Department for Business and Trade
fin-uk-cms-2025-critical-mineral-fund
Reading this record
What the evidence says — and does not say
- What kind of figure?
- Program envelopeThe ceiling of a programme, fund or facility that awards are drawn from.
- What has happened legally?
- AnnouncedPublicly announced; no decision or agreement is stated.
- Has money been paid?
- Follow the payment evidenceThis status does not itself establish a cash payment. In particular, a signed contract does not necessarily establish an obligation of funds.
- What does it link to?
- Project attributionNo direct registered project association is coded for this row. A project or facility may still be named in source text; absence of a link is not proof of inactivity.
This value role is not included in SMPT's public-recipient commitment totals. A ceiling, indication, private contribution or project cost is not an additional government award. A financial record alone never independently verifies construction, commissioning or production. Read SMPT's counting and evidence rules.
Amount
As stated “funding of up to £50 million will be made available by DBT to support critical mineral projects”
GBP 50,000,000 · Up to · Currency stated in the source
This figure is a program envelope, not money committed to a recipient. It is never added to commitments or to other roles.
Record
- Provider
- Department for Business and TradeDepartment for Business and TradeGovernment body
- Legal authority
- Not stated
- Programme
- None named
- Recipient
- Not stated
- Project
- Not stated
- Facility
- Not stated
- Location
- Not stated
- Stages
- Not statedNot stated
- Materials
- Not stated
Status
Financial and physical progress are separate histories. The last entry is current.
Financial
- Announcedcurrent
"Further detail will be announced in 2026."
Implementation
No source states the physical status of a project for this row.
Notes
The strategy says the fund "could include expanding research and innovation as well as supporting commercialisation"; because that is conditional, no stage is recorded.
Evidence
Every populated field names the source that states it, how directly, and where.
Vision 2035: Critical Minerals Strategy
Department for Business and Trade (UK)
- Fields supported
- Value role · Capital source · Amount · Provider · Status
- Evidence level
- Explicit
- Location in document
- p. 20 (Industrial Strategy section); p. 41
Vision 2035: Critical Minerals Strategy
Department for Business and Trade (UK)
- Fields supported
- Instrument
- Evidence level
- Ambiguous
- Location in document
- p. 20
- Qualification
- The strategy frames the fund as "bespoke, targeted grant funding" and elsewhere as "bespoke critical mineral support".
| Source | Fields supported | Evidence level | Location |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vision 2035: Critical Minerals Strategy Department for Business and Trade (UK) · Source dossier |
| Explicit | p. 20 (Industrial Strategy section); p. 41 |
| Vision 2035: Critical Minerals Strategy Department for Business and Trade (UK) · Source dossier |
| Ambiguous The strategy frames the fund as "bespoke, targeted grant funding" and elsewhere as "bespoke critical mineral support". | p. 20 |
