← Projects
BRBrazil

Piauí Níquel nickel and cobalt processing project

Capitão Gervásio Oliveira (PI), Brazil

prj-br-piaui-niquel

What does the record establish?

BNDES describes development of high-purity nickel/cobalt mixed hydroxide precipitate production. The stated 2028 production start and 2029 operational phase are targets, not observed milestones.

Financial standing

1 directly linked instruments. Recorded financial states: Decided. A commitment, a payment and a project cost remain separate.

Inspect instruments and terms

Legal and policy context

1 parent policy records; 0 project designations. Designation confers standing, not finance. Material and stage overlaps with controls do not establish a restriction on this project.

Read the policy records

Industrial evidence

No source-reviewed project milestone is published in this corpus. Financing records may still contain attributed activity reports; this gap does not establish inactivity.

See evidence gaps

Financial evidence and chronology

Each instrument keeps its own financial history. These dates describe financial states, not construction or production. Amounts are the current recorded terms, not historical amounts at every date below.

Loan · Banco Nacional de Desenvolvimento Econômico e Social (BNDES)R$ 100 milhões · Decided · Commitment
Recipient
Piauí Níquel Metais S/APiauí Níquel Metais S/A
Legal authority as stated
Not stated in this financial record
  1. · Decided

    BNDES reports approval of R$100 million of financing; signature, obligation and disbursement are not evidenced.

    Banco Nacional de Desenvolvimento Econômico e Social (BNDES)

No additional structured terms are recorded. See the full instrument for its evidence and qualifications.

One approved public loan under the named BNDES product. Record status decided; no executed contract, drawdown or verified facility completion shown by reviewed source. The recipient was also selected in the 2025 BNDES–Finep call, but R$45.8bn aggregate estimated investment across 56 plans is not additional government financing.

Full financial instrument, conditions and field-level evidence

Capital stack

One layer per value role. Only committed public money, and joint-vehicle money apart from it, is summed, per currency; everything else is listed. There is no total across layers.

Public commitments

1 row · summed per currency

Committed to a recipient by a government or public enterprise, at the status each row states. A contracted, partially disbursed or disbursed row is binding because an agreement is executed; payment is tracked separately by status. A contracted row need not mean funds are obligated or paid, and a partially disbursed row is not fully paid. Summed per currency and per instrument, never across either; a part is never added to its package.

BRL

Loan1 row

Not yet binding

Stated exactly
100 million

1 counted

Source-reviewed industrial observations

No source-reviewed project milestone is published for this undertaking. Any financing-row activity reports below remain attributed observations, not independently reviewed project milestones. Missing evidence does not establish inactivity.

Policy context

These records directly parent the project's finance or designation entries. Their presence does not establish a causal effect on industrial activity.

Control clauses on the same materials and stages

Clauses whose covered items share a material and a supply-chain stage with this project, with their legal status on 4 Nov 2026. An overlap of items, not a finding that the project is affected.

No coded control clause covers items at this project's materials and stages.

Record

Location
Capitão Gervásio Oliveira (PI), BrazilBR
Stages
Processing
Materials
NickelCobaltTracked materials only
Latest financing-row activity report
Not statedDate not statedBanco Nacional de Desenvolvimento Econômico e Social (BNDES)

What remains unknown

Gaps describe the available SMPT record. They do not establish that an activity did not occur.

  • No project-native source-reviewed industrial milestone is published. Attributed activity in financing histories remains a separate evidence class; no exact milestone date or facility-wide conclusion is inferred.
  • Historical amount review is incomplete. Current amounts cannot be read as a time series of earlier commitments.
  • Structural links and shared materials do not demonstrate that a government measure caused an industrial outcome.

Evidence

Every project fact names the source that states it.

  1. BNDES aprova R$ 100 mi para apoiar processamento de níquel no Piauí

    Banco Nacional de Desenvolvimento Econômico e Social (BNDES)

    Fields supported
    Name · Sponsors · Location · Supply-chain stages · Materials
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Opening paragraph and technology/production paragraphs
    Qualification
    Issuer describes the physical processing project, financing recipient, location, and nickel/cobalt intermediate products.
    View source dossier →

For citations, open a parent policy record for BibTeX, RIS and CSL formats. Cite original documents for claims about government action.

Project registry JSON with sources · Full dataset and download guide