US Department of Defense, Office of Strategic Capital
fin-us-osc-obbba-2025-credit-subsidy
Reading this record
What the evidence says — and does not say
- What kind of figure?
- Budget appropriationMoney set aside in a budget or allocation.
- What has happened legally?
- AuthorizedLegal or budgetary authority exists, e.g. an enacted statute or cabinet approval.
- Has money been paid?
- Follow the payment evidenceThis status does not itself establish a cash payment. In particular, a signed contract does not necessarily establish an obligation of funds.
- What does it link to?
- Project attributionNo direct registered project association is coded for this row. A project or facility may still be named in source text; absence of a link is not proof of inactivity.
This value role is not included in SMPT's public-recipient commitment totals. A ceiling, indication, private contribution or project cost is not an additional government award. A financial record alone never independently verifies construction, commissioning or production. Read SMPT's counting and evidence rules.
Amount
As stated “$500 million of credit subsidy funding”
USD 500,000,000 · Exact · Currency read from the issuing government
This figure is a budget appropriation, not money committed to a recipient. It is never added to commitments or to other roles.
Record
- Provider
- US Department of Defense, Office of Strategic CapitalOffice of Strategic Capital (OSC)Government body
- Legal authority
- One Big Beautiful Bill Act
- Recipient
- Not stated
- Project
- Not stated
- Facility
- Not stated
- Location
- Not stated
- Stages
- Not statedNot stated
- Materials
- Not stated
Status
Financial and physical progress are separate histories. The last entry is current.
Financial
- Authorizedcurrent
The release says the President signed the Act into law on 4 July 2025.
Implementation
No source states the physical status of a project for this row.
Notes
Recorded because the OSC release names it as the source of the MP loan. A credit subsidy covers the budget cost of lending, not loan principal, so it is never added to the lending authority or to any loan.
Evidence
Every populated field names the source that states it, how directly, and where.
U.S. Department of Defense, Office of Strategic Capital
- Fields supported
- Instrument · Value role · Capital source · Amount · Provider · Legal authority · Status · Programme
- Evidence level
- Explicit
- Location in document
- Third paragraph
| Source | Fields supported | Evidence level | Location |
|---|---|---|---|
| Office of Strategic Capital Announces First Loan Through DoD Agreement With MP Materials to Secure Critical Materials Supply Chain U.S. Department of Defense, Office of Strategic Capital · Source dossier |
| Explicit | Third paragraph |
