← Capital
USUnited StatesUS Department of Commerce, CHIPS Program Office

US Department of Commerce, CHIPS Program Office

Purchase of equipment, in parallel with OSC's financing

Non-binding indicationInstrument not specifiedPublicAnnounced

fin-us-commerce-chips-vulcan-2025-incentives

Reading this record

What the evidence says — and does not say

What kind of figure?
Non-binding indicationA non-binding letter of intent or interest that names an amount: possible support, not money committed to anyone. Listed in its own layer, never summed, and never counted as binding, not yet binding, capital, backing or co-investment.
What has happened legally?
AnnouncedPublicly announced; no decision or agreement is stated.
Has money been paid?
Follow the payment evidenceThis status does not itself establish a cash payment. In particular, a signed contract does not necessarily establish an obligation of funds.
What does it link to?
Project attributionNo direct registered project association is coded for this row. A project or facility may still be named in source text; absence of a link is not proof of inactivity.

This value role is not included in SMPT's public-recipient commitment totals. A ceiling, indication, private contribution or project cost is not an additional government award. A financial record alone never independently verifies construction, commissioning or production. Read SMPT's counting and evidence rules.

Amount

USD50 million

As stated “a preliminary non-binding letter of intent to provide $50 million in proposed federal incentives under the CHIPS and Science Act”

USD 50,000,000 · Exact · Currency read from the issuing government

This figure is a non-binding indication, not money committed to a recipient. It is never added to commitments or to other roles.

Record

Provider
US Department of Commerce, CHIPS Program OfficeU.S. Department of CommerceGovernment body
Legal authority
CHIPS and Science Act
Recipient
Not stated
Project
Purchase of equipment, in parallel with OSC's financing
Facility
Not stated
Location
Not stated
Stages
Not statedNot stated
Materials
Not stated

Status

Financial and physical progress are separate histories. The last entry is current.

Financial

  1. Announcedcurrent

    A preliminary, non-binding letter of intent.

    U.S. Department of War (Office of Strategic Capital)

Implementation

No source states the physical status of a project for this row.

Terms

Operative terms as the source words them.

TermFigureAs stated
Other termUSD 50,000,000 of equity in Vulcan Elements“The Department of Commerce will also receive $50 million of equity in Vulcan Elements.”The release does not say whether this equity is consideration for the proposed incentives or a separate purchase, so it is kept as a term here and never added as money.U.S. Department of War (Office of Strategic Capital)

Notes

The release does not name the recipient of the letter of intent; it states the equity in Vulcan Elements in the next sentence. Instrument not specified beyond "federal incentives". Recorded as a non-binding indication, not as a commitment: a preliminary non-binding letter of intent is not a financing commitment, so it is in no sum.

Evidence

Every populated field names the source that states it, how directly, and where.

  1. Office of Strategic Capital Agrees to Joint $700M Conditional Loan Commitment with Vulcan Elements and ReElement Technologies

    U.S. Department of War (Office of Strategic Capital)

    Fields supported
    Instrument · Value role · Capital source · Amount · Provider · Legal authority · Project · Status · Terms
    Evidence level
    Explicit
    Location in document
    Fourth paragraph
    View source dossier →
  2. Office of Strategic Capital Agrees to Joint $700M Conditional Loan Commitment with Vulcan Elements and ReElement Technologies

    U.S. Department of War (Office of Strategic Capital)

    Fields supported
    Programme
    Evidence level
    Ambiguous
    Location in document
    Fourth paragraph
    Qualification
    "the Department of Commerce's ... CHIPS Program Office signed a preliminary non-binding letter of intent to provide $50 million in proposed federal incentives under the CHIPS and Science Act": the release does not name the incentives programme itself.
    View source dossier →