot place them.

Control clauses

  • Announced on 3 Nov 2026Announced, status date 9 May 2025

    By rule: this kind of clause defines no items of its own, so it has no stage.

  • MOFCOM Announcement No. 46 (2024)

    Suspended on 3 Nov 2026Suspended, status date 9 Nov 2025

    Records no stage.

Designationsstanding, not money

  • Strategic Projects under the Critical Raw Materials Act (European Union). Recognized, status date 25 Mar 2025. Standing, not money.

    Holder: Umicore

    Names: Germanium

    Records no stage.

    Project registry

    Locations: Belgium

    Sponsors: Umicore

None recorded at: Exploration, Mining, Separation, Research and development, Cross-cutting.

A designation is a government's recognition of a project under a named scheme. It records standing, not money, and covers only the stages and materials the designation names. A project is the registry record of the site or venture. Shared stage codes are not a finding.

Registry projects with no designation naming Germanium

Not placed by stage: a project's own stage list is not a designation, and the lattice places only designations.

Capital and controls

Each capital row is shown at its own amount, in its own currency, exactly as the record states it. Nothing here adds up, splits or converts an amount, so a row that names several materials shows its whole amount and a part sits inside its package without being added again.

Capital rows (4 naming Germanium; 4 shown at top level, 0 inside a package)

Public commitments (3)

Committed to a recipient by a government or public enterprise, at the status each row states. A contracted, partially disbursed or disbursed row is binding because an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately by status. A contracted row need not mean funds are obligated or paid, and a partially disbursed row is not fully paid.

  • Provider: U.S. Department of DefenseRecipient: 5N Plus Semiconductors LLC

    USD 14.4 million

    As stated: $14.4 million

    Amount basis: announced; see the record page for how it relates to reported figures.

    Grant. Partially disbursed, date not stated.

    Binding: an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately. Authority as stated: Defense Production Act Investment Program.

    Scope: names Germanium only.

  • Provider: U.S. Department of DefenseRecipient: 5N Plus Inc.

    USD 18.1 million

    As stated: $18.1 million

    Grant. Decided, status date 15 Dec 2025.

    Not yet binding. Authority as stated: Defense Production Act Title III.

    Scope: names Germanium only.

  • Provider: Australian GovernmentRecipient: Constitutional corporations with registered CMPTI processing activities

    No amount stated

    Tax credit. Authorized, status date 14 Feb 2025.

    Not yet binding. Authority as stated: Future Made in Australia (Production Tax Credits and Other Measures) Act 2025 (Act No. 9 of 2025), Schedule 2, inserting Division 419 into the Income Tax Assessment Act 1997.

    Scope: names 13 materials; the amount is not divided.

Non-binding indications (1)

Non-binding letters of intent or interest that name an amount: possible support, not a commitment, capital or a backer.

  • Provider: Canada Growth FundRecipient: Teck Resources Limited

    up to CAD 400 million

    As stated: up to $400 million

    Instrument not specified. Announced, status date 7 Jul 2026.

    Not yet binding. Authority as stated: Canada Critical Minerals Accelerator.

    Scope: names 3 materials; the amount is not divided.

Control clauses (3, status on 3 Nov 2026)

Explore capital rows naming Germanium and control clauses naming Germanium: all rows naming Germanium, parts and options listed separately.

Timeline

One dot for each event, placed at its event date as coded. Capital-row and clause status dates are not plotted: a status with no date has no honest position, and an event date is never used in its place.

Event date (as coded)Gold rule: as of 3 Nov 2026

Dates stated after the as-of: 27 Nov 2026 (control clause ctl-cn-us-2024-gallium-germanium-antimony-denial).

Newest events

Events (18)

Policy status across actors

Where each actor's coded measures on this material currently stand.

CNChinaActive
USUnited StatesIn forceActiveSuperseded
EUEuropean UnionUnclearIn force
AUAustraliaIn force
CACanadaActive
GBUnited KingdomIn force

Editorial notes (not coded records)

Written summaries kept from the earlier page, not coded records. A summary appears only if it passed review against the records above; the downstream-use list is exempt from that review and has not been checked against a source.

Typical downstream uses

  • Infrared optics
  • Fiber optics
  • Satellite solar cells
  • Semiconductors