{
  "projectionVersion": "smpt-investigation-1",
  "projectId": "prj-jp-almt-tungsten",
  "corpus": {
    "revision": "2026-11-03",
    "legalStatusCutoff": "2026-11-03",
    "view": "current_corpus_revision",
    "notice": "Curated corpus revision, not source freshness or historical known-as-of coverage. Financial histories retain their own status dates."
  },
  "project": {
    "id": "prj-jp-almt-tungsten",
    "name": "Allied Material tungsten reduction and carburisation facilities",
    "sponsorOrgIds": [
      "org-allied-material"
    ],
    "locations": [
      {
        "countryCode": "JP",
        "subnational": "Toyama",
        "asStated": "富山製作所から約1kmの場所"
      }
    ],
    "stages": [
      "processing"
    ],
    "materialIds": [
      "tungsten"
    ],
    "materialAttribution": "tracked_only",
    "untrackedMaterialsAsStated": [],
    "evidence": [
      {
        "sourceId": "src-meti-critical-minerals-certified-plans",
        "supports": [
          "name",
          "sponsors",
          "materials"
        ],
        "evidence": "explicit",
        "locator": "Section 4, plan ２０２５重要鉱物第２号－１",
        "note": "\"タングステンの還元及び炭化設備を新設し、タングステン粉末及び炭化タングステン粉末の生産能力を向上させる。\""
      },
      {
        "sourceId": "src-meti-critical-minerals-certified-plans",
        "supports": [
          "stages"
        ],
        "evidence": "ambiguous",
        "locator": "Section 4, plan ２０２５重要鉱物第２号－１",
        "note": "還元及び炭化 (reduction and carburisation) into tungsten and tungsten carbide powder is read as processing."
      },
      {
        "sourceId": "src-allied-tungsten-expansion-20260409",
        "supports": [
          "location"
        ],
        "evidence": "explicit",
        "locator": "Page 1, new-site paragraph",
        "note": "A site of approximately 40,000 square metres was secured about 1 km from the recipient's Toyama Works for the new powder plant."
      }
    ],
    "notes": "METI's certified-plan list does not state a location. The recipient's 9 April 2026 release identifies a new site about 1 km from Toyama Works. Site secured does not establish construction commencement, ownership of the land, or operation."
  },
  "organizations": [
    {
      "id": "org-allied-material",
      "name": "Allied Material Corporation",
      "nameOriginal": "株式会社アライドマテリアル",
      "aliases": [],
      "kind": "company",
      "roles": [
        {
          "role": "registered_sponsor",
          "recordId": "prj-jp-almt-tungsten"
        },
        {
          "role": "recipient",
          "recordId": "fin-jp-jogmec-almt-tungsten-grant"
        },
        {
          "role": "designation_holder",
          "recordId": "dsg-jp-espa-almt-tungsten"
        }
      ],
      "evidence": [
        {
          "sourceId": "src-meti-critical-minerals-certified-plans",
          "supports": [
            "name",
            "kind"
          ],
          "evidence": "explicit",
          "locator": "Section 4, 認定供給確保計画",
          "note": "Named as the certified business in its Japanese form only."
        },
        {
          "sourceId": "src-meti-critical-minerals-certified-plans",
          "supports": [
            "country"
          ],
          "evidence": "ambiguous",
          "locator": "Section 4",
          "note": "A 株式会社 (kabushiki kaisha) certified under Japan's Economic Security Promotion Act; the list gives no address."
        }
      ]
    },
    {
      "id": "org-jp-jogmec",
      "name": "Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC)",
      "nameOriginal": "独立行政法人エネルギー・金属鉱物資源機構",
      "aliases": [
        "JOGMEC"
      ],
      "kind": "government",
      "roles": [
        {
          "role": "provider",
          "recordId": "fin-jp-jogmec-almt-tungsten-grant"
        }
      ],
      "evidence": [
        {
          "sourceId": "src-jogmec-lofdal-ja",
          "supports": [
            "name",
            "kind",
            "country",
            "actor"
          ],
          "evidence": "explicit",
          "locator": "Masthead and first paragraph",
          "note": "Named as 独立行政法人エネルギー・金属鉱物資源機構 (本部：東京都港区). 独立行政法人 is an incorporated administrative agency, a body of the Japanese state."
        },
        {
          "sourceId": "src-jogmec-lofdal-en",
          "supports": [
            "name"
          ],
          "evidence": "explicit",
          "locator": "First paragraph",
          "note": null
        }
      ]
    }
  ],
  "financialInstruments": [
    {
      "id": "fin-jp-jogmec-almt-tungsten-grant",
      "eventId": "evt-jp-espa-almt-tungsten-2026",
      "instrument": "grant",
      "valueRole": "commitment",
      "capitalSource": "public",
      "projectRelationship": "directly_attributable",
      "projectId": "prj-jp-almt-tungsten",
      "associatedProjectIds": [],
      "amount": {
        "value": "7500000000",
        "currency": "JPY",
        "qualifier": "approximately",
        "amountAsStated": "※助成額は約75億円",
        "currencyBasis": "stated",
        "basisNote": null,
        "basisLabel": null
      },
      "amountBasis": "current_recorded_terms_not_historical_totals",
      "provider": "Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC)",
      "providerJurisdiction": "japan",
      "providerOrgIds": [
        "org-jp-jogmec"
      ],
      "recipient": "株式会社アライドマテリアル",
      "recipientOrgIds": [
        "org-allied-material"
      ],
      "programmeId": "prg-jp-jogmec-critical-minerals-grants",
      "legalAuthority": "経済安全保障推進法 (Economic Security Promotion Act)",
      "facility": null,
      "locations": [],
      "materialIds": [
        "tungsten"
      ],
      "stages": [
        "processing"
      ],
      "currentFinancialStatus": "decided",
      "financialStatusHistory": [
        {
          "status": "announced",
          "date": "2026-03-18",
          "sourceId": "src-meti-critical-minerals-certified-plans",
          "note": "METI's list gives the subsidy with the plan certified on 令和8年3月18日."
        },
        {
          "status": "decided",
          "date": null,
          "sourceId": "src-jogmec-critical-minerals-grants",
          "note": "Listed among JOGMEC's grant decisions (交付決定事業) for 令和7年度; the decision date is not stated."
        }
      ],
      "legacyPhysicalObservations": [
        {
          "status": "announced",
          "date": "2026-04-09",
          "sourceId": "src-allied-tungsten-expansion-20260409",
          "note": "The recipient announced a new plant and related reduction/carburisation equipment, with a site secured about 1 km from its Toyama Works. The release states planned construction and a first-half FY2028 operating target; it does not report construction commencement or current operation."
        }
      ],
      "terms": [
        {
          "kind": "other",
          "value": "50",
          "qualifier": "up_to",
          "currency": null,
          "unit": "% of the applicant's cost of the undertaking",
          "asStated": "申請者負担額の1／2を上限",
          "sourceId": "src-jogmec-critical-minerals-grants",
          "note": "Programme-wide maximum grant rate, as stated in JOGMEC's 助成率 table. It is not an exact subsidy-to-total-project-cost ratio for this plan."
        }
      ],
      "statedOutcomes": [
        {
          "metric": "target_date",
          "value": null,
          "qualifier": null,
          "unit": null,
          "targetDate": "2028",
          "asStated": "2028年度上期の稼働開始を目指し",
          "statedBy": "recipient",
          "sourceId": "src-allied-tungsten-expansion-20260409",
          "note": "Target for the first half of FY2028. The year-only index retains the year; fiscal-period precision remains in asStated and this note. No exact operating date or achieved operation is reported."
        },
        {
          "metric": "other",
          "value": "1.5",
          "qualifier": "approximately",
          "unit": "times current manufacturing capacity",
          "targetDate": null,
          "asStated": "製造能力を約1.5倍に引き上げます",
          "statedBy": "recipient",
          "sourceId": "src-allied-tungsten-expansion-20260409",
          "note": "Recipient's planned capacity expansion for tungsten and tungsten-carbide powders, associated with the new plant and related equipment. This is a stated target, not measured output or the new plant's standalone annual tonnage."
        }
      ],
      "relationships": [],
      "evidence": [
        {
          "sourceId": "src-meti-critical-minerals-certified-plans",
          "supports": [
            "instrument",
            "value_role",
            "capital_source",
            "amount",
            "provider",
            "recipient",
            "project",
            "materials",
            "status"
          ],
          "evidence": "explicit",
          "locator": "Section 4, plan ２０２５重要鉱物第２号－１",
          "note": "The subsidy (助成) is paid by JOGMEC to businesses whose plans METI certifies."
        },
        {
          "sourceId": "src-meti-critical-minerals-certified-plans",
          "supports": [
            "stages"
          ],
          "evidence": "ambiguous",
          "locator": "Section 4, plan ２０２５重要鉱物第２号－１",
          "note": "還元及び炭化 (reduction and carburisation) into tungsten and tungsten carbide powder is read as processing."
        },
        {
          "sourceId": "src-jogmec-critical-minerals-grants",
          "supports": [
            "provider",
            "programme",
            "legal_authority",
            "terms",
            "status"
          ],
          "evidence": "explicit",
          "locator": "Programme description; 交付決定事業",
          "note": "Rechecked on 3 October 2026: Allied Material remains listed among grant decisions (交付決定事業), approximately JPY 7.5 billion, in FY2025. No calendar decision date or payment amount is stated. The 助成率 table states a ceiling of half the applicant's undertaking costs."
        },
        {
          "sourceId": "src-allied-tungsten-expansion-20260409",
          "supports": [
            "project",
            "status",
            "outcomes"
          ],
          "evidence": "explicit",
          "locator": "Page 1, opening and new-site paragraphs",
          "note": "Recipient identifies the same METI-certified tungsten reduction/carburisation initiative and announces the plant and capacity targets. Planned construction is not proof that construction has started."
        }
      ],
      "notes": "The amount is approximate as both lists print it (約, \"about\"); the yen figure is 億円 × 100,000,000. Lifecycle review on 3 October 2026 retains decided status and an unknown grant-decision date. The 9 April recipient release adds an announced physical project near Toyama Works and a first-half FY2028 operating target. Its approximately JPY 15.9 billion investment plan is separate from the approximately JPY 7.5 billion public grant. The reviewed sources do not establish grant cash receipt, construction commencement or operation."
    }
  ],
  "nonallocativeAssociations": [],
  "designations": [
    {
      "id": "dsg-jp-espa-almt-tungsten",
      "eventId": "evt-jp-espa-almt-tungsten-2026",
      "programmeId": "prg-jp-espa-critical-minerals-certification",
      "projectId": "prj-jp-almt-tungsten",
      "relationship": "project_designation_standing_not_money",
      "projectNameAsStated": "タングステンの還元及び炭化設備を新設し、タングステン粉末及び炭化タングステン粉末の生産能力を向上させる。",
      "holderOrgIds": [
        "org-allied-material"
      ],
      "statusHistory": [
        {
          "status": "recognized",
          "date": "2026-03-18",
          "sourceId": "src-meti-critical-minerals-certified-plans",
          "note": "認定日 令和8年3月18日; 供給確保計画認定番号 ２０２５重要鉱物第２号－１."
        }
      ],
      "evidence": [
        {
          "sourceId": "src-meti-critical-minerals-certified-plans",
          "supports": [
            "programme",
            "project",
            "holders",
            "materials",
            "status"
          ],
          "evidence": "explicit",
          "locator": "Section 4, plan ２０２５重要鉱物第２号－１",
          "note": null
        },
        {
          "sourceId": "src-meti-critical-minerals-certified-plans",
          "supports": [
            "stages"
          ],
          "evidence": "ambiguous",
          "locator": "Section 4, plan ２０２５重要鉱物第２号－１",
          "note": "還元及び炭化 (reduction and carburisation) into tungsten and tungsten carbide powder is read as processing."
        }
      ]
    }
  ],
  "nativeMilestones": [],
  "policyContexts": [
    {
      "id": "evt-jp-espa-almt-tungsten-2026",
      "relationship": "finance_or_designation_parent",
      "jurisdiction": "japan",
      "issuingBody": "METI / JOGMEC",
      "titleEn": "Certification of Allied Material's critical-minerals supply-assurance plan for tungsten under the Economic Security Promotion Act",
      "titleOriginal": "経済安全保障推進法に基づく重要鉱物の供給確保計画の認定（株式会社アライドマテリアル、認定番号２０２５重要鉱物第２号－１）",
      "documentNumber": "２０２５重要鉱物第２号－１",
      "date": "2026-03-18",
      "policyStatus": "active",
      "sourceIds": [
        "src-meti-critical-minerals-certified-plans",
        "src-jogmec-critical-minerals-grants"
      ]
    }
  ],
  "coannouncedControls": [],
  "financePackageReferences": [],
  "unknowns": [
    "No project-native source-reviewed industrial milestone is published. Attributed activity in financing histories remains a separate evidence class; no exact milestone date or facility-wide conclusion is inferred.",
    "Historical amount review is incomplete. Current amounts cannot be read as a time series of earlier commitments.",
    "Structural links and shared materials do not demonstrate that a government measure caused an industrial outcome."
  ],
  "sources": [
    {
      "id": "src-allied-tungsten-expansion-20260409",
      "title": "タングステンの供給能力を約1.5倍に増強　総額約159億円を投資、2028年度上期稼働へ",
      "publisher": "株式会社アライドマテリアル (A.L.M.T. Corp.)",
      "url": "https://www.allied-material.co.jp/dcms_media/other/NewsRelease_20260409.pdf",
      "language": "ja",
      "sourceType": "official",
      "confidence": "primary",
      "publishedOn": "2026-04-09",
      "accessedOn": "2026-10-03"
    },
    {
      "id": "src-jogmec-critical-minerals-grants",
      "title": "重要鉱物助成金交付事業",
      "publisher": "独立行政法人エネルギー・金属鉱物資源機構 (JOGMEC)",
      "url": "https://www.jogmec.go.jp/activities/metal/critical-grant.html",
      "language": "ja",
      "sourceType": "official",
      "confidence": "primary",
      "publishedOn": null,
      "accessedOn": "2026-10-03"
    },
    {
      "id": "src-jogmec-lofdal-en",
      "title": "Establishment of a Special Purpose Company for Heavy Rare Earth Development in the Republic of Namibia and Investment by JOGMEC",
      "publisher": "Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security (JOGMEC) / Toyota Tsusho Corporation",
      "url": "https://www.jogmec.go.jp/english/news/release/release_00451.html",
      "language": "en",
      "sourceType": "official",
      "confidence": "official_translation",
      "publishedOn": "2026-07-30",
      "accessedOn": "2026-10-03"
    },
    {
      "id": "src-jogmec-lofdal-ja",
      "title": "ナミビア共和国におけるレアアース探査・開発事業を行う特定目的会社の設立およびJOGMECの出資について",
      "publisher": "独立行政法人エネルギー・金属鉱物資源機構 (JOGMEC) / 豊田通商株式会社",
      "url": "https://www.jogmec.go.jp/news/release/release_01320.html",
      "language": "ja",
      "sourceType": "official",
      "confidence": "primary",
      "publishedOn": "2026-07-30",
      "accessedOn": "2026-10-03"
    },
    {
      "id": "src-meti-critical-minerals-certified-plans",
      "title": "重要鉱物（経済安全保障推進法に基づく認定供給確保計画）",
      "publisher": "経済産業省 (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry, Japan)",
      "url": "https://www.meti.go.jp/policy/economy/economic_security/metal/index.html",
      "language": "ja",
      "sourceType": "official",
      "confidence": "primary",
      "publishedOn": null,
      "accessedOn": "2026-09-23"
    }
  ],
  "limitations": [
    "Policy contexts here parent existing finance or designation records; a shared material or date never creates a causal edge.",
    "Coannounced controls are announcement siblings only, not project-specific restrictions or effects.",
    "Direct project attribution and nonallocative association are different. No individual monetary allocation, financial sum or payment conclusion is authorized.",
    "Financing statuses describe the current corpus revision. Legacy implementation observations require scoped review and are not project-native milestones.",
    "A milestone's event/target date, publication/access horizon and reviewer date are separate. A planned target is not automatically occurred.",
    "An absent reviewed milestone means no approved entry in SMPT, not that the facility is inactive or failed.",
    "Amounts retain current source-stated terms, original currency and exact decimal strings. This packet computes no historical financial totals or project-wide monetary allocation.",
    "Published source review does not establish independent on-site verification. Source, financial-status, occurrence, target and review dates remain distinct."
  ]
}
